We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Porirua hotels

Spinnaker Motel

Cnr Grays Road and State Highway 1 | Plimmerton, Porirua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Spinnaker Motel to your Saves list
Spinnaker Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
53%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Porirua
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014
Joanne T
  • Overview
  • Reviews (13)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

everything i felt kind of ticked the boxes i guess but had an incident where it was 5 in the afternoon and requested to use the washing and dryer machines but was told they lock up at 6 then i had asked if there was any chance she could extend the hours so i could do my washing as I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were in the older part of the motel and hada very small room with a small double bed that was also very uncomfortable! Our host was very helpful and at least the roo was clean, but we were alsobacked on to a main road which was very very noisy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and yes we do have different size rooms and it sounds like you were in one of our basic studios. This is the first complaint about beds being uncomfortable and if we knew what unit this was we could then have a look at this particular bed. As for the noise, we are investigating ways... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Unit very clean, only needed for a stopover before getting ferry. Shame the light was left on outside all night. Otherwise suitable for a quick stopover. Fantastic Pizza restaurant in Plimmerton - best we have ever had! Highly recommend The Big Salami.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you found the room very clean and we will certainly pass this onto our cleaners. As for the light being left on, we are very security conscious and having lights on outside the units at night not only does this assist guests who have been our or are arriving late,... More

Gosnells
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Probably our worst noisiest night in New Zealand. The constant rumble and noise of big trucks,cars and motor bikes was awful. Not only from the highway but from a side road. Unit was spotless, well equipped and comfortable. Traffic noise is not a problem for everyone, but we defintely could not recommend if you want a good nights rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerSpinnaker, Manager at Spinnaker Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt that the room was very noisy and do apologise for this. We are the new managers here and that is one thing that is on our agenda is to look at ways of cutting the traffic noise down for the occupants of these particular units. We cannot promise immediate action, but we are investigating... More

Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked this motel via wotif. when we got there the owners were away and we were greeted by a very friendly man. His level of service was awesome. The unit was clean and comfortable. Sadly no spa pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geraldine, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had researched this motel using Trip Advisor before our holiday to the North Island but did not book as I did not know when we would make the crossing. Once we got to Picton and booked the ferry I rang the motel and asked if we could stay the night but would not get in till 11.30pm. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose the Spinnaker as we were heading to a party at the Mana cruising club, it was myself, partner and baby, we found everything perfect. The customer service was fantastic and very welcoming, the rooms were tidy, clean and modern. All added up to a lovely, stress free family getaway. Definitely recommend as a great place to stay, we'll... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A very pleasant stay at the Spinnaker. Spotless rooms, friendly atmosphere. Extremely handy if using the Wellington to Picton Ferry. We stayed at the Spinnaker on our way south and again heading home. The hosts Vaughan and Anna were friendly and welcoming and ensured our stay was a pleasant one. I now know why my husband continually stays at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are to relocate and were looking at the area. The owner was very very helpful. He drove his own car to a local estate agent and introduced us, and gave lots of great advice about the area. The room was very clean and well furnished. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was lovely. Overall a great place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Never again will I stay in this place unless im sure the ownership has changed and I urge anyone reading this to do the same! I booked with this motel through the AA website about 3 weeks prior to arriving. I was transferring my family in two vehicles (with 2 children under 4) to the South Island after securing a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Spinnaker Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Spinnaker Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Motel

Address: Cnr Grays Road and State Highway 1 | Plimmerton, Porirua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Spinnaker Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome is waiting for you. An older motel that has been extensively refurbished throughout. Local beach which is safe for swimming and lovely for walking along. Close to local facilities. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spinnaker Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer