We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Hildersham B&Bs / inns

The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast

Save
You added The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
High Street | Hildersham, Cambridge, Hildersham CB21 6BU, England
Hotel amenities
The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hildersham B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hildersham
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Booked this last stop on our round Britain trip in January for our September visit ....Only to find on arrival all closed up !! No phone call to tell us ? We had to find alternative accommodation at last minute..Not easy as had to be dog friendly !! In end we stayed in Hertfordshire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so sorry about this. I don't know what happened other than to say there must have been a booking mishap - but I do sincerely apologise. We have had a complete refurbishment and are now under new management. This won't happen again. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

When I booked a night recently at The Pear Tree Inn, the site I used still wrongly called The Pear Tree an inn. But like others before me, we discovered it was not. To be fair to the owner, I knew this before we arrived as I had rung to confirm details and he informed me that the pub was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so sorry about this. We have refurbished and have taken on board what you say and have upped our efforts 1000% in order to re-establish our reputation. Sincere apologies again, but we are now under new management and are doing our best to make a stay at our B&B a pleasant experience. More

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I very rarely write a poor review on Trip Advisor – mainly because most of the places we stay or eat at have come recommended on Trip Advisor. Here is the exception. When we booked the Pear Tree Inn, the past reviews of this place were very positive, being part of a pub with good ale, nice restaurant, cooked breakfast,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It is such a shame that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are now under new management and doing our best to re-establish our reputation by refurbishing and paying more attention to detail! It is indeed a shame that the B&B is no longer next to a pub, but it was completely beyond our control. But the Dog... More

Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Could not agree more with the previous reviewer. We were under the impression it was still a pub so was very disappointed when we turned up. You get a bed but not really a breakfast. Previous reviewers said they had cooked breakfasts and we had a fridge in the room with some bread, milk, yogurts and old bananas. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We have newly moved into the Pear Tree in HIldersham and have refurbished and are doing our best to re-establish our good reputation. There is in fact free WIFI which is available everywhere in our B&B, but unfortunately, some mobile phones do not work in our area (as far as I know Orange and O2 are the best). We have... More

Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here before, and I then gave it a very positive review. This was when the place actually had a pub attached to it - a lovely little place with excellent food and traditional ales. It used to be the venue for a good breakfast too. Now (since early 2014) the pub has closed (causing much controversy in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

it is unfortunate that village pubs are not supported by locals to the extent they were "back in the day" and there are many B&Bs that are not attached to pubs so it isn't that strange for us to have a B&B. However, we are terribly sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have recently moved in (3... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

It is very difficult to find an agreable quiet good value for money B&B close to Cambridge and this delightful small pub, restaurant and small hotel is highly to be recommended. The accommodation is warm, quiet and comfortable. The beer is excellent and the food outstanding, original and good value for money. The village is a medieval treasure, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wrexham
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We (three of us) stayed here when we visited Duxford Imperial War Museum. Being separate the main building was an advantage as you were private.The accommodation was very good and the owners were friendly, polite and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. Have no hesitation in recommending as very convenient for Duxford and Cambridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
anu
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited for lunch today to find a scruffy message attached to the door saying shut due to cellar problems, no indication of when opening next. Curtains were half pulled and whole place looked a bit scruffy and run down Some indication of if/when they will be open would have been good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife & I stayed a night here after visiting Duxford Imperial War Museum. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really liked the space available in the cottage which was very comfortable. We had dinner in the pub which was very good. It was Quiz Night but we didn't stay for that. We found the staff very friendly and also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The new owners/lanlords of this quaint little Pub in Hildersham Village have done wonders in making your visit here very enjoyable. We are fairly local and this is just one of the many village pubs around Cambridge that we visit regularly for an evening meal. The food is very good and the atmosphere pleasant. Although I am not 100% for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast

Address: High Street | Hildersham, Cambridge, Hildersham CB21 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Hildersham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay