We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spinnaker Motel

Cnr Grays Road and State Highway 1 | Plimmerton, Porirua, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spinnaker Motel
Professional photos View all
Spinnaker Motel
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (17)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An older motel complex that has been very nicely refurbished. On both our recent stays we were late in arriving due to travel commitments and on one occasion left again very early in the morning. Pat, the lovely motelier, made this extremely easy for us which was most appreciated. We would certainly stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are more than willing to help late travellers and it is our pleasure to be able to offer this service. Pat & Gary, Managers More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Stayed here whilst away for work. The owners were so lovely and welcoming. Any request we had whether small orange was absolutely no problem. The room we had was nice and tidy. Loved the full kitchen set up to cook every night. Will be back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and yes the kitchens are good value and I will pass the message on to our girls about the how clean you found the unit, they do appreciate the feedback like we do. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here in our part of the country. Pat & Gary,... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our children in unit 19. Queen bed downstairs and queen and single up stairs. Well equipped kitchen with dining table. Motel is across the road from Plimmerton train station. Train took 30min into Wellington. 5 min walk into Plimmerton which has a dairy and several cafes and restaurants. Owners got our washing in off the line before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review. It was no problem bringing in your washing, which we did not mine doing. We look forward to welcoming your family back to the motel in the future. Pat & Gary, Managers More 

Tauranga
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Very pleasant Motel where we had a studio unit. Adequate for one night, and very handy to the motorway to and from Wellington. Pleasant staff (pat) and clean room. A bit noisy, but what do you expect on a main road? Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and yes it can be a bit noisy at nights with some of the big trucks. We are still investigating the ways to soundproof the rooms a bit more, but at this stage no decision has been made. When you come back for a return visit, please ask us for a quiet unit and as... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

everything i felt kind of ticked the boxes i guess but had an incident where it was 5 in the afternoon and requested to use the washing and dryer machines but was told they lock up at 6 then i had asked if there was any chance she could extend the hours so i could do my washing as I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

We take any compliant very seriously. It is about balancing the individual needs of all guests. We try very hard to accommodate most requests, however, occasionally we need to invoke our guidelines. We do have a different interpretation of events around this specific complaint. The laundry is situated near to family units and to ensure the other guests' quality of... More 

Oxford, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were in the older part of the motel and hada very small room with a small double bed that was also very uncomfortable! Our host was very helpful and at least the roo was clean, but we were alsobacked on to a main road which was very very noisy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and yes we do have different size rooms and it sounds like you were in one of our basic studios. This is the first complaint about beds being uncomfortable and if we knew what unit this was we could then have a look at this particular bed. As for the noise, we are investigating ways... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Unit very clean, only needed for a stopover before getting ferry. Shame the light was left on outside all night. Otherwise suitable for a quick stopover. Fantastic Pizza restaurant in Plimmerton - best we have ever had! Highly recommend The Big Salami.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you found the room very clean and we will certainly pass this onto our cleaners. As for the light being left on, we are very security conscious and having lights on outside the units at night not only does this assist guests who have been our or are arriving late,... More 

Gosnells
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Probably our worst noisiest night in New Zealand. The constant rumble and noise of big trucks,cars and motor bikes was awful. Not only from the highway but from a side road. Unit was spotless, well equipped and comfortable. Traffic noise is not a problem for everyone, but we defintely could not recommend if you want a good nights rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt that the room was very noisy and do apologise for this. We are the new managers here and that is one thing that is on our agenda is to look at ways of cutting the traffic noise down for the occupants of these particular units. We cannot promise immediate action, but we are investigating... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked this motel via wotif. when we got there the owners were away and we were greeted by a very friendly man. His level of service was awesome. The unit was clean and comfortable. Sadly no spa pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geraldine, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had researched this motel using Trip Advisor before our holiday to the North Island but did not book as I did not know when we would make the crossing. Once we got to Picton and booked the ferry I rang the motel and asked if we could stay the night but would not get in till 11.30pm. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Spinnaker Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Motel

Address: Cnr Grays Road and State Highway 1 | Plimmerton, Porirua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Spinnaker Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Spinnaker Motel

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby