We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Chante

7 Scabra Street, Dana Bay, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villa Chante
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My experience with Villa Chantè... i hated it. Waited an 1 and 1/2 for manger. Booked 19 day holiday with 2 dog. Got a place that my garage is bigger, no garden.. no help from owner.. paid in full before we arrived... no service in room.. had to ask for clean linin and towels... WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN... Disgusting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita D
Frans v, Owner at Villa Chante, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately more than a year after year after your stay makes it difficult to rectify something that when wrong. Being said that we keep on trying to make on guest feel as home and enjoy their stay with us. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wouldn't describe the unit as luxury, more accurate to call it average. Floors in unit where dirty and need a thorough clean. Limited kitchen utensils and pots + pans need to be replaced. Area is typical residential area. Beaches are lovely but at least a 5min drive.

Helpful?
Thank Andre W
Frans v, Owner at Villa Chante, responded to this review

It is very unfortunate that you didn't enjoyed your stay. The beaches is roughly 1 km away and lots of people walk to them. As far as the floors are concern why didn't you mentioned it to management and or asked the daily cleaning girls to clean the floor for you, the same for the utensils. Trust we will do... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dana Bay hotels

Ladybrand, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Thank you for the friendly service and quick responses. We had a lovely stay and will surely return again. Anybody reading this review this is a place to consider to stay with your family and friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DesmondDodd
Frans v, Manager at Villa Chante, responded to this review

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and trust to see you in future again. More 

pretoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

We ,as a Family of 8 stayed at Villa Chante,Villa 2, 21-25 september 2015. Unit needs upgrading and maintenance. The carpets need cleaning or replacing, faulty shower door needs fixing,mattresses are soft and uncomfortable, Kitchen not equipped for 8 people, had to ask for more glasses,etc There was NO oven in the unit (in the unit description it states "fully... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill528
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

I must say, best experience ever as this was my second time. Will definitely recommend to family and friends. The house was more than spacious and clean upon arrival. Very serene and quiet. Not a single disappointment

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 928nadiap
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

On arrival there was nobody at the office. Waited for the manager for 20 min. Was informed that we've been allocated a different room than what we've been quoted R572.00 per night. Gave us a villa of R450.00 but still charged us R572.00 for the first night. Well we've demanded another villa or our money back. The managers phoned the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
Port Alfred, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

Our overnight stay at Villa Chante represented very good value for money. The accommodation was clean and our self-catering unit was well equipped although a little on the basic side rather than the luxurious. The braai facilities on the spacious deck with distant sea views was very pleasant indeed. A lovely beach is a short drive away and there is... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peterbT7977ZE
Durbanville, Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

We made a booking from the road ( while on a roadtrip). We left on Friday....planned to sleep over somewhere near Congo Caves, BUTrather decided to return to Villa Chante and we enjoyed even a beter stay till Saturday! We will definately see you again soon!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ilzemostert
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

I am so sorry that I did not come onto this website and check out the reviews prior to booking our accomodation at this facility as I would have gone else where. I e-mailed this establishment and specifically asked them if they were "toddler friendly" - the exact reply was "The unit is on one floor, there is a couples... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 706Lesley
Port Alfred, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Loved the place as it has a fully enclosed garden for travelling pets keeping them safe and sound. I liked the chest deep freeze as travellers mostly travel with frozen meat which normally does not fit into standard little freezers in fridges. I did find it a little expensive for one person but should you be 6 people it's a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 299cindyv
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
2:48
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Bay
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Mossel Bay
Protea Hotel Mossel Bay
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amzee Bokmakierie
Amzee Bokmakierie
#4 of 7 in Dana Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
0.7 mi away
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
0.4 mi away
Lilies & Leopards B&B
Lilies & Leopards B&B
#3 of 7 in Dana Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay