We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Lurio

Av da Indepenencia, no 544, Nampula, Mozambique
Hotel Lurio
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (6)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

What a terrible hotel. We had to move rooms after the first one smelt like sewage. In the second one we had to beg for a remote for the air conditioner, and the fridge didn't work. When we pointed this out it was exchanged with the one in the neighboring room (no attempt to fix it-just move the problem). Like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChitimaSBIE, Manager at Hotel Lurio, responded to this review

Dear FrequentTravellerKV Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel. Our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay with us. Please note that your review has assisted us to sort out the problems you highlighted. Nampula in general has water supply problems as you may have noticed, however we have installed our... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went for 2 nights and the water in the shower was almost none.the next moring i left the place and when i returned, no one cleaned the room. Avoid it if you can. Bfast was very poor in quality and choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChitimaSBIE, Manager at Hotel Lurio, responded to this review

Dear FDagot Warm greetings from Hotel Lurio. Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel. Our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience during your stay. We really appreciate your feedback as it has assisted us in resolving issues that affect our valued guests. Due to the incessant water problem in Nampula we have had to install... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nampula hotels

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed at Hotel Lurio for a number of times, though this is the first time I have reviewed it. I sometimes get the impression that the management are trying to get as much money out of guests as possible. I was charged for an internet connection, which did not work in my room, only to be told that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChitimaSBIE, Manager at Hotel Lurio, responded to this review

Dear Reevutho Habari za Dar es Salaam. Thank you for taking time to write a review about Hotel Lurio. We are deeply grateful for your support and are pleased to inform you that we now provide complimentary high speed WiFi to all our valued guests and the network covers the entire building. We have recently hired a professional Food and... More 

Lilongwe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for just one night (I moved somewhere with similar facilities but much cheaper) but was singularly unimpressed. A room on the 6th floor - and the lift didn't work. The bed looked as though someone had slept in it before me, and the partition walls are so thin you can hear everything in the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChitimaSBIE, Manager at Hotel Lurio, responded to this review

Dear Carol W Warm greetings from Hotel Lurio. Many thanks for taking time to write a review about Hotel Lurio. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it helps us rectify issues that affect our valued guests. You will be pleased to know that we have installed brand new elevators to service our FIVE floored hotel. We have also renovated the... More 

Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was made from an old colonnial war army officer's mess. Bedrooms are large, old fashioned decor, but very clean, as all the unit public areas. Car parking for travellers. Safe and strong building 5 mints walking range from government and municipal buildings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChitimaSBIE, Manager at Hotel Lurio, responded to this review

Dear Emido B Warm greetings from Hotel Lurio. Thank you for taking time to write a review about Hotel Lurio. It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate your support. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nampula. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question