We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SKKY Hotel

Hotel website
91622 Alaska Highway, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
SKKY Hotel
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    100
    33
    14
    5
See reviews for
49
72
28
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (245)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
There are newer reviews for SKKY Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were rerouted on our vacation to Skagway due to road closure and mudslides. We didn't know the area and needed a place to sleep well. We stopped into this hotel and stayed for 2 nights while figuring our route to Denali. It was clean, coffee in room, small fridge, heat and ac worked well, modern shower and room. Optional... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim J: Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. You are the first guest to comment on our free gymn option available to all our guests at Whitehorse's premier fitness facility. This is exclusive to Skky Hotel guests only and we are very happy to be able to offer such. We thank you for staying with... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Comfortable beds and dark blinds helped get a good night's sleep even under the midnight sun. Mini fridge and nice granite shower were all we needed for our short stay. Located very conveniently across the road from the airport. Overall, price of the room is much more than you would pay in other cities but it is not overpriced by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and recommend us as the place to stay in Whitehorse. We are a new and modern small boutique hotel, unique to Whitehorse, and take great pleasure in ensuring our guests have the most comfortable and pleasant stay possible,... More 

Dawson, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was amazed because the price of the room would indicate that you would have all the amenities. Not so. The king size bed saved the day as my husband has a very sore back and the bed was so comfortable we stayed anyway. At $180 a night you expect to have a full bathroom with a tub not just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that the beds were to your liking and, in fact, many of our guests comment on what a wonderful sleep they get in our beds. We are sorry you were disappointed by the lack of a bath tub in your room. We chose to have rain showers over bath tubs,... More 

Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel was absolutely perfect in all aspects. From the time I spoke with the front desk upon check in to talking with them at check out, my experience was great with this hotel. The room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was very nice; it was clean and the shower was one of the best in my life.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is very much appreciated when guests take the time to write a review and especially when they have enjoyed their stay with us. We thank you very much and hope we can welcome you again soon. God bless and safe travels. More 

British Columbia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

You really could walk to this hotel from the airport and we did have a good night's sleep despite highway and airport adjacent. Rooms have been upgraded and so while there are a few signs of the former older hotel, the feel is fairly European. Spare but elegant. On my "could be better if" list I'll put three things: 1)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Yes it is less than a five minute walk from the airport terminal to our hotel and a five to seven minute taxi ride from the hotel to downtown Whitehorse. This is something our guests find very convenient, especially those coming in the spring/summer when the weather is lovely. There... More 

Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is my second time staying here. The first was several years ago (didn't leave a review then), and when I was planning the same trip I decided to stay again. Driving up to the hotel was a surprise--it was a lot more shabby than I remembered and I was rather hesitant about whether it was somewhere I actually wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a second time and taking the time to post your comments. It is true, many guests are very pleasantly surprised when they enter our hotel. Unfortunately, the land in front of the hotel includes the Alaska Highway which does not belong to us, and thus this impedes us from giving the... More 

Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our company booked this recommend hotel for our first stay back in January. At that time we also booked for May. In January the front desk booked the wrong dates (which we caught) and the restaurant which we were told was on site was closed. This is very inconvenient after working all day and then thinking you can go back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your experiences and have investigated the issue. According to my front desk agents, your recent reservation was cancelled some time ago and that is the reason the room was not available for your company on the night in question. In any event, it is unfortunate there was a mix up and to ensure this... More 

Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Skky hotel is located right across from the airport. The outside of the hotel is very plain, although they have planted a few trees close to the building, otherwise it is pretty non-descript. Once you walk in the front door everything changes. It is very modern and clean. There is no elevator so we chose to stay on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The rooms are very comfortable and pleasant. The bathroom has a nice rainfall shower head; the beds and linens are comfortable; and the windows have very effective heavy curtains, which is important when the Sun is up until midnight! I ate at the restaurant for dinner twice, and the selection, food, and prices were great. This hotel is right at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dawson Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed at many hotels in Whitehorse. This, by far, is the best hotel. There are other small resorts on the outskirts of town that are great but for an in town hotel, here is where to stay. Now people...if you've never been to Whitehorse, you'll quickly find that there are hotels but they are largely outdated inside and with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question