We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Stoke Holy Cross hotels

De Vere Dunston Hall

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ipswich Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England
Hotel amenities
De Vere Dunston Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added De Vere Dunston Hall to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012
David M Cambridge, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    398
    278
    145
    78
See reviews for
197
602
23
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1319)
  • Mar-May only
    (289)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (393)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (354)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (283)
All months
There are newer reviews for De Vere Dunston Hall
See the most recent reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

If you are looking for somthing to do at the weekend, give DH a try. My daughter took my wfe & myself for a bithday treat. A treat it certainly was, the facilities, food & service were excellent. I can't wait to go again and give the welcoming golf course a try!! No I don't work for DeVere, this review... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DGOpsMgr, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review

Dear David Many thanks for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to us. I do hope that next time you are looking for a weekend 'quicky' you will considder us again. Best regards David More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Booked up at Dunston Hall for a friends 50th birthday. Had heard how lovely it was and upon arrival it looked fantastic. Booked in and booked dinner that evening for 7 p.m. Went to our room when problems began. Room ok nice and clean but bath damaged with rust along the side, broken tiles in bathroom and no tea/coffee facilities.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DGOpsMgr, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review

Dear Joanna, Many thanks for your review of the hotel. I was disapointed to hear about your experience in the Brasserie - I would certainly not have expected you to have to wait so long for your food. I would be delighted to speak to you in more detail about this. I am available at the hotel daily and can... More 

Travelers are raving about these Stoke Holy Cross hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We have just returned from a mid week break with friends at Dunston Hall, 26-28th March, to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. All the staff were welcoming, helpful and efficient which made our stay a very pleasing experience. We were upgraded to a four poster room, 205 The Limes, which had the comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DGOpsMgr, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review

Dear Monica, Many thanks for reviewing the hotel. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. i know the team that look after the 4 posters like to be creative with the towels - It certainly is a talking point, although it did take me a while to figure out what a couple of them were. I do... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

I recently had a very bad experience at the Spa in Dunston, this is not run by Dunston Hall and they have nothing to do with the running of it but to make it up to us they arranged for four 3 course meals at the bar and grill, which was superbly generous and very much aprreciated. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DGOpsMgr, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Brasserie Bar and Grill. I do remember speaking with you about your Spa experience. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your meal at the hotel. I have passed your feedback on to the team about the drinks pricing. I do hope that you will condidder visiting Dunston Hall... More 

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed in December 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed the excellent a la carte La Fontaine restaurant on both evenings. On our arrival last week we were told this facility had now closed and there was only the Carvery available. This was equivalent to eating out in a pub! For a 4 star hotel only to have one restaurant - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DGOpsMgr, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I was disapointed to hear about your experience. I would be delighted to speak with you in more detail about this should you wish to do so. I am available at the hotel daily on 01508470444 or you can email me on david.graham@devere-hotels.com. We do open the La Fontaine restaurant... More 

essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

First class service and accommodation and what a fantastic location. We have always enjoyed our time at Dunston Hall, we feel so special and relaxed when we visit, everyone are so pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. We have had such a relaxed time and have taken our friends along to help them to unwind as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DGOpsMgr, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review

Dear Russell, Many thanks for reviewing the hotel. I was delighted to hear that you have had another good stay with us. It is always nice to see our regulars returning to the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel later in the year. Best regards David More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We booked a golf weekend and got a great deal through golfbreaks but alas the weather was against us and we only managed to get one round in. So we made the most of what was on offer,I treated myself to a massage and we used the pool, steam and sauna the only point was the spa is in need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DGOpsMgr, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing the hotel - I was delighted to hear that you had a good time. I am sorry that the weather let you down on this occasion. I do hope that you will considder using Dunston Hall again when you look for a golfing break. Best regards David More 

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were aware from previous reviews that some of the rooms were in need of refurbishment and sure enough our room was somewhat tired looking, but it was clean so not a problem initially. Unfortunately after the first nights sleep, or more accurately lack of, we had to complain as the mattress was in a very poor condition, well worn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DGOpsMgr, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I was diapointed to hear about the issues you experienced with the food in the Brasserie. I have asked Ewan the Manager and Ben the Chef to have a look at your comments and see what can be done about the Risotto. If you would like to speak to me... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

our first experience at Dunston was a bit disappointing and we complained - not something we do lightly- the manager phoned us the next day and invited us to go back and hopefully they could put it right. BRILLIANT SECOND VISIT! it was like staying in a different hotel! the manager didnt just give us lip service i feel our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DGOpsMgr, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review

Hi Claire, It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay. I am gald to see that you had a much better stay on this occasion. I do hope to see you back at Dunston Hall in the near future. Many thanks David More 

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Was looking forward to being 'suprised' by my husband having flowers in the room and an amazing dinner.. However this did NOT happen. They forgot the flowers and no apology was given apart from they 'might get them the following morning' (which we didnt!). cleaniness was much to be desired! The room was grubby in my opinion noting the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DGOpsMgr, Manager at De Vere Dunston Hall, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Many thanks fopr your feedback about your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that there were issues. I would be delighted to speak to you about them. I am available at the hotel daily on 01508470444 or can be contacted via email at dvaid.graham@devere-hotels.com Once again many thanks and I look forward to speaking to you soon.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to De Vere Dunston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Dunston Hall

Address: Ipswich Road, Stoke Holy Cross, Norwich NR14 8PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Stoke Holy Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Dunston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your De Vere Dunston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunston Hall De Vere Hotel Norwich
De Vere Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Norwich
Dunston Hall Hotel
De Vere Dunston Hall Hotel

311 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (297)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (70)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay