We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Whitehorse hotels

Canadas Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Wood Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E3, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Canadas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Canadas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
49%
Ranked #14 of 15 hotels in Whitehorse
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Weeked_Break87 London
  • Overview
  • Reviews (87)
  • Photos (31)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    20
    17
    14
See reviews for
20
25
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Conveniently located for a one night stop off in the centre of Whitehorse, the River View Inn is a large hotel where the interior very much matches the 1970s exterior. The welcome was cordial and the hotel served a function, but it is desperately in need of some investment. The rooms themselves are large and with coffee and tea facilities,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I hadn't read the reviews before booking a night here and am glad that's how it worked because we had a good stay here! We had a very peaceful night and awoke to a beautiful view of the Yukon River (I had requested a room with a view of the river). I was travelling with my 13 and 9 year... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A nice stop for those with pets. The staff was so accommodating and friendly. The room was clean but in August the fan didn't cool the room off enough. The location is right next to the river and park area which helped with the dogs. The staff recommended a great eatery "Klondike Rib & Salmon". This by far was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Suzi C, Thank you for stopping by our page on TripAdvisor! We are so glad that you and your other four legged friends had an enjoyable time at our hotel and also at the Klondike Rib and Salmon House! I hope when you are in Whitehorse that we will see each other again soon. Thank you for again for... More

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I visited this location during the second week of July on my work visit to the Yukon. First, I am a Federal Health Inspector, so I travel frequently and stay at many hotels throughout Alberta and the North of Canada. There isn't much I haven't seen. I was suppose to travel to Watson Lake, however that portion of my trip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your time to visit our TripAdvisor page. You shared a very thoughtful review and I appreciate the time you took to share with us your experience. First I would like to apologize for a poor impression that you had when checking into your room. We take very seriously the concerns that you identified, especially when it... More

Cincinnati
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here one night. Rooms were clean enough but well worn. Worse part is there is a bar next door frequented by First nation men who hang around out side who harass, threaten and call people names coming out of the hotel. Also about mid night four of these "friendly" people stood under my first floor window and had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to submit your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and that we did not do better to make you feel more secure parking your vehicle on our premises. We certainly should have done more to ensure you felt comfortable and I am sorry that was not done. I very... More

Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel was located right downtown close to restaurants and attractions which was a real plus. The price was very reasonable for the area. The room was clean but a bit dated as the carpeting was stained and the furniture very worn. The room had a small fridge and microwave. Check-in and checkout were flawless and the desk clerks very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! I also appreciate your feedback as to how we can improve, that is also helpful. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. More

Terrace, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Improper advertising on their website - surcharge fee for the airport shuttle which they did not mention. Staff extremely rude when I voiced my displeasure at this. She also did not rebook my shuttle for the next morning as requested nearly causing me to miss my flight. Was told I was getting a river/mountain view - had a view of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear about your negative experience. The issues that you identified are concerning and I would like to hear more details if possible. I would appreciate if you could please contact me directly at Toll Free: 1-866-949-7800 Ext 238 to further discuss your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and I am sincerely sorry for... More

Fort St. James, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I booked a room at the Canada's Best Value Inn-Riverview Hotel without reading the reviews. After I read them, I was concerned to say the least. Upon arrival the people hanging out in the parking lot made me nervous. Once inside, my impression didn't improve. The building was tired and dingy and smelled musty. The guy at the desk gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry for the experience that you had when you asked to see a room. I had reviewed the incident and concluded that our staff gave you a key to look at a room that had not been released as available - I apologize again for the... More

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The folks at the front desk were friendly, and the price (comparatively) was what I could manage, but that's about all that worked for me. This place smelled horrible, nauseating really. The no smoking rooms were just less stinky than the rest of the place. Between my first load of taking stuff to my room and my second, a small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate the time that you have taken to help us improve. I am disappointed to hear about your negative experience and apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. We have taken steps to enhance our security both in and outside the building and we always look for opportunities to improve... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I asked for a non smoking room and got it but the rest of the hotel was smoked in so I got a headache from the smoke. The doors are just thin bedroom doors and there are drunks wondering the hallways. There was a big red stain on the carpet between the beds...I don't want to know what it was.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hi Cherie, Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns with us. What you identified was unacceptable and I sincerely apologize for our inadequacy. Your comments will undoubtedly help us improve and provide a better experience for future guests. I would appreciate an opportunity to discuss this further directly with you if possible, please contact me at 867-667-7801... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Canadas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Address: 102 Wood Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Whitehorse
Americas Best Value Inns Whitehorse
Canadas Best Value Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Whitehorse with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the heart of Whitehorse, Yukon, the Canadas Best Value Inn is a 2-story hotel that offers 53 spacious guest rooms with either a mountain or river view. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
53

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Canadas Best Value Inn and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Canadas Best Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer