We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bowes House

Bowes Lane, Mosterton DT8 3HN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowes House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bowes House
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed just one night at this beautifully situated B and B and was made to feel really welcome (tea and chocolate cake a lovely touch). Lisa a helpful guide to the countryside around and prepared a breakfast that deserves a review of its own. Homemade yogurt outstanding!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just had our third trip to this lovely B&B and have grown very fond of what we think is a real gem. We had previously stayed at Ebenezer B&B in the next village which was lovely but when it closed we thought we'd never find anywhere as nice to stay in the area. Lisa is extremely welcoming and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loxwood
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Bowes House is in a lovely setting - at the end of a lane with nothing but countryside to look at and hear - in fact the birds are a bit loud! We have been here several times now and nothing changes for the worse - it just stays top of the class. A wonderful welcome from Lisa and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in May. I'm sure our overall impression was helped by the gorgeous weather but we were made extremely welcome by Lisa. We came with elderly parents who found the stairs a challenge but both rooms we were given were spacious and perfect for our needs. Lisa was knowledgable about the area and was able... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodstock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed Bowes for one night.Lisa was very friendly and welcoming, not only to us but also to Willow (our black labrador). She was very knowledgeable about the area and suggested a lovely place for supper. The room was extremely comfortable (huge bed + top quality linen), lovely views of the gardens and surrounding countryside. We also were given access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lisapMosterton, Owner at Bowes House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that one day you may be able to return. Regards lisa More 

Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
64 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'll just start with a slight negative - surprised not to see room tidied (but I see Lisa makes a point of this for short stays) - but this won't affect the overall review - just something to consider. I didn't make a point of it while I was there because everything else was just so.... welcoming - very pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lisapMosterton, Owner at Bowes House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review. So glad you had a lovely stay and I hope you will come back sometime. I will make it more clear on my website that I dont tidy rooms as I consider it your own private space during your time here. If guests are here for long stays I do of course... More 

Mosta, Malta
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at Bowes only for two days. Friendly and familiar atmosphere, wonderful countryside. Everything peaceful. The access alley is very characteristic, even if a little dangerous to cross for the car shock absorbers,,,but country is country). I hope I shall come back, one day amd, for sure, not only for businness and solo but also with friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lisapMosterton, Owner at Bowes House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was lovely to have you to stay and I do hope that you will be back some day. kind regards lisa More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

A two night stay was nothing but a pleasure. Lisa and Jeremy were wonderful hosts and couldn't have been more helpful with tips and advice on interesting places to see and excellent local restaurants. Contrary to the previous review we saw no sign of animal hairs in the living room, in fact the place was spotless. Breakfast too was delicious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Bowes House in August, all started well but did not last long.I feel that the B&B Service given is now tired and worn out. Despite old revues being good we did not see any good service on our trip unfortunately we stayed for too many days. We were made to feel awkward every day asking on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lisapMosterton, Owner at Bowes House, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at Bowes House, I was most surprised to read your review as you had given no indication of not being happy whilst you were with us. We do have pets and usually these are kept out of the guest sitting/dining room, on this occasion as your daughter was so... More 

Southerners
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We received a very warm welcome from Lisa, and had a fantastic bedroom, with biggest bath we have seen in a long time, and views over the valleys that were wonderful. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the morning with freshly picked raspberries and yoghurt, and kippers, which were very moreish. We wished we could have stayed longer, and this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question