We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast

High Street | Hildersham, Cambridge, Hildersham CB21 6BU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    8
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We stayed here for one night and it was great, our own little cottage with all the amenities, Bedroom en suite and a small living room with kettle, microwave and toaster, perfect for me and my husband. Helen the lady that owned the property was very friendly and helpful, there was plenty of tea, coffee, bread and cereal for breakfast,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Booked this last stop on our round Britain trip in January for our September visit ....Only to find on arrival all closed up !! No phone call to tell us ? We had to find alternative accommodation at last minute..Not easy as had to be dog friendly !! In end we stayed in Hertfordshire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so sorry about this. I don't know what happened other than to say there must have been a booking mishap - but I do sincerely apologise. We have had a complete refurbishment and are now under new management. This won't happen again. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

When I booked a night recently at The Pear Tree Inn, the site I used still wrongly called The Pear Tree an inn. But like others before me, we discovered it was not. To be fair to the owner, I knew this before we arrived as I had rung to confirm details and he informed me that the pub was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so sorry about this. We have refurbished and have taken on board what you say and have upped our efforts 1000% in order to re-establish our reputation. Sincere apologies again, but we are now under new management and are doing our best to make a stay at our B&B a pleasant experience. More 

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I very rarely write a poor review on Trip Advisor – mainly because most of the places we stay or eat at have come recommended on Trip Advisor. Here is the exception. When we booked the Pear Tree Inn, the past reviews of this place were very positive, being part of a pub with good ale, nice restaurant, cooked breakfast,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It is such a shame that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are now under new management and doing our best to re-establish our reputation by refurbishing and paying more attention to detail! It is indeed a shame that the B&B is no longer next to a pub, but it was completely beyond our control. But the Dog... More 

Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Could not agree more with the previous reviewer. We were under the impression it was still a pub so was very disappointed when we turned up. You get a bed but not really a breakfast. Previous reviewers said they had cooked breakfasts and we had a fridge in the room with some bread, milk, yogurts and old bananas. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We have newly moved into the Pear Tree in HIldersham and have refurbished and are doing our best to re-establish our good reputation. There is in fact free WIFI which is available everywhere in our B&B, but unfortunately, some mobile phones do not work in our area (as far as I know Orange and O2 are the best). We have... More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here before, and I then gave it a very positive review. This was when the place actually had a pub attached to it - a lovely little place with excellent food and traditional ales. It used to be the venue for a good breakfast too. Now (since early 2014) the pub has closed (causing much controversy in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

it is unfortunate that village pubs are not supported by locals to the extent they were "back in the day" and there are many B&Bs that are not attached to pubs so it isn't that strange for us to have a B&B. However, we are terribly sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have recently moved in (3... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

It is very difficult to find an agreable quiet good value for money B&B close to Cambridge and this delightful small pub, restaurant and small hotel is highly to be recommended. The accommodation is warm, quiet and comfortable. The beer is excellent and the food outstanding, original and good value for money. The village is a medieval treasure, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wrexham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We (three of us) stayed here when we visited Duxford Imperial War Museum. Being separate the main building was an advantage as you were private.The accommodation was very good and the owners were friendly, polite and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. Have no hesitation in recommending as very convenient for Duxford and Cambridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited for lunch today to find a scruffy message attached to the door saying shut due to cellar problems, no indication of when opening next. Curtains were half pulled and whole place looked a bit scruffy and run down Some indication of if/when they will be open would have been good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife & I stayed a night here after visiting Duxford Imperial War Museum. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really liked the space available in the cottage which was very comfortable. We had dinner in the pub which was very good. It was Quiz Night but we didn't stay for that. We found the staff very friendly and also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hildersham
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
4.2 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
4.5 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
White Hart Country Inn
White Hart Country Inn
#2 of 3 in Fulbourn
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#3 of 3 in Whittlesford
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Hinxton
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay