We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ramsay Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Burnside Road, Fettercairn AB30 1XX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Ramsay Arms Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 1 Fettercairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
saf51 Chester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
18
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As this is the only hotel in Fettercairn, statistically it must be average, but if I were to compare it with all the other hotels I have stayed in I would have to mark it poor. We booked for 2 nights for a family wedding at Fasque House and the location was fine. The room was comfortable and clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Used to love this place so much that we celebrated our wedding here ten years ago making regular trips for dinner since then. I don't know what has changed but recently the food has been far below the usual standard, the bar area was so cold I couldn't take my coat off and the staff were far from friendly -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RamsayArmsHotel, Manager at Ramsay Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued customer, Thank you for your feedback. Firstly I would like to apologise for the poor standards you have experienced lately at The Ramsay. The Ramsay has always aimed to be the comfortable hotel where people know they will receive high standards of service and food, I am sorry on this occasion we haven’t provided that for you however... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I have eaten at the Ramsay Arms once or twice per year over the last decade. I usually experienced and came to expect genuine quality food. Today I ate there with 4 adult family members, the reduction in atmosphere, food quality standards and presentation was disappointing. Clearly the food regime has transformed and most certainly not in a positive manner.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Myself and six friends from Scotland, Switzerland and Ireland were delighted by the friendly welcome and excellent service we received yesterday afternoon. Having arrived somewhat early for a booked meal the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating: good food, an excellent ambience and a warm welcome - what more could one want?: well done The Ramsay! 22... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I travel across Scotland on business and stay in lots of hotels... Ramsay Arms is my favourite... Fettercairn is beautiful and the hotel is charming and very full of country character. I have stayed a number of times now and love it.....the staff will do whatever they can to help, really nice genuine staff. The food is pretty awesome too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montrose, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I usually enjoy the Ramsay. However tonight it was well below par ! Firstly half the meals were not available from the menu and what I did have was not good at all. Very disappointed as its usually nice

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Just been to The Ramsay Arms for a meal with friends, one of our favourite places to go, however this visit was not good at all. Firstly they had run out of a lot of the menu, which the waiter did explain it was because they were busy, we were then told he would find out if they had de-frosted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Myself and friends were at ramsay arms hotel on Saturday for a birthday meal and the service was good and the the choice of meals on menu was good choice the staff were friendly and helpful the meals were good to eat the atmosphere was nice so thank you for a good night out

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently whilst travelling in the North east of Scotland and can't fault the welcome, the location, the food or the staff, but unfortunately this was all imaterial as i'm afraid the bed was the most uncomfortable, squeekiest bed i've ever had the displeasure of sleeping on. I would say to the owners/operators, have a very close look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Went with friends for an evening meal and as usual had an enjoyable experience. Staff are pleasant and welcoming, the menu was varied and our choices all proved well prepared and presented as well as being tasty. Good venue for a summers evening drive and meeting up with friends. The Village is small but provides a gentle saunter with character.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question