We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
225 Pouewe Street, Kawhia 3889, New Zealand
Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    29
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
44
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Facilities correct and clean. Enough space and big tables in the kichen. They lend shovels if you want to try the great hot pools on Ocean Beach (10 minutes drive) ! No Free Unlimited Wifi (50Mo is ridiculous).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We found our stay over ANZAC weekend delightful. We had a camp site for our "pop-top" camper and found the premises beautifully clean and tidy with superb amenities supplied. We will be back just as soon as we can. Cannot recommend it highly enough. Lovely site beside the harbour and friendly hosts. A great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We needed a few days of getting away from it all, so decided on Kawhia, where we had never been before. Weather was not great, but we had an ocean view, and enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the bird life and kayaking. The studio unit was very comfortable, clean and tidy. There was a microwave available, but we made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you Joke for your very positive review. Bill and I appreciate the time our guests take to review their stay. Cheers Carolyn. More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We stayed here for three night in one of the waterfront motels, what a great spot to watch the tide come and go while having a wine. The owners are very friendly and are always around not like some of the bigger camp sites, nothing was too much trouble. The camp is ideally situated just a short walk into town.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for a 5/5 thumbs-up review. It is our aim to give our guests an enjoyable experience and trust that we will see some of them again. We hope to start on upgrading the cabins in the near future. Carolyn. More 

switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

This bayside campground offers a wide variety of different overnight options, from a simple tent site over a powered camper / motor home stand to different levels and choices of housing. All of them can, some must share the communal amenities like; kitchen, BBQ area, laundry facilities, showers & toilets and a different range of sporting equipment. I stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry I may not have advised you that any guests are welcome to use the large camp kitchen for cooking, where there is a full range of cooking options and plenty of utensils. Thank you for putting up some photos of the popular waterfront studios. Cheers, Carolyn. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We camped here for three nights over the long Waitangi weekend and had a great time with our two small kids (aged 5 and 3). The owners were lovely to deal with, the camp sites are a good size (easily accommodated our two tents), the kitchen facility is fully equipped and there are plenty of spaces to sit outside comfortably.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in submitting a great review. It was enjoyable having the Holiday Park full over Waitangi weekend and we hope everyone enjoyed the Kai Festival in town. Being situated where we are parking is not a problem, a short walk and you are in the middle of everything thats happening. Thanks again for your positive comments.... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We stayed here on a powered site in our motor home for two nights. It was a long weekend due to Anniversary Day in Auckland so the campground was full. We had a great time - our site was right by the water and it is such a peaceful place. The owners have not long taken over and it very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The waterfront sites are the best spot to be and booking ahead of time is the way to go, to make sure you are not disappointed. Thanks for reviewing us. Carolyn & Bill. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Just back from a 2 night stay here. 2 adults and 2 children. We stayed in one of the cabins in the old block, yes they are small with very old carpet, furnishings and curtains but the owners are relatively new (5 months) and from previous reviews are hoping to upgrade these as soon as they can. They were still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi, You have taken the time to give us a great review and we appreciate the thought you have put into it. We agree the cabins are old, in fact probably about 50 yrs, hence we do plan to make a start on the upgrade of the cabins this year when the holiday season is over. Thank you for making... More 

Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed here for two nights on a powered site with our caravan. It is a mix of newish and really old-school buildings. New owners are really lovely and helpful. Stunning outlook and you can swim right off the front lawn. Clean and quiet. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to do this. Cheers, Carolyn More 

Taihape, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park was the perfect location for our New year Trip this year. We booked out 4 cabins, 2 of them overlooked the water, and had a wonderful deck which we used everyday, for sightseeing, nibbles and evening drinks. We could not fault the Park in anyway, the owners were super friendly and were extremely helpful in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi, it is our pleasure to give our guests a happy stay at this lovely location. thank you for your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities