We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Johns House B&B

St Johns House, Lecarrow, Ireland
St Johns House B&B
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Richard Collins and his wife Liz operate a lovely Bed & Breakfast in Lecarrow, Co.Roscommon on the banks of Lough Ree. The property surrounding the house provides for interesting walks and exploration of Rinn Duin an Anglo-Norman town with well preserved fortifications, windmills, and church. There is also a working farm within the confines of the property. Both are well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review

We are so glad that your father enjoyed himself and that this meant much to you. It was a pleasure to have you to stay. You were very easy guests. When you are in Clare please do pop in. We would very much like to see you again. Thank you very much for your very kind review. More 

USA-NC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We spent four nights in August, and really, we could have stayed longer. We arrived after a long driving day and Richard and Liz met us at the door and offered tea & cookies (and Powers) in the drawing room. After a wonderful sleep, we appreciated the warm peat fire in the dining room, the breakfast was perfect, and as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a good review. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. We also enjoyed having you to stay and hope we will see you again. More 

Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We stayed here in June 2014, our welcome was warm and the cup of tea most welcome. Our room over looked Lock Ree and was really wonderful. We both agree on our next trip to Ireland this is a must stay. I absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to relax for a few days

Was this review helpful? Yes
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review

Oonagh Many thanks again again for such a nice review. You and Ronan were so easy to look after that we feel a bit guilty in getting such great comments from you. Thank you also for your much appreciating comment on facebook about our award from Georgina Campbell. We will now have to try harder to match and exceed guests... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We spent two nights at St. Johns in early August, our second visit in a few months (and hence delay in writing the review since Tripadvisor won't let you do a second review within short space of time of an earlier one!). Richard and Liz are very hospitable from the moment one arrives with a cup of tea and biscuits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for doing a second review. Much appreciated. I've just written a response to you on the wrong review. Comes from writing it in London on an ancient laptop. See the review also on 25 Nov. If you read this review Kathy, many many apologies for mixing up the responses. I hope this will not stop you visiting here... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

I hope soon for a fourth time to be back to St Johns House from Michigan. Congratulations to all that can make it to the estate and the surrounding area. Because of roads and driving on the wrong side of the road and wrong side of car, I walked the estate in the morning and toured the historic places by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review

John Sorry for being so slow in responding but our IT was all over the place and is now sorted. You are so kind to give us another review. We do enjoy having you to stay and you obviously enjoy St John's. We are thinking of making minor changes to the B&B which we hope you will appreciate if you... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

This Georgian B and B is a wonderful place. The hosts have thought of everything to make a visitor comfortable and they seem to enjoy having guests. The house is set beside a lough Ree in lovely scenery which is visible from the bedroom windows. They have used energy saving methods wherever possible and a lot of the food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us such a positive review. Unfortunately we are not exactly sure which one of our guests you are. We would have sent you a thank you also by email. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. The walk is well worh it. Best come soon before the autumn rain arrives. An other time is in May when the flowers... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Visited in June. Many hours of daylight. Spent them enjoying the beautifully landscaped yard, looking over the quiet pasture to the beautiful lake. Chatted with the very interesting and charming hosts. Enjoyed heavenly, lhome-grown, harvested food. Hiked to the very ole ruins of a Norman town that isn't over-ryn by visitors, arriving at twilight that created a magical feeling to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your very generous review. We did enjoy the four of you staying with us and you were blessed with good weather which always helps. Hope you had a good remainder of your stay in Ireland and hope to see you again. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Richard, in his wife's absence, and made to feel very privileged to be in such a wonderful location by the shores of an ancient township. The accommodation, home grown and prepared food and wine, the ambiance and the location all made for a wonderful stay in Lecarrow , Ireland.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your very much appreciated review. We enjoyed looking after you. Hope you had a good remaining holiday. It's almost as hot here as Australia at the moment. Hope the bread recipes worked. Any problems contact us at any time. Best wishes Richard and Liz More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a night at St. John’s. Firstly, one night is not enough and now we know that when we head back there again it will be for longer. It is such a relaxing place. You are on the banks of Lough Ree in a beautiful house with very comfortable rooms ensuring a sound nights sleep. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and for your kind words. Much appreciated too. Glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you soon. Hope there are more bats next time. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have traveled extensively throughout Ireland and can say we have found no better accommodation than those offered at St. Johns House, a gracious Georgian-style country home situated in the midst of Rinn Duin, an important piece of Ireland’s historic past. Hosts Richard and Liz Collins provide top-notch warmth, hospitality, tea, fresh cookies, and an outstanding full Irish breakfast. Be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for such a generous review, Philip. We really enjoyed meeting you both and Susan's poem has received much attention on our FaceBook page. I do hope you will be able to come back to see us next time you are over in Ireland. Richard has been busy perfecting his Blaa, but is also trying out different rye bread... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities