We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stop In Family Hotel

314 Ray Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5R3, Canada (Formerly Family Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Stop In Family Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very forgetful stay is the most I can say. The room was small and dark, and very dated, and this was also true of the bathroom, which looked in need of an upgrade some years ago. And the bed was unusually small, and had an odd smell. The hotel is fairly centrally located, but does not have a food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We reserved a room and told them we would be late. We were informed no worries you have a reservation. They took all of the credit card info and again confirmed that we were set when we arrived. I arrived about 230 am and was ready to sleep from a long drive. However when I went inside I told the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11

Travelers are raving about these Whitehorse hotels

Fraser Valley BC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

No rooms anywhere in town as Whitehorse was hosting a festival so this was the only place we could get Needs lots of tlc - dirty and old. CSI would have a field day with the ceiling stains. We were on the top floor, our neighbours returned to their rooms at 4.15 am very noisy so that was the end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Beaver Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are an aspiring field reporter or general adventure-seeking gadabout, the showers here will be good training for experiencing a hurricane. I'm surprised how many bad reviews here, maybe I was lucky. New bed, new TV, free parking/internet/cable, and a clean room. Whitehorse hotels are not fancy. I had a better experience here than at the Westmark or Canada's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We rented four rooms with my colleagues for work because the better hotels in town were all full. Customer service is below zero, their Internet service is extremely slow, and worst: no heating at all in the rooms. It is the 20th of September in Whitehorse and there is no heating!!. The rooms are very small and outdated. We asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Daljeet D, Owner at Stop In Family Hotel, responded to this review

There are several inaccuracies and extenuating circumstances not addressed in this review. On September 20th , there was a wind storm that resulted in a power and telecommunications outage in Whitehorse. The following link to a local newspaper article attests to that: http://www.whitehorsestar.com/archive/story/woes-began-with-a-toppled-tree-near-kulan/ Naturally, with power and telecommunications being out, this would impact heating systems and our internet service. These... More 

Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nothing is cheap in Whitehorse, but this older hotel, recommended to me at the local motorcycle emporium, was reasonably priced, clean, and had in the building a large laundromat, a hair salon, and an excellent Indian restaurant. The room was standard, neither fancy nor shabby. The Sikh family that operates the hotel were friendly and courteous, and made my one-night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I wanted to stay at the Best Western or Westmark or High Country, but they were all sold out. Every place in Whitehorse was sold old even the bed and breakfasts, this place had stained linens, stained towels and stained shower curtain. I woukd have rather slept in my truck.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Management response:

I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your satisfaction. If you had pointed out the stained linens, they would have been gladly and promptly replaced. However, if the guest does not point this out while staying at our premises, then how are we to rectify the issue? I assume you were happy just to be getting any... More 

Victoria BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here twice, once on the way north and again on the way home. It's an older motel and the hallways smell a bit dusty and musty but our room was fine.......everything was clean and comfortable. On our second stay, a man overcharged us on the room rate (unknown to us) but shortly after we reached our room the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Daljeet D, Owner at Stop In Family Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback you have provided. Our hotel strives to cater to budget travellers looking for less expensive yet clean and adequate rooms. Our room rates are on average $50 to $70 cheaper than similarly sized rooms at competing hotels. We think our repeat customers appreciate being able to spend that money on an extra tank of gas for... More 

Mountain Home ID
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This place is a dive plain and simple. We stayed here because it was the only room available (after calling 6 hotels) that allowed pets. It is true to its name, Family runned. It is adjacent to an Indian restraunt whose aromas wafted through the entire hotel. "oversize" parking was a lot behind the motel which I honestly was afraid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Daljeet D, Owner at Stop In Family Hotel, responded to this review

The staff and ownership at the Family Hotel regrets your negative experience. We have six older non-renovated rooms in the basement. Obviously, being in the basement, these rooms are less desirable than other rooms. We offer these rooms as pet rooms, as there are limited offerings in Whitehorse for pet owners. Most pet owners do not appear to mind having... More 

Inuvik, NT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Can you belive my kids would not stay here and my kids don't care where we stay, they only care where we are and what we are doing. We checked into the hotel, I though they were taking a pre-otherization like all other hotels, instead they took the payment from my credit card for the full stay. We then went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#7 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay