We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Darbargadh Palace

Poshina | Khedbrahma, Poshina 383422, India
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poshina
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Darbargadh Palace
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    11
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. This former palace clearly used to be beautiful and if renovated would be outstanding. and the view from the terrace is very good, specially at dusk. Further on the positive side, the owning prince, Mr. Hanu, was most hospitable, including taking us for a nice country ride in his jeep. Additionally on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Dear David, I am extremely sorry for the water issue.I wonder how this happened as we have more than 20,000 liters of water stored in the tanks. As I explained that we have just opened up after 4 months of closure,some things do not work well.August is the worst time to come as due to the monsoon,things are not great.However... More 

Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The place was ramshackle and extremely unhygienic. The bathroom had issues as well and we could not get warm water even during the cold weather. The price that they charge is extremely high for the services that they provide.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Dear Guest..... I am sorry that your experience was not very pleasant during your stay recently.However one must keep in mind that it was conveyed during the booking that the hotel was just opening up after four months of summer shut down.Also we had been hit very badly by the rains and hence the dampness,etc.The whole area was flooded.Hence we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Poshina hotels

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights - first stop of a 3 week tour of Gujurat. Hotel is fairly shabby, but not unduly so, as obviously with few visitors (as yet - tourism may well increase in the future) it is a never-ending task to keep on top of the maintenance issues. The staff were friendly but spoke little English -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for the feed-back.Yes,you are right about the short comings.We are always in the process of upgrading and trying to make it a worthwhile experience.The hot water problem is being sorted out.Sorry for your not getting it.I tried to make up by offering you free extras. However I am glad that you enjoyed the outings.Looking forward to seeing you next... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We went their on 31 Dec.. we were 6 couple with kids.. we were the only guest their.. service was OK.. but not up to mark.. their were no waiter or reception no bell boys but few helpers..all we get in food is home made food by those helper..where was tasteless..no activities for kids..nightmare for kids.. it's a heritage property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

We are surprised to get this after you all spent nearly 2 days enjoying yourselves.We gave you non-veg,etc.Dancing till late.Hot water does get late due to the cloudy weather.Everything is solar. Is this because I complained about the kids destroying the plants.The foreigners were shocked with the kids behavior.I wish you all had checked them when they were throwing chairs... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

A heritage hotel being run by the maharajah's grandson training up local families as staff. A wonderful piece of social action and it works fabulously in this beautiful building in process of renovation. The bedroom and bathroom facilities are splendid. Food, served in a big dining room, is also very good- veg and non-veg is available. When we were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your feedback.My son looked after you.It feels good when guests look at things in the right manner and enjoy the local culture. Thank-you More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I went there with my family right after Diwali. Having explored a lot of Palaces in Gujarat & Rajasthan, I thought this might be a good place to spend a couple of days. Were left hugely disappointed - 1) The Palace itself is quite ramshackle and really had nothing to offer in terms of heritage or culture. The management's explanation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.We always mention over the phone to Indian Clients that this is a small village with no T.V.,etc.This is more of a home stay with outdoor activities.For children there is really not much to do in the rooms.The pkg. for 2N is cheaper than for 1N.It is only Rs.500/-more.B/F,Lunch,Dinner... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Our first impressions of this wonderful place were a bit uncertain. We had a long journey and arrived rather tired in the early evening. At first it seemed a bit ramshackle and the staff found it difficult to communicate with us about the hotel. However they reached the owner on the phone and he was charming and reassuring and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you both at Poshina for 3 days.Your joining us in the celebrations was an added attraction for the local people and you both very patiently joined in.The marriage was attended by many. Thank-you very much for your kind words.Maybe we will see you again. More 

Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After a hectic month, we decided to unwind at a quiet place and chose Poshina. About 190 km from Ahmedabad, We had gone there about 10 years back and liked the place. This time though the overall ambiance had improved, and the property is being further renovated. We were received cheerfully by Kr. Harendrapal Sinh and he personally escorted us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IndiaScorpions, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Dear Sir, It was good to have you and your family back with us and I am glad that you liked the changes.Thank-you for the positive feed-back.We hope to see you all again and visit the farm and forest. Harendrapal Sinh More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Darbagadh in Poshina is an ideal base to explore the Chitra Vichitra Fair and surrounding temples and tribal villages in modern comfort. We spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The host family is gracious, helpful, attentive, and extended their warm hospitality to us. The owner took us on jeep excursions which enabled us to experience tribal life,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IndiaScorpions, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your feedback.It feels nice when someone has enjoyed their stay,especially for 3 nights.At times people forget that this is not a luxury hotel but a Home Stay.We try our best to make the stay a memorable one. Thank-you once again. More 

Bihar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Darbargadh Palace Poshina offers great rooms in the palatial style, with good staff and service. The specialty of this hotel, all the rooms are different and unique. And if you chose to stay in the suite, you can stay just beside the residence of the Royal family, sharing the same verandah in the evening over a cup of coffee.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IndiaScorpions, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your feedback.It will surely help others decide where they would like to stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poshina
24.7 mi away
Ratan Villas
Ratan Villas
#2 of 30 in Mount Abu
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avadh Hotel
Avadh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Morbi
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hotel Shiv Villa
Hotel Shiv Villa
#9 of 30 in Mount Abu
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Heritage
Hotel Royal Heritage
#6 of 43 in Mount Abu
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kutch Safari Lodge
17.5 mi away
Silver Oak Country Yard
Silver Oak Country Yard
#1 of 7 in Abu Road
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities