We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canadas Best Value Inn

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
102 Wood Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E3, Canada
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Canadas Best Value Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    30
    24
    21
    23
See reviews for
22
32
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I previously didn't read TripAdvisor and have never left a review before but after my stay at "Canada's best value inn" i have decided to help out unknowning holiday goers like myself from ruining  their experience of the beautiful Yukon like ours was! I have stayed in many counties ... some 3rd world in Indonesia, iv been to the UK,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glendive, Montana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Choose this hotel randomly from the list at the visitor's center. The price was right, very economical and it was conveniently located downtown. If you book late in the day, the room rate is considerably less than the advertised (online) price. We were able to walk around downtown Whitehorse and enjoy the river walk. The hotel staff was very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hope
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there Tuesday August 4, 2015 for one night. Friendly staff, good location and good price. Dated,old hotel with youth hostel character. Interesting fellow travellers from all-over, outdoor oriented. Good, solid food. Drawback : No air conditioning on a very hot day. Towels and bedding clean, but thread-bare with some peek-through holes. Dietger F.H. Hollmann

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel only had two good things going for it. One was the fact the gr8ful spud was in the hotel and the other being the price. $80 a night for a dirty room with holes in the blankets from cuts and cigarette burns. The wifi didn't work in the rooms to I used it to contact my friends and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paul S, Thank you for taking the time to visit our page and for sharing your comments. I am very sorry to hear about your experience and I will be reviewing your feedback with our staff as an opportunity to further our training and improve our service. I also appreciate your feedback regarding the quality of the room. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Whitehorse hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is not a four star hotel or anything but it's a place to put your head. Ya the rooms at a tad bit out dated, for example faded blankets but I did notice newer furniture and a new flat screen tv. The bathrooms also seemed a bit updated. Newer cocking around the bathroom. You could hear drunk people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ruthann W, First and foremost thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on our TripAdvisor Page. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel to be a good value and I appreciate your comments about some of our updates that we have completed in our rooms. I am sorry to hear about... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Booked in for 4 days for a high school reunion. Night staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Overall the hotel is dated. Bathrooms were quite dirty, not new dirt but dirt build up over time. Beds were comfortable but no air conditioning in the rooms. Restaurant had good food and service. Location is close to everything downtown including next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jsob1949, Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us! I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be accommodating during your visit. I am also glad that you enjoyed the food and service of the restaurant located on site. Thank you for sharing those positive remarks. I... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

we are here now. I'm disappointed with the condition of our room. The sheets are old,pillows are old,bedspreads are completely faded out and old,towels have stains on them,shower curtains dirty,marks on the door of bathroom. I'm sure the ladies that clea the rooms do the best they can with what they have to work with. It's not their fault. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hello Ldeesc, Thank you very much for the time you took to share your feedback with us. I am very sorry to hear about your experience and I am disappointed that we were not able to resolve your concerns while you were staying with us. Your suggestions are very valuable to us and I thank you for giving us a... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

My wife and I recently stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is somewhat dated but it was clean and the staff were friendly and accomodating.The price is right,it is in a very convenient location within walking distance to major attractions in town. We ate breakfast at the onsite restsurant and food was delicious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015 via mobile

Chose this hotel because there was poor availability in town. It was the fifth hotel tried. 4 of us stayed for biz and 3 out of 4 asked to be moved to different rooms within an hour or so because things were broken. 3 tvs didn't work at all and the 4th worked poorly. Bedding was old and worn. One... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very disappointed to hear of the numerous difficulties you encountered during your stay with us and I am truly sorry for your unsatisfactory stay. I would very much appreciate an opportunity to further discuss your experience if possible. Please contact me toll free at 1-866-949-7800. Thank you again... More 

Hope, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Good location if you need to be closed to the Mcbride Museum,shopping and Yukon River.Hotel is just 2 blocks away from Main Street.Rooms are great and have everything. I felt comfortable because I could park my motor bike in underground parking.Staffs are so wonderful and hotel restaurant has excellent foods. Definitely would book again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotel09, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to have an opportunity to have you stay with us again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#6 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yukon Inn
Yukon Inn
#8 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay