We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horsley Lodge

3.0 of 5 Smalley Mill Road, Horsley DE21 5BL, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Horsley Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Horsley Lodge
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    36
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
40
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had our wedding reception here August 2014 and it was perfect - we highly recommend this venue. We met with Laura, the wedding planner, a few times before the wedding; she was so calm, helpful and informative. She was always available to answer questions (even replying during her holiday time!) On the day Laura and her team were excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Horsley Lodge for a family wedding. The hotel has many things right, fabulous location, friendly staff, tasty food and a great bar area. It's let down by minor things which is a shame, may sound petty but at £210 a night you have high expectations. We had dirty bottles and a glass left outside our room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made a booking very last minute with booking.com which was £139 for deluxe double room and breakfast. Upon arrival my husband was told that the hotel was booked and busy and the only room was outside (Rutland) which was fine and it had a lovely conservatory and use of a garden. The bed looked big and scrumptious. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan W, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Samgamble_13 Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. You raise some interesting points regarding the room to which I will look into immediately. Our aim is to ensure all of our rooms are a good quality and functional. I'm pleased that we scored a good review overall and look forward to welcoming you back to Horsley Lodge... More

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a last minute break here to get away and play some golf. The staff were very helpful and friendly on the phone and we made reservations for a 2 night stay, arraign the same day. On arrival at the hotel we unloaded our bags and golf equipment and checked in. Very friendly lady at reception checked us in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan W, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mollie1401 Thank you for your recent feedback. I am terribly disappointed that we have let you down during your stay. I would very much like to discuss this with you further if you have the time. You can contact me at gm@horsleylodge.co.uk, however I will endeavor to contact you next week myself. Kind Regards Nathan Wallis General Manager More

2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Well where do I start at the beginning I suppose well 2 years ago I went to horsley lodge for the first time after one of my good friends recommended it to me so I drove up the drive and from that moment I fell in love with horsley lodge, and then I was greeted by the lovely Laura who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathan W, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Laura A Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel and team. I will pass your comments on to those who have not already spied them on here!! It is so rewarding when months of effort come together to make someones day so special and I pleased we are in a position to do just that. May... More

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

From the day that our wedding was booked and right up to our big day Horsley Lodge and all the staff have been fantastic. The location, the rooms, the food and all the other things made our day perfect. We couldn't have asked for more. The staff were more than accommodating especially Laura the wedding co-ordinator. Thank you so much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan W, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gavin and Jo Thank you for a lovely review. I am pleased to hear that your big day was such a success. I'm sure the team will be looking forward to your anniversary to welcome you back. Congratulations from all of us and we hope you have many happy years to come. Kind Regards Nathan Wallis General Manager More

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Very disappointed to have rung to book a party of 46 people for the offer of two courses for £9.95 which was being advertised on their wed site upto last night the 13/8/2014 only to be told it went up last Monday to £14.95!!!!!!! . When asked why it was still being advertised was told they couldnt find so we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan W, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rita H Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We have as you rightly commented increased the price of our two course £9.95 restaurant menu on the 8th September and it is now one course for £10.95, two for £14.95 and three for £19.95. Unfortunately we could not sustain a menu of that price and have subsequently increased... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

For the money this was really a great meal, could be one of the best meals ever, form theb price certianly! Having recently paid a fortune at a 5 star 2 rosette hotel which provided minimal cooking, for the location and type of venue this was a great meal. I was concerned about dress code being attached to a golf... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan W, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ace97, Thank you for your great review of of our food. We have new menus launching in September that may tempt you further so please don't be long before you visit us again. With regards to parking there is plenty of on site parking, however if you are struggling to find a space in the future please speak to... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

upon arrival we found there was no hot water to the barn cottage which costs£165 a night we found this un-acceptable of a hotel of such standard and would of expected this from a cheap travelodge hotel after waiting a couple of hours they finally sent a plumber out to fix the water which was another inconvenience as you felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan W, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kittysbee, Thank you for your recent review. I must apologise for the unforeseen problem with the boiler in your cottage. As you know we tried to ensure the plumber got to us whilst you were not at the hotel as to minimise impact on your stay. I am sorry that the efforts made by our team on the day... More

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a vintage afternoon tea and have had a lovely afternoon. There was a good variety of sandwiches and cakes with an unlimited supply of various styles of teas. Unfortunately due to the seating arrangement in the old restaurant we did feel a little out of the way from any staff members should we have had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan W, General Manager at Horsley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kirstie G Thank you for your kind words regarding our Vintage Tea offering. It may interest you that we launch our Horsley Afternoon Tea on Monday the 8th September which will be held in the Highlander Restaurant. This is £12.95 per person. We will of course continue to run Vintage Teas on Thursday. We look forward to welcoming you... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Horsley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horsley Lodge

Address: Smalley Mill Road, Horsley DE21 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Horsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Horsley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Hotel Horsley
Horsley Hotel Derby
Horsley Lodge England

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay