We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Linden House

5.0 of 5 1-3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8HA , England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Linden House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Linden House
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    30
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
57
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been to Linden house on a number of occasions, i guess the fact we have been back often tells you we enjoy it and like the food. We have had Sunday lunch often, the roast's are very good and plenty of sides. Our children (they do smaller roast for the kids) have always been very welcome here and looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely experience here,so good in fact that we stayed a extra night. The room was big, and the bathroom big enough. The bed very comfortable and one of the bigger ones we slept in in the UK. The staff were delightful and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. The food was some of the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tetney
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on the off chance as it looked lovely and was on the rail link to Cambridge. The bed was lovely and comfortable but the rooms are not double glazed so they are very noisy and close to a main road. The bath with overhead shower is in the room with a shower curtain which sticks to you.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited 19th for two nights. This place is bizarre, has the potential to be fantastic but has a few quirks. Check in took place at a till in the middle of the restaurant, we didn't feel hugely comfortable stood there with our cases whilst in our travelling clothes, surrounded by diners enjoying their early evening dinner. Room was beautifully decorated,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Called in as early for an airport pickup of friends, decided to get some food (it was my birthday and anyway I am always hungry! ). Had a gin & tonic (see birthday above) and was ridiculously pleased to get it in a nice cut glass, brilliant! The food was delicious, partner had nicest chicken caesar ever and my prawn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West wickham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night and enjoyed it very much.the room was beautiful, sheets and pillows were like sleeping on a cloud.no expense spared we had lunch outside on our day of arrival which was very nice,And breakfast next morning was delish.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stansted
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We had a large party staying at this hotel following our wedding at a venue nearby. The rooms are really uniquely designed with really clever features in all of them. We had a group of 10 staying and following the wedding were enjoying a few post event drinks on the terrace outside. There was a really great buzz about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I was with a wedding party on 16th August 2014. the bride n groom was told we would get a glass of champagne as we arrived. the bar wasn't even opened !!! after arguing a bout this they eventually opened the bar for a little while for us xx the bride n grooms room had nothng special done for them..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SFos11, General Manager at Linden House, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to reassure you that I am in direct contact with the bride, with regard to some of the comments you have made. Whilst we successfully accommodate many wedding parties throughout the year, we do of course value all feedback and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Best regards. Nigel Merritt More

Hong Kong Region, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is what happen on my friend who went together. They get into her room secretly when we were out. she has already placed the card "Please do not disturb!" outside her room before she left, the key was kept in the reception. All her private stuffs opened as we didn't expert a 5stars service hotel will get in like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SFos11, Owner at Linden House, responded to this review

Madame With respect, Linden House operates a strict "no smoking policy". You signed a registration card when you checked in clearly stating that "a £200 cleaning charge will be applied should guests smoke anywhere in the property". This cost covers the specialist clean required to eradicate the smell of smoke and the time the room is out of service before... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Came here with high expectations and was at first impressed by rooms, however after an impressive meal in the restaurant, i retired to my room for a rather unpleasant night. The room was incredibly hot during the night, there was a fan in the room which I did chose to use which was a mistake. The sound of the fan... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SFos11, General Manager at Linden House, responded to this review

I'm very pleased to hear that you liked the room and that you were impressed with your experience in our restaurant. We can only apologise that the room was rather warm, unfortunately, due to the age of the buildings and our commitment to the sustainability of the environment, we don't have air conditioned bedrooms. We do hope to see you... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Linden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House

Address: 1-3 Silver Street, Stansted Mountfitchet CM24 8HA , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stansted Mountfitchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Linden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden House Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay