We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Urangan accommodations

BreakFree Great Sandy Straits

3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17 Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Hotel amenities
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Great Sandy Straits to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Helen R
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
56
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stay here every time we go to Hervey bay. We like that they have great security. walking distance to the baot harbor club and to the water ad a great morning walk along the harbor dock which goes out for over a klm. the apartments are set up great with privacy and also have amenities with in so you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A friend an I have stayed here twice, once in Feb 2012 for a week and again in Feb 2014 for 10 days. Both experiences were very good, the complex is in a great location for the price and the rooms are bright and airy. We stayed in rooms facing the marina both times and found it very enjoyable watching... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on the 1st floor overlooking the sea with our own private little balcony & woke every morning to the most awesome sunrises. Our shower was a cute circular one that faced into the lounge that you could leave uncovered and watch the sea if you so wished. We were very comfortable in our unit and everything necessary had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nambour, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite some reviewed negative experiences from others, this is the second time we've stayed at Breakfree Urangan, with both times being a happy experience. Our ground floor, two-bedroom Unit 15 with a marina-view was quiet, clean and equipped with all we needed... and comfortable for my elderly mother. The unit was equipped with excellent block-out curtains to keep outside lighting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We chose Breakfree Great Sandy Straits Apartments on the recommendation of a friend, also from the ACT. We found it clean and well-equipped. The view from our ground floor apartment was amazing and we enjoyed being able to walk out to lawns, then sand to the water. We had no complains whatsoever, and can only assume that the apartments are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim S, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear Joane B Not many happy guest share their positive experience but we are delighted that you did. It is also gratifying to me and my team that you have enjoyed your stay with us at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits based on your friends recommendations We look forward to welcoming you back soon Ibrahim Saad General Manager More 

Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Staff very friendly, just make sure you get to the office and see them before closing time. We stayed for a few days to visit Frazer Island and Lady Elliot Island. This place is convenient to both. Good value for money. The unit on level 1 has great views (see photos), not really serviced. Folks before did some washing (otherwise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim S, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

ZonkMonk Thank you for your constructive feedback We look forward to your next visit Ibrahim Saad General Manager More 

Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The apartments are in a great location for walks along the beach, whale watching and eating out. The facilities are good although the pool was freezing cold. The views from the balconies were beautiful, one ocean view and one marina view. I booked the apartments a few months ago and asked for 2 together but ended up with 2 a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim S, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear Caroline G I’m sorry that an apology was not offered for the inconvenience due to the fire alarm We do certainly appreciate your generous spirit and look forward to your nest visit Kind Regards Ibrahim saad General Manager More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Lovely quiet location with an amazing view of the beach. No roads, no traffic between me and the beach. A great spot to walk to the marina for whale watching or dinner. We left the car in the lock up garage for several days. I enjoyed the sound of gentle waves lapping at the beach and having breakfast on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim S, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear Glenda C We are so very please that you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay at Great Location and stunning view We look forward to your next visit Ibrahim Saad General Manager More 

Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

Helpful staff on check in, had a one bedroom unit which had a great sea view and was clean and a comfortable bed.The kitchen was well equipped .The unit needed some cleaning equipment and chemicals so it could be kept clean because it wasn't serviced. The location was great for most things like whale watch tours, trips to Fraser Island,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ibrahim S, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear Eric D Thank you for your thoughtful and objective feedback we llok forward to your return trip Ibrahim Saad General Manager More 

Southport, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Lovely place to stay clean helpful walking distance to restaurants and shops at the Marina in Harvey bay , the only place to go on a whale watch . Bus stop at the marina so you can bus up to Torquay where there are always markets , great restaurants for dinner or breakfast . At the marina there are restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear Vicky969 Thank you for your feedback We are delighted that you found Breakfree Great sandy Straits offering great location clean and helpful staff We look forward to your return trip Ibrahim Saad Beneral Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BreakFree Great Sandy Straits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Great Sandy Straits

Address: 17 Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Great Sandy Straits 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Great Sandy Straits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Great Sandy Straits Hotel Urangan
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay