We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Wellington B&Bs / inns

The Old Orleton Inn

5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Holyhead Road, Wellington, Telford TF1 2HA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Old Orleton Inn to your Saves list
The Old Orleton Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
97%
Ranked #2 of 5 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
lydia b Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
  • Overview
  • Reviews (139)
  • Photos (48)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    26
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
85
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ideally situated for touring this area - host and staff very friendly and most helpful - accommodation excellent - food delicious - very comfortable stay. Would recommend this hotel any time of the year as it is just off the M54/A5,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for finding the time to write a review. Your compliments are most appreciated. Our location, as you so rightly say, is ideal for a base for visiting the whole of Shropshire, the West Midlands, Staffordshire and Wales. There is so much to do and see within a 50 mile radius, I think you'll have to come... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely evening meal, looked after well by the staff. the starter, main & dessert were well spaced out, lovely atmosphere will definately return & eat there again. Lovely bar area and the gardens are well kept with lovely hanging baskets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. As you noted we do pace our timings so that diners can savour their food to the full and enjoy the whole experience of the meal without feeling rushed/hurried. We are keen "Slow Food UK" members. Thanks for the compliments about the garden it is another passion of ours. Come back to... More

Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights to visit Shrewsbury Flower Show. Good location, spotlessly clean, room well decorated and maintained with good quality bedding and towels. Excellent breakfasts and good evening meals at a reasonable cost. Peaceful garden in which to enjoy a drink with the sun setting over the Wrekin. Best of all was good old fashioned customer service from the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and observations. Your compliments are most appreciated. See you again soon I hope. Cheers. More

Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one evening - wish it could have been more. The place is charming - lovely room ( No 7- compact but well designed ) with views of the garden and cricket pitch and everything you need, lovely shower, dressing gowns , slippers and a fan ! . This place has character , lovely food with generous portions and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

A big thank you from all of us here at The Old Orleton for you complimentary review. Don't forget us the next time your planning an escape from work and family. Think of us as your secret hideaway! Not too secret though - Tell all your friends..... Best Wishes More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Lovely pub, even better rooms, great food. Stayed 1 night for business, had already eaten when I got there - very disappointing having seen the food! Was booked elsewhere the following night but was able to come back to eat - well worth the effort. Will definitely go again and would happily recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

We were very happy to accommodate you for your business trip and thank you for your kind remarks. We offer generous discounts to our corporate clients, if booked directly, so contact reception the next time your in the area and I am sure we can cater to your needs. With Regards More

York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

An sound old coaching inn dating back to the 1600s. The room we had (No5) is tastefully furnished, well decorated and very comfortable - as are the bar and other public areas. The staff we encountered, about 5 of them, are all delightful, welcoming, and couldn't do enough to help. The place is an absolute joy with a lovely ambience.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review with regard to our Hotel & Bar. They are much appreciated. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your food as much as you expected. We do prefer to offer a casual Brasserie Style service rather than an "a la carte" "Fine Dining" experience because good, wholesome, large portioned cookery appeals, not only to Chef,... More

Burnley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was taken here by my boyfriend for a surprise birthday weekend away and I was taken aback by just how beautiful both the hotel and the surroundings are. Nestled in a picturesque place the hotel boasted beautiful beams on the ceiling, a huge double bed and a charming restaurant. It was incredibly clean and the staff were helpful but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

Who could have written a better review? Thank you so much. Your kind words are much appreciated. I have to agree, Breakfast is my favourite part of a stay away too. That's why we were adamant, 10 years ago when we opened, that we would make sure we could offer a wide choice of alternatives, whether your vegan, vegetarian, lactose... More

Rolvenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Delightful small hotel. Had a long drive up from Kent due to M25 traffic jam, arrived late, but were greeted by very pleasant helpful staff and had a delicious meal in the restaurant after a welcome drink in the bar. The hotel is very well appointed with beautiful attention to detail and the gardens and window boxes are lovely. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

I do indeed remember you arriving exhausted and frustrated from your journey and I am so glad that the staff were able to counteract this with prompt attention and service. Your praise is most appreciated and does help to make our work even more pleasurable. We do indeed have a couple of breakfast specialities that are very popular, one being... More

shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband booked a meal here for my birthday treat. Never having eaten here before we were curious. We arrived at the same time as 4 other couples so understandably a wait at the bar. The barman served everyone in turn and confidently, apologising for keeping us waiting; we then went to the restaurant. Again the staff were extremely pleasant,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your Birthday treat with us here at The Old Orleton. You compliments have been passed on to all the staff involved and they all asked me to relay their thanks, for your kind words, back to you. Don't leave it another year before you see us again. Best regards More

Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the Old Orleton when we needed a quick overnight stay at short notice. It was easy to find and suited our needs well. The young man who greeted us was very pleasant, and told us all we needed to know about our stay, as well as helping us out with directions to places nearby. The room we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pete_Ottley, Owner at The Old Orleton Inn, responded to this review

Your review is very much appreciated and thank you for your generous comments. Do try and find the time to come back to us should you visit Shropshire again. We do have a great 3 Day Wrekin Weekend Break that may suit you for future needs. You'll find it on our website. Best Regards More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Old Orleton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Orleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Orleton Inn

Address: Holyhead Road, Wellington, Telford TF1 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Orleton Inn 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Old Orleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Orleton Hotel Wellington

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wellington with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Orleton Inn, Wellington, Shropshire is a charming retreat for both work and pleasure. With ten fully refurbished Boutique style bedrooms, each one unique in design and character, yet all retain their original antique features. A sumptuous mix of old and new for 21st century living. Renown locally for their comprehensive selection of carefully prepared Vegetarian, Fish and Meat dishes. Using only fresh, quality produce sourced locally whenever possible, giving the menus a truly "Modern British" character . ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Orleton Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer