We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Wellington B&Bs / inns

The Old Orleton Inn

5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Holyhead Road, Wellington, Telford TF1 2HA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Old Orleton Inn to your Saves list
The Old Orleton Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
97%
Ranked #2 of 5 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
George L Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    28
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
87
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I needed to stay for two nights somewhere that was convenient for Telford; following an awful experience last year at a large chain hotel in Telford itself, we sought somewhere more personable. The Old Orleton Inn really fitted the bill. Service that was both personal and personable, stylish accommodation with bags of character, with good food available,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stay in a fair few Hotels over the country, and were looking for something a bit different from the usual chain of Hilton/Marriott Hotels etc. So, we booked a 2 night weekend break at The Old Orleton. Whilst we understand it's a 5 star Inn, not a 5 star Hotel, our expectations were still fairly high. At £109 a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Old Orleton as a base for a biking holiday. We stayed in room 5. Great facilities and very relaxing. Whirlpool bath and comfy sofas. 4 poster bed perfect for a good nights sleep Breakfast was excellent with full English. Great scrambled egg Extensive dinner menu. Shared the Somerset Brie starter. It was excellent. Great relaxed atmosphere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

Your review is very much appreciated and thank you for all your kind comments and compliments. We do have several excellent Cycling Tracks very close by which can take you all the way to Bridgnorth and Shrewsbury. I'm glad you found the track we recommended, The Silkin Way and The Severn Valley Way, although you looked exhausted on your return,... More

Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ideally situated for touring this area - host and staff very friendly and most helpful - accommodation excellent - food delicious - very comfortable stay. Would recommend this hotel any time of the year as it is just off the M54/A5,

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for finding the time to write a review. Your compliments are most appreciated. Our location, as you so rightly say, is ideal for a base for visiting the whole of Shropshire, the West Midlands, Staffordshire and Wales. There is so much to do and see within a 50 mile radius, I think you'll have to come... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had a lovely evening meal, looked after well by the staff. the starter, main & dessert were well spaced out, lovely atmosphere will definately return & eat there again. Lovely bar area and the gardens are well kept with lovely hanging baskets.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. As you noted we do pace our timings so that diners can savour their food to the full and enjoy the whole experience of the meal without feeling rushed/hurried. We are keen "Slow Food UK" members. Thanks for the compliments about the garden it is another passion of ours. Come back to... More

Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed two nights to visit Shrewsbury Flower Show. Good location, spotlessly clean, room well decorated and maintained with good quality bedding and towels. Excellent breakfasts and good evening meals at a reasonable cost. Peaceful garden in which to enjoy a drink with the sun setting over the Wrekin. Best of all was good old fashioned customer service from the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and observations. Your compliments are most appreciated. See you again soon I hope. Cheers. More

Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed for one evening - wish it could have been more. The place is charming - lovely room ( No 7- compact but well designed ) with views of the garden and cricket pitch and everything you need, lovely shower, dressing gowns , slippers and a fan ! . This place has character , lovely food with generous portions and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

A big thank you from all of us here at The Old Orleton for you complimentary review. Don't forget us the next time your planning an escape from work and family. Think of us as your secret hideaway! Not too secret though - Tell all your friends..... Best Wishes More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Lovely pub, even better rooms, great food. Stayed 1 night for business, had already eaten when I got there - very disappointing having seen the food! Was booked elsewhere the following night but was able to come back to eat - well worth the effort. Will definitely go again and would happily recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

We were very happy to accommodate you for your business trip and thank you for your kind remarks. We offer generous discounts to our corporate clients, if booked directly, so contact reception the next time your in the area and I am sure we can cater to your needs. With Regards More

York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

An sound old coaching inn dating back to the 1600s. The room we had (No5) is tastefully furnished, well decorated and very comfortable - as are the bar and other public areas. The staff we encountered, about 5 of them, are all delightful, welcoming, and couldn't do enough to help. The place is an absolute joy with a lovely ambience.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review with regard to our Hotel & Bar. They are much appreciated. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your food as much as you expected. We do prefer to offer a casual Brasserie Style service rather than an "a la carte" "Fine Dining" experience because good, wholesome, large portioned cookery appeals, not only to Chef,... More

Burnley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was taken here by my boyfriend for a surprise birthday weekend away and I was taken aback by just how beautiful both the hotel and the surroundings are. Nestled in a picturesque place the hotel boasted beautiful beams on the ceiling, a huge double bed and a charming restaurant. It was incredibly clean and the staff were helpful but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

Who could have written a better review? Thank you so much. Your kind words are much appreciated. I have to agree, Breakfast is my favourite part of a stay away too. That's why we were adamant, 10 years ago when we opened, that we would make sure we could offer a wide choice of alternatives, whether your vegan, vegetarian, lactose... More

Do you own or manage The Old Orleton Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Orleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Orleton Inn

Address: Holyhead Road, Wellington, Telford TF1 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Orleton Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Old Orleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Orleton Hotel Wellington

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Old Orleton Inn

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Sunnycroft
Sunnycroft
Historic Sites