We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dundas Arms

53 Station Road, Kintbury RG17 9UT, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dundas Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dundas Arms
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    49
    26
    16
    14
See reviews for
24
59
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was looking for an inspiring venue for a series of planning meetings and was pleased to have found the Dundas Arms. The Private Dinning room is excellent with great aspect on to the river Kennet. The food and service was first class throughout and I can't thank Mark and his team enough. The venue also received praise from my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Dundas Arms is in a delightful setting & we were very pleased with our ground floor room overlooking the canal. The bed was deliciously comfortable with very good quality bedding. Breakfast & evening meals were of excellent quality with attentive service. In fact Chris, Mark, Ros & indeed the whole team were friendly, welcoming & accommodating. John particularly wants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kintbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The pub has undergone a number of management changes since it was sold a couple of years ago, however, hopefully the current management are here to stay (especially if they continue to appear from time to time on the station platform with free teas and coffees for cold commuters). This is our local, so we often pop in for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Dundas Arms for the nights, the management are very accommodating and the food was delicious. I read some of the negative reviews and I must say we must have stayed at a different place as the management team were excellent a huge thanks to Chris and Mark, we had a fabulous time. Very warm, friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We stayed at the Dundas Arms twice in a month with cicra 30 guests in all (shooting nearby) including two dinners in the private room. This place is a stunning location and a nice building but it's quite rudderless and really does lack any hands on management. Despite very substantial spending at the Dundas and me as the host of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarkcBarrett74, General Manager at Dundas Arms, responded to this review

Dear Sir, My name is Mark Barrett, and towards the end of November I took over as Landlord of The Dundas Arms. Whilst I wasn’t in charge during your stay at The Dundas, your review makes for difficult reading. If I may, I would like to take this opportunity to outline what we have been doing over the past 6... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kintbury hotels

Romsey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Wonderful food,wonderful setting,good service,will be returning in June next year and already my mouth is watering,rooms lovely. This place is very special,it is by the Kennett and Avon canal so very well situated

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
75 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I have stayed here on business once before and loved it so much I brought my wife back for the weekend. The pub is wonderfully located for walks and they welcome dogs (with a passion). The rooms are comfortable and we had no complaints about the service throughout the stay. The only problem was the food. Breakfasts were great but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarkcBarrett74, General Manager at Dundas Arms, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, My name is Mark Barrett, and towards the end of November I took over as Landlord of The Dundas Arms. Whilst I wasn’t in charge during your last visit here, I would like to apologies from everybody here that you had such a bad experience. If I may, I would like to take this opportunity to outline what... More 

Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We loved the Dundas Arms. We stayed for one night, had drinks in the library room by the fire after a beautiful dinner in the restaurant. The room was lovely, good size, very comfortable beds and extremely cosy. The people are very friendly and welcoming. We went for an evening walk along the canal, which is just outside the Dundas.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014 via mobile

We popped in for dinner and were hoping for a nice meal as we have experienced a few times in the past. Not too be AGAIN. This has been the 3rd time in a row that the food was poor, service was average and it felt on the whole not very inviting. A real shame given the location and past... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarkcBarrett74, General Manager at Dundas Arms, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, My name is Mark Barrett, and towards the end of November I took over as Landlord of The Dundas Arms. Whilst I wasn’t in charge during your last visit here, I would like to apologies from everybody here that you had such a bad experience. If I may, I would like to take this opportunity to outline what... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

This pub, with its delightful setting, could be so lovely. However after meeting a friend for lunch, I'm afraid to say I don't think I'll return. We ordered lunch, a Caesar salad and risotto and it took nearly an hour to arrive. My sage and squash risotto was bland and I had to search for any squash and found two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dundas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundas Arms

Address: 53 Station Road, Kintbury RG17 9UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Kintbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dundas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundas Arms Hotel Kintbury

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay