We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Whitehorse hotels

Canadas Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Wood Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E3, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Canadas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Canadas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
51%
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Whitehorse
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014
Alaska_Bulldawg Wasilla, Alaska
  • Overview
  • Reviews (84)
  • Photos (31)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    18
    16
    14
See reviews for
19
25
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited this location during the second week of July on my work visit to the Yukon. First, I am a Federal Health Inspector, so I travel frequently and stay at many hotels throughout Alberta and the North of Canada. There isn't much I haven't seen. I was suppose to travel to Watson Lake, however that portion of my trip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your time to visit our TripAdvisor page. You shared a very thoughtful review and I appreciate the time you took to share with us your experience. First I would like to apologize for a poor impression that you had when checking into your room. We take very seriously the concerns that you identified, especially when it... More

Cincinnati
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here one night. Rooms were clean enough but well worn. Worse part is there is a bar next door frequented by First nation men who hang around out side who harass, threaten and call people names coming out of the hotel. Also about mid night four of these "friendly" people stood under my first floor window and had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to submit your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and that we did not do better to make you feel more secure parking your vehicle on our premises. We certainly should have done more to ensure you felt comfortable and I am sorry that was not done. I very... More

Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel was located right downtown close to restaurants and attractions which was a real plus. The price was very reasonable for the area. The room was clean but a bit dated as the carpeting was stained and the furniture very worn. The room had a small fridge and microwave. Check-in and checkout were flawless and the desk clerks very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! I also appreciate your feedback as to how we can improve, that is also helpful. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. More

Terrace, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Improper advertising on their website - surcharge fee for the airport shuttle which they did not mention. Staff extremely rude when I voiced my displeasure at this. She also did not rebook my shuttle for the next morning as requested nearly causing me to miss my flight. Was told I was getting a river/mountain view - had a view of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear about your negative experience. The issues that you identified are concerning and I would like to hear more details if possible. I would appreciate if you could please contact me directly at Toll Free: 1-866-949-7800 Ext 238 to further discuss your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and I am sincerely sorry for... More

Fort St. James, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I booked a room at the Canada's Best Value Inn-Riverview Hotel without reading the reviews. After I read them, I was concerned to say the least. Upon arrival the people hanging out in the parking lot made me nervous. Once inside, my impression didn't improve. The building was tired and dingy and smelled musty. The guy at the desk gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry for the experience that you had when you asked to see a room. I had reviewed the incident and concluded that our staff gave you a key to look at a room that had not been released as available - I apologize again for the... More

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The folks at the front desk were friendly, and the price (comparatively) was what I could manage, but that's about all that worked for me. This place smelled horrible, nauseating really. The no smoking rooms were just less stinky than the rest of the place. Between my first load of taking stuff to my room and my second, a small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate the time that you have taken to help us improve. I am disappointed to hear about your negative experience and apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. We have taken steps to enhance our security both in and outside the building and we always look for opportunities to improve... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I asked for a non smoking room and got it but the rest of the hotel was smoked in so I got a headache from the smoke. The doors are just thin bedroom doors and there are drunks wondering the hallways. There was a big red stain on the carpet between the beds...I don't want to know what it was.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hi Cherie, Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns with us. What you identified was unacceptable and I sincerely apologize for our inadequacy. Your comments will undoubtedly help us improve and provide a better experience for future guests. I would appreciate an opportunity to discuss this further directly with you if possible, please contact me at 867-667-7801... More

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was lucky to get a room at all but when I rolled into the parking lot I wasn't so sure I wanted to stay here at all. At first impression I sure didn't want to leave my rent-a-rocket SUV in the parking lot over night but the town was booked solid due to two conventions in town. Upon entering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hi Larry, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay with us this summer. We are so happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and will be back again to visit us next time you are in Whitehorse. We appreciate the level of thought you put into writing your review... More

Juneau, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a very tired hotel that needs quite a bit of maintenance.The sheets and towels looked clean, but the bedspread was heavily worn. My room was looking directly into power lines and the business next door - I did not have a river view. The floors and plumbing creaked, and the walls are thin . . .so ear plugs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The staff was very helpful and recommended places to eat breakfast in spite of their remodeling. A very enjoyable place to stay. They even went to get my batteries to my camera that I had left in the room by accident when I checked out.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hi Erwin, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for visiting us. We look forward to having you again soon! Kaitlyn More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Canadas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Address: 102 Wood Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Whitehorse
Americas Best Value Inns Whitehorse
Canadas Best Value Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the heart of Whitehorse, Yukon, the Canadas Best Value Inn is a 2-story hotel that offers 53 spacious guest rooms with either a mountain or river view. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
53

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer