We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Roberts Hotel

72 - 76 Water Street, Bay Roberts, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bay Roberts
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bay Roberts Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    2
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (17)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Me and my boyfriend decided to have a weekend away last minute. So we looked up hotels in the bay Roberts area and found this hotel. Looked nice in pictures and when we first arrived it seemed nice and clean and I thought lived up to my expectations.. We checked in and got a room on the second floor. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harbour Grace, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The hotel food was amazing. But as I've been talking about our experience with people it is only hit and miss that you will find this open. Our problem was with the room itself, while quite comfortable, the heater was very noisy and woke us up all night. A wet bar was advertised, there was no wet bar. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Bay Roberts hotels

St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Our family booked 10 rooms on short notice just a few days ago. We were in Bay Roberts because our mother had passed away and we needed a place to stay during the wake and funeral. We were charged the peak season rate of $130. The restaurant was closed and no means even to get coffee. When we arrived the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
North Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My husband and I spent a night at this hotel for a quick getaway and to tour the area. The room is clean, small and has a flat screen tv and a fridge in the room. Nothing fancy but it was comfortable for a night's stay. We had a nice view of the Bay. The staff were very friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very disappointed in this hotel and staff. Never in my life have I ever been more insulted than I was with the management of this hotel......Was accused of smoking in our room which was a completely fabricated story. Myself and my husband are not stupid enough to smoke in a hotel room we are not children and we have worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Rod D, Owner at Bay Roberts Hotel, responded to this review

We are all familiar with the old adage "the customer is always right." There is some considerable wisdom in this and service providers would do well to be alert and learn from their customers. But occasionally there is an exception to this rule and your rude and obnoxious comments personify this exception Your husband's atrocious behaviour and bad language in... More 

Newfoundland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The room was clean and compact - no complaints there - bed was extremely comfortable. Dinner at Scrunchions restaurant was first class; disappointing that there was no breakfast offered - I was offered a coffee which was good. All in all a good experience and one that I would happily repeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Pretty much a motel with price of a motel. We were there during offseason and it was 130$ for tiny and noisy room. But compared to other available hotels around, it was ok. No restaurant on weekdays during offseason so get breakfast elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Russell, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

One of the things that had attracted us to the Bay Roberts Hotel was the recommendation for their in house restaurant, Scrunchions. We arrived there on a Wednesday evening and only then found out that the restaurant was closed. Their advertising for the hotel and restaurant doesn't make this clear so don't assume that you can find a meal here!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rod D, General Manager at Bay Roberts Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. So sorry that we missed you! If you should return the restaurant is open for dinner at 5:30 p.m. Thursdays through Sundays every week. More 

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here with a friend not too long ago. We checked in which was easy & fast. It all went down hill from there. We walked in the room and everything looked okay. Pretty standard, nothing fancy. The mini fridge didn't work. Went into the washroom which was small & VERY dirty. There was a dirty towel on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rod D, General Manager at Bay Roberts Hotel, responded to this review

Sarah, I would be disappointed as well with the events that you are noting. These complaints are extremely rare and are taken very seriously by everyone that works here. The staff here are second to none, (a true sense of ownership is held by them), and would want to know when this happened so that we can investigate and ensure... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel two nights and the last night was my wedding night. First if all my guest filled up the hotel and had no discount cause of that. Second the jacuzzi was broken only took of alittle off price. There was no complementary breakfast or champagne wait for us. They had lack of shampoo, soap. They rush... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rod D, Manager at Bay Roberts Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay with us was not as you would have expected and of course it is not a desired result. We adhere to a common "industry standard hotel policy" for late checkouts and a late charge is a last resort after attempts to contact the room guest fails. However, we do allow for late checkout... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Roberts
23.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
24.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 21 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silverwood Inn Hotel
Silverwood Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bay Roberts
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Bay Roberts
5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Spaniard's Room
The Spaniard's Room
#1 of 2 in Spaniard's Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stonewall Inn B&B
Stonewall Inn B&B
#2 of 2 in Spaniard's Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities