We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BreakFree Great Sandy Straits

17 Buccaneer Drive, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    51
    40
    16
    12
See reviews for
59
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (148)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This time, we were there for just 3 nights for the ANZAC break. Stunning views as usual and just 10 meters to the water. Can't fault the housekeeping. If only the owner of this Unit upgrade the kitchen's cutlery and utensils and provide a cutting/chopping board, it would make this fully self contained Unit a much better stay. There should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 3 bedroom apartment over looking the sea. The apartment was great, it had everything we needed, although a small coffee table to put cups of tea and coffee on would be good. Great location easy access to the beach and shops, we had a fab holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I couldn't find better for the price! Joined the hotel chain's clubcusoon and got 5% off the already cheap rates during Easter School Hols for a 5 night stay. Units I'm guessing are individually owned so would all be furnished differently. We had #37 on middle floor overlooking the Marina. It was comfortable, clean & everything worked. We had it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely break in our one bedroom apartment. It was modern, clean and very relaxing. The staff were excellent. Thank you Margaret and David for your help. Within walking distance of cafes and the Boat Harbour Club for meals. Beautiful grounds, and the beach is right there in front of you. No roads to cross. We stayed three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall we thought this resort was good value. We were in unit 1, which is on the ground floor with an immediate view over the harbour. There is a garage for your car and you walk out of the garage across a courtyard into the unit. The entrance from the garage brings you straight into the bedroom, which is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear HolidayBears69 Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your detailed review of your experience We are pleased that you have found BreakFree Great Sandy Straits offering good value in a great location We certainly have taken notes of your constructive feedback and will review it with our team to enhance and improve our service We look... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Room was spacious and comfortable. Noticed some cockroaches and emailed hotel about them and did not get a response. As not from Australia not sure if cockroaches are normal in this part of country or if they have a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear DougandCharon Thank you or your feedback We do apologise for the communication breakdown We are pleased that you found your unit to be spacious and comfortable, unfortunately despite our best efforts and a regular pest control schedule cockroaches are present. sorry for any inconvenient Kind Regards Ibrahim More 

Caloundra, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
77 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights on a discounted package, and I guess we got what we paid for . Most of the negative reviews concerned cleanliness of the apartments, so we were a little dubious but booked anyway. The negative reviewers were right, our bathroom floor had hair, pubic hair and dirt that my wife had to sweep up. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear XLCobra Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience with regards to cleaning standards and the manner in which your initial feedback was handled Please be re assured that your feedback has been reviewed with our housekeeping contractors and team members responded to your initial feedback Once again please... More 

Brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

My wife and I stayed here over the Australia Day Week-end, and travelled with friends, who also stayed here. We all loved the accommodation. Yes. It is dated but we found it comfortable and roomy. All the units have their own character, and we were not disappointed with ours. The resort is close to restaurants, and there were plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ibrahim S, Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear Maccs Thank you for your valuable feedback We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits We look forward to welcoming you back Kind Regards Ibrahim More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here over the Australia day long weekend on the basis of excellent daily rates, obviously a special deal. For $85/day we had ourselves a lovely ground floor apartment with spa, kitchenette, pool just outside the door, undercover parking and views of the beach. Pleasant walk to Urangan shops and very close to Marina. Would definitely stay again when a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ibrahim S, Front Office Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear 252011, Thankyou for your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your long weekend get away with us and would love to welcome you back for another stay with us soon! Regards Dawn T Front Office Manager Breakfree Great Sandy Straits Marina Resort More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I recently stayed in a 3 bedroomed apartment which for a family with young children would be fantastic. The 3 bedrooms were average size. The website writes it is air-conditioned - which should read one bedroom and living area is air-conditioned. The linen was fresh and clean on each bed. The floors could have been cleaned a lot more. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim S, Front Office Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us and for bringing to our attention the issue you had with the curtains and floors. We will follow this up with our Housekeeping team and with our maintenance department to see what is causing the issue with the curtains. It is true that Air-Conditioning is not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question