We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Darbargadh Palace

Poshina | Khedbrahma, Poshina 383422, India
Darbargadh Palace
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights - first stop of a 3 week tour of Gujurat. Hotel is fairly shabby, but not unduly so, as obviously with few visitors (as yet - tourism may well increase in the future) it is a never-ending task to keep on top of the maintenance issues. The staff were friendly but spoke little English -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Thanks for the feed-back.Yes,you are right about the short comings.We are always in the process of upgrading and trying to make it a worthwhile experience.The hot water problem is being sorted out.Sorry for your not getting it.I tried to make up by offering you free extras. However I am glad that you enjoyed the outings.Looking forward to seeing you next... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We went their on 31 Dec.. we were 6 couple with kids.. we were the only guest their.. service was OK.. but not up to mark.. their were no waiter or reception no bell boys but few helpers..all we get in food is home made food by those helper..where was tasteless..no activities for kids..nightmare for kids.. it's a heritage property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

We are surprised to get this after you all spent nearly 2 days enjoying yourselves.We gave you non-veg,etc.Dancing till late.Hot water does get late due to the cloudy weather.Everything is solar. Is this because I complained about the kids destroying the plants.The foreigners were shocked with the kids behavior.I wish you all had checked them when they were throwing chairs... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

A heritage hotel being run by the maharajah's grandson training up local families as staff. A wonderful piece of social action and it works fabulously in this beautiful building in process of renovation. The bedroom and bathroom facilities are splendid. Food, served in a big dining room, is also very good- veg and non-veg is available. When we were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your feedback.My son looked after you.It feels good when guests look at things in the right manner and enjoy the local culture. Thank-you More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I went there with my family right after Diwali. Having explored a lot of Palaces in Gujarat & Rajasthan, I thought this might be a good place to spend a couple of days. Were left hugely disappointed - 1) The Palace itself is quite ramshackle and really had nothing to offer in terms of heritage or culture. The management's explanation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.We always mention over the phone to Indian Clients that this is a small village with no T.V.,etc.This is more of a home stay with outdoor activities.For children there is really not much to do in the rooms.The pkg. for 2N is cheaper than for 1N.It is only Rs.500/-more.B/F,Lunch,Dinner... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Our first impressions of this wonderful place were a bit uncertain. We had a long journey and arrived rather tired in the early evening. At first it seemed a bit ramshackle and the staff found it difficult to communicate with us about the hotel. However they reached the owner on the phone and he was charming and reassuring and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darbargadh, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you both at Poshina for 3 days.Your joining us in the celebrations was an added attraction for the local people and you both very patiently joined in.The marriage was attended by many. Thank-you very much for your kind words.Maybe we will see you again. More 

Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After a hectic month, we decided to unwind at a quiet place and chose Poshina. About 190 km from Ahmedabad, We had gone there about 10 years back and liked the place. This time though the overall ambiance had improved, and the property is being further renovated. We were received cheerfully by Kr. Harendrapal Sinh and he personally escorted us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IndiaScorpions, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Dear Sir, It was good to have you and your family back with us and I am glad that you liked the changes.Thank-you for the positive feed-back.We hope to see you all again and visit the farm and forest. Harendrapal Sinh More 

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Darbagadh in Poshina is an ideal base to explore the Chitra Vichitra Fair and surrounding temples and tribal villages in modern comfort. We spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The host family is gracious, helpful, attentive, and extended their warm hospitality to us. The owner took us on jeep excursions which enabled us to experience tribal life,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IndiaScorpions, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your feedback.It feels nice when someone has enjoyed their stay,especially for 3 nights.At times people forget that this is not a luxury hotel but a Home Stay.We try our best to make the stay a memorable one. Thank-you once again. More 

Bihar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Darbargadh Palace Poshina offers great rooms in the palatial style, with good staff and service. The specialty of this hotel, all the rooms are different and unique. And if you chose to stay in the suite, you can stay just beside the residence of the Royal family, sharing the same verandah in the evening over a cup of coffee.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IndiaScorpions, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your feedback.It will surely help others decide where they would like to stay. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed in Poshina Palace in February this year. I absolutely loved it. My stay was for five nights and i was initially worried i may be bored but i had a wonderful time and could have stayed five more. My hosts Hanu and Hani and their son Mrigu were so very kind, personable and lovely. The Palace itself is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
IndiaScorpions, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Dear Madam, It was a great pleasure having you at our place.You were so easy to look after,because you truly understood the essence of the place and enjoyed the things shown to you.You were able to enjoy the real India,unlike some people who expect everything to be like a HOTEL. This is a HOME-STAY property. We would like you to... More 

Ypsilanti, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our two-night stay at Darbargadh Palace centered us for what were to become the most touching highlights of our recent trip to India. We had a standard room on the lower level. Although there was minimal light in the room and construction happening right cross the pathway, it was very easy to overlook these small hiccups and pay more attention... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IndiaScorpions, Owner at Darbargadh Palace, responded to this review

Thank-you very much for your views.It is guests like you who have the time and an open mind to see and enjoy what seem to many as little things in life.We enjoy exploring places,houses,families,etc. with guests like you.Your insight into things what seem natural to us has put us to think more on what you experienced.We will try our best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question