We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
225 Pouewe Street, Kawhia 3889, New Zealand
Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park
Rate this Hotel

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
40
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We camped here for three nights over the long Waitangi weekend and had a great time with our two small kids (aged 5 and 3). The owners were lovely to deal with, the camp sites are a good size (easily accommodated our two tents), the kitchen facility is fully equipped and there are plenty of spaces to sit outside comfortably.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in submitting a great review. It was enjoyable having the Holiday Park full over Waitangi weekend and we hope everyone enjoyed the Kai Festival in town. Being situated where we are parking is not a problem, a short walk and you are in the middle of everything thats happening. Thanks again for your positive comments.... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We stayed here on a powered site in our motor home for two nights. It was a long weekend due to Anniversary Day in Auckland so the campground was full. We had a great time - our site was right by the water and it is such a peaceful place. The owners have not long taken over and it very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The waterfront sites are the best spot to be and booking ahead of time is the way to go, to make sure you are not disappointed. Thanks for reviewing us. Carolyn & Bill. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Just back from a 2 night stay here. 2 adults and 2 children. We stayed in one of the cabins in the old block, yes they are small with very old carpet, furnishings and curtains but the owners are relatively new (5 months) and from previous reviews are hoping to upgrade these as soon as they can. They were still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi, You have taken the time to give us a great review and we appreciate the thought you have put into it. We agree the cabins are old, in fact probably about 50 yrs, hence we do plan to make a start on the upgrade of the cabins this year when the holiday season is over. Thank you for making... More 

Wellington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed here for two nights on a powered site with our caravan. It is a mix of newish and really old-school buildings. New owners are really lovely and helpful. Stunning outlook and you can swim right off the front lawn. Clean and quiet. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to do this. Cheers, Carolyn More 

Taihape, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park was the perfect location for our New year Trip this year. We booked out 4 cabins, 2 of them overlooked the water, and had a wonderful deck which we used everyday, for sightseeing, nibbles and evening drinks. We could not fault the Park in anyway, the owners were super friendly and were extremely helpful in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi, it is our pleasure to give our guests a happy stay at this lovely location. thank you for your review. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We stayed in the two bedroom unit with 3 children. It was really comfortable, lovely and clean and with great views out over the water (no tents blocking the view). Bill and Carolyn were extremely helpful, friendly and considerate. We hired a couple of kayaks and had a great time kayaking in the calm, shallow waters near the camp ground.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Yes, that motel unit is the pick of our 5 motels, for a family, being the roomiest, up off the ground with great views over the harbour and the grassed area out front for the family to enjoy. The deck is private and lovely to sit there in the evening. Thanks again for taking... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Bill and Carolyn were excellent hosts, made us feel very welcome. This park is an older style park that reminded me of the holiday parks I used to visit as a child. Very family friendly. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. Bill & I appreciate the time you have made to review our Holiday Park and your experience here. Thank you. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

This place was just what we needed, the awesome new owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome, even giving us coffee and tea, finding us a cabin to fit three teenagers and me at one days notice, stopping us from digging fruitlessly in the harbour for the hot water and kidly directing us to the right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

It is our pleasure to make you feel at home and give you a relaxing time while here. We were pleased to be able to point you in the right direction for the hot spings experience on Ocean Beach. It is certianly not to be missed. Everybody comes back rapt with the special time they had. More 

Taranaki
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Greg and I stayed for two nights and he worked while I was at a conference. The quiet is to die for and admittedly we were there well before the summer crowds are due to arrive but if you want somewhere deafeningly quiet to escape to, Kawhia Beachside would be a place to add to your list of options. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your wonderful review. It makes the effort put in all worthwhile. Plug in mosquito repellant devices will be in units tomorrow. Cheers Carolyn. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We came to Kawhia Beachside S/Cape Holiday Park in the low season during Winter, so were the only guests. The new owners though, just about made us feel like family! The rooms here are very simple, if not a touch shabby, but that didn't stop us enjoying our stay one bit. The communal living room and kitchen were well equipped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolynTA, Owner at Kawhia Beachside S-Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your great review. Yes, we are new owners and are working at upgrading our Holiday Park, situated on the shore of this beautiful harbour. Bill and I wholeheartedly agree with you that the cabins are in a shabby, but comfortable, state. We plan to start upgrading the whole cabin area next year as time and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (50)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question