We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Bay Roberts B&Bs / inns

Bay Roberts Hotel

Save
You added Bay Roberts Hotel to your Saves list
72 - 76 Water Street, Bay Roberts, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Hotel amenities
Bay Roberts Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Bay Roberts B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bay Roberts
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
St. John's, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Our family booked 10 rooms on short notice just a few days ago. We were in Bay Roberts because our mother had passed away and we needed a place to stay during the wake and funeral. We were charged the peak season rate of $130. The restaurant was closed and no means even to get coffee. When we arrived the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My husband and I spent a night at this hotel for a quick getaway and to tour the area. The room is clean, small and has a flat screen tv and a fridge in the room. Nothing fancy but it was comfortable for a night's stay. We had a nice view of the Bay. The staff were very friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. John's, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very disappointed in this hotel and staff. Never in my life have I ever been more insulted than I was with the management of this hotel......Was accused of smoking in our room which was a completely fabricated story. Myself and my husband are not stupid enough to smoke in a hotel room we are not children and we have worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rod D, Owner at Bay Roberts Hotel, responded to this review

We are all familiar with the old adage "the customer is always right." There is some considerable wisdom in this and service providers would do well to be alert and learn from their customers. But occasionally there is an exception to this rule and your rude and obnoxious comments personify this exception Your husband's atrocious behaviour and bad language in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bay Roberts hotels

Newfoundland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The room was clean and compact - no complaints there - bed was extremely comfortable. Dinner at Scrunchions restaurant was first class; disappointing that there was no breakfast offered - I was offered a coffee which was good. All in all a good experience and one that I would happily repeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Montreal Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Pretty much a motel with price of a motel. We were there during offseason and it was 130$ for tiny and noisy room. But compared to other available hotels around, it was ok. No restaurant on weekdays during offseason so get breakfast elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Russell, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

One of the things that had attracted us to the Bay Roberts Hotel was the recommendation for their in house restaurant, Scrunchions. We arrived there on a Wednesday evening and only then found out that the restaurant was closed. Their advertising for the hotel and restaurant doesn't make this clear so don't assume that you can find a meal here!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rod D, General Manager at Bay Roberts Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. So sorry that we missed you! If you should return the restaurant is open for dinner at 5:30 p.m. Thursdays through Sundays every week. More 

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here with a friend not too long ago. We checked in which was easy & fast. It all went down hill from there. We walked in the room and everything looked okay. Pretty standard, nothing fancy. The mini fridge didn't work. Went into the washroom which was small & VERY dirty. There was a dirty towel on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rod D, General Manager at Bay Roberts Hotel, responded to this review

Sarah, I would be disappointed as well with the events that you are noting. These complaints are extremely rare and are taken very seriously by everyone that works here. The staff here are second to none, (a true sense of ownership is held by them), and would want to know when this happened so that we can investigate and ensure... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel two nights and the last night was my wedding night. First if all my guest filled up the hotel and had no discount cause of that. Second the jacuzzi was broken only took of alittle off price. There was no complementary breakfast or champagne wait for us. They had lack of shampoo, soap. They rush... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rod D, Manager at Bay Roberts Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your stay with us was not as you would have expected and of course it is not a desired result. We adhere to a common "industry standard hotel policy" for late checkouts and a late charge is a last resort after attempts to contact the room guest fails. However, we do allow for late checkout... More 

nf.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

well ,,stayed one night ,,plan on making it a week small room ,,biggg view. exceptionally clean ,,,no words to say ,,great place . friendly lady front desk ,,very helpful. a pleasure to talk to. would recommend it. look out over the harbor , very relaxing ,, have lived not far from there for quite awhile ,,never paid much attention to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Newfoundland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Hotel is in an exceptional location, on Bay Roberts Harbour. The staff is friendly and courteous. The property is clean and well managed, and there is a large parking area right in the centre of the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Roberts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Roberts Hotel

Address: 72 - 76 Water Street, Bay Roberts, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bay Roberts
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Bay Roberts Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay