We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amethyst Court Motor Lodge

4.5 of 5 5 Titahi Bay Road, Porirua 5022, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
12
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in Wellington on business and Amethyst Court motel was the perfect choice. I received a friendly welcome. The room was spacious, modern, CLEAN. I agree there is no view, but surely if you want a view you do your research. The bed was comfy, the bathroom excellent, and I couldn't fault it on anything. I even managed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely comments and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Would love to host you again in the not to near distant future. Murray & Helen More 

Immingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

was recommended this motel by another motel in the area because hubby and i wanted a spa bath that would fit 2 people the gentleman on the front desk here seemed very if not overly helpful and the lady just grinned like she hated everything about us but had to put on a brave face and carry on regardless, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to review our property and are saddened by the comments - when your checked in there was no mention of wanting a spa bath that would fit two persons.Also the price was quoted to you prior to your arrival. You were shown the room and you accepted it before check in. As it was late... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean,spacious and warm! The heaters had been turned on earlier which was a lovely touch! The breakfast was healthy and fresh. Looking forward to staying here again! The hosts are attentive and friendly and the personal touches are natural and so appreciated!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your wonderful review - it is very much appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again in the not to near distant future. Murray & Helen More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I needed a wheelchair access room asap, rang Murray who arranged one straight away for us no trouble at all. the room was perfect as always but it is Helen and Murray, who's exceptional customer service will keep us going back to stay. Thanks for everything, Harry and Pam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for choosing to stay at our Motor Lodge again - we really appreciate the lovely reviews. Getting a wondeful review like this one makes us want to keep going in the hospitality industry longer. It was our pleasure to host both of you again and look forward to seeing you again the not to near distant future. Murray &... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Possibly the best service I have received in a long time. Lovely rooms, clean , fresh and warm. The heaters were turned on to keep the room warm this is a home away from home,. Friendly service the owners went the extra mile

Was this review helpful? Yes
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely review - very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Motor Lodge and hope you will come and visit us again in the not to distant future. Murray & Helen More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Modern rooms that were immaculately clean with comfy beds. The heater was turned on and the room was warm when we arrived very late at night. No problems with road noise even though it is on a busy road. Exemplary service from the hosts and a warm Wellington welcome :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely review - very much appreciated. Would love to host you again if the need arises for accommodation in Porirua. Murray & Helen More 

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Chose this accommodation because of it's proximity to the CBD & as its situated on a busy road I was surprised how quiet it is. I stayed 5 nights here so enjoyed the comfortable chairs & wee table for relaxing. An agreeable bed to my taste, fresh bedspread & comfy pillows. Also a generous ration of towels & wash cloths.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

An exciting trip down from Auckland to the Sevens was slightly soured by the poor customer service this motor lodge provides. Ideally we would have preferred to stay closer to the city for the Sevens, but our late accommodation arrangements lead to this sour experience. As a professional with extensive travel experience overseas and locally, I have never encountered such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for you review - we know that you were a member of the group whom wrote the review Absolutely Rude Customer Service - we will not be adding any further comments. We are hardworking moteliers whom have had 9 years experience and were not going to let one room of 5 Unruly, loud, drunken guests upset the weekend for... More 

Papaioea, Aotearoa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We travelled down from Auckland for the Wellington Sevens. As soon as we arrived the owner was very rude and unwelcoming warning that she would call the cops if we were too loud or moved any of the furniture. After our arrival, as we were unpacking, she proceeded to call our bedroom several times to caution us once again, that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review - you have failed to mention that you booked for 3 persons only and did pay for an extra person after Murray investigated. We also know that there were not 4 persons staying but there were 5. This room is for 4 persons only and it is against our Fire Regulations to have any more persons... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

On arrival from a long drive toward Porirua, was Not given a warm welcome!!. Helen (manager/owner) was very rude and was more concerned with her hotel furnishings, than hospitality. She was more concerned about her lamps not being broken, due to past bookings from other people "this is not my concern" & that's why you have insurance. I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
court02, Owner at Amethyst Court Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I wonder why you have used this page to express this negative review when you have failed to read the terms and conditions of the Booking.com website. You booked this room on booking.com for two persons only and requested a downstairs suite - I emailed you and stated I could not provide you with one and you would be upstairs.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Amethyst Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Court Motor Lodge

Address: 5 Titahi Bay Road, Porirua 5022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amethyst Court Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amethyst Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay