We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Porirua B&Bs / inns

Amethyst Court Motor Lodge

5 Titahi Bay Road, Porirua 5022, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Amethyst Court Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
77%
Ranked #1 of 2 Porirua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
MornaJay Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
4
11
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chose this accommodation because of it's proximity to the CBD & as its situated on a busy road I was surprised how quiet it is. I stayed 5 nights here so enjoyed the comfortable chairs & wee table for relaxing. An agreeable bed to my taste, fresh bedspread & comfy pillows. Also a generous ration of towels & wash cloths.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

An exciting trip down from Auckland to the Sevens was slightly soured by the poor customer service this motor lodge provides. Ideally we would have preferred to stay closer to the city for the Sevens, but our late accommodation arrangements lead to this sour experience. As a professional with extensive travel experience overseas and locally, I have never encountered such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for you review - we know that you were a member of the group whom wrote the review Absolutely Rude Customer Service - we will not be adding any further comments. We are hardworking moteliers whom have had 9 years experience and were not going to let one room of 5 Unruly, loud, drunken guests upset the weekend for... More

Papaioea, Aotearoa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We travelled down from Auckland for the Wellington Sevens. As soon as we arrived the owner was very rude and unwelcoming warning that she would call the cops if we were too loud or moved any of the furniture. After our arrival, as we were unpacking, she proceeded to call our bedroom several times to caution us once again, that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review - you have failed to mention that you booked for 3 persons only and did pay for an extra person after Murray investigated. We also know that there were not 4 persons staying but there were 5. This room is for 4 persons only and it is against our Fire Regulations to have any more persons... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

On arrival from a long drive toward Porirua, was Not given a warm welcome!!. Helen (manager/owner) was very rude and was more concerned with her hotel furnishings, than hospitality. She was more concerned about her lamps not being broken, due to past bookings from other people "this is not my concern" & that's why you have insurance. I had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I wonder why you have used this page to express this negative review when you have failed to read the terms and conditions of the Booking.com website. You booked this room on booking.com for two persons only and requested a downstairs suite - I emailed you and stated I could not provide you with one and you would be upstairs.... More

South Island, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where the terrible reviews came from as I found the staff very helpful and upfront. A nicely decorated spacious ground floor with a great bathroom. Would definitely return or recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Murray & Helen More

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It is lovely clean lodge I slept many hotels, motels, lodges in many diffrent countries ex USA Europe, Africa I haven't seen like this motor lodge before lovely secure,Everything I saw in that motor lodge was mor than lovely

Was this review helpful? Yes
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your glowing review - it is very much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we do not have a swimming pool or a fitness on site, however there is City Fitness across the road and also we have the lovely Te Rauparaha Arena Swimming Complex only a short distance away. Murray &... More

Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was initially nervous about booking in to Amethyst, because I had read a few poor reviews. My experience was fantastic! Even though this motel is 6 years of age everything looks as new. I have stayed in many Motels/hotels around the world over a number of years and Amethyst is up there with the best of them for... cleanliness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your glowing review - it is very much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed you stay at our Motor Lodge and look forward to seeing you again next time you are requring accommodation in Porirua. Murray & Helen More

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Such a great place to stay have had 3 stays recently - of 1 night 2 nights and then 4 nights- very clean rooms- such friendly moteliers and with a yummy smell of food cooking that made me order breakfast each day and that was the best value for money. On my first stay I had a hold up and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose our Motor Lodge for your accommodation requirements next time you are in Porirua Murray & Helen More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The people who run this place were incredibly rude to the point of hanging up on me when I tried to make a booking after telling me rooms were available. Don't bother contacting this hotel if you want a late arrival or are coming off the ferry. Normal practise for late arrival is to leave room open and take payment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your second review after the 1st one was removed from Trip Advisor because you violated their guidelines. As we have already explained our website states we do not accept guests checking into our complex after 9pm and you were coming off a late ferry and 9 times out of 10 the ferries are always later than the scheduled... More

Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the spa unit on ground floor. Unit was warm and very comfortable. Lady on reception was very pleasant. Good spaces for car parking. Nice and easy walk to shopping centre which is just accross the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely review - it is very much appreciated. Unfortunately we do not have any Spa Bath Suites on the top floor. Murray & Helen Mears More

Been to Amethyst Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Court Motor Lodge

Address: 5 Titahi Bay Road, Porirua 5022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amethyst Court Motel offers a very peaceful and quiet atmosphere. It is luxurious and spacious, having 26 studio suites, some with kitchens and spa baths, all having tea/coffee making faculties, microwaves. 1 bedroom with study & kitchen, 5 x 2 bedrooms with kitchens. Amethyst Court is ideally situated in the central business district of Porirua. Ideal stopover for ferry, with its easy access off the North/South Motorway. Complimentary broadband, breakfasts also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Amethyst Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.