We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Senator Saskatoon

243 21st Street East | Downtown Saskatoon, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 0B7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    27
    11
    16
See reviews for
8
23
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Location: PERFECT --- as soon as I arrived I knew I made the right choice. It's at the center of Saskatoon's downtown (don't get your hopes up); there is a restaurant AND a bar on the premises (the bar was a busy Irish Pub with a great atmosphere).The lobby is indeed boutique/esque - reminded me of a place I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Senator. I had maintainance go up and check on the tap issue and I apologize for that. As for cleanliness, we are extemely picky about it, and will be checking into that as well if it wasn't up to yours or our standards. We are always working to improve... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Everything Peter reviewed below is correct. Nice Hotel... horrible internet. Let me also add that the "business center" is equally horrible. The screen is nice and big... except, no reliable/stable internet, no Word or Excel, no Adobe.. and with horrible internet, there is really no way to correct the problem. The IT guy, or some guy that posed as an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for staying with us at the hotel senator. We have invested heavily in getting high end wifi in the hotel but are currently having router placement issues. By the end of next week, (March 20th) we will be having in room routers for wifi signals for every room to alleviate this issue. As well, we have... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is in a great spot. Winston's is a great bar. Rooms are ok. They still use keys so it is quaint. The staff is sometimes responsive and other times not so much. My issue is the internet. It is horrible. I am not kidding!! I could barely respond to emails. It kicks you off every 30sec and takes several... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for staying with us at the hotel senator. We have invested heavily in getting high end wifi in the hotel but are currently having router placement issues. By the end of next week, (March 20th) we will be having in room routers for wifi signals for every room to alleviate this issue. As well, we have... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Stayed at Hotel Senator in Saskatoon in early February 2015. It definitely has great architecture and it is located in downtown Saskatoon. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was well maintained. Really no complaints. Room rate was substantially less than surrounding hotels. There is a restaurant inside the hotel and another pub type restaurant attached to the hotel. All in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review and we appreciate your business at the hotel senator. Safe travels in the future! Chris Beavis Owner More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I have been staying in this hotel because of its central location. It was actually my first time to see that rude receptionist at the front desk. She is Irene and she is not approachable, does not even smile and does not know how to make friendly compromises with customers. Were it not for its good location and lazy to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hssaskatoon, Manager at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and we really appreciate it! We have had a tough month at the hotel with two deaths of employees close family that have affected moods to a certain extent and I apologize for that. We are working through it, as this shouldn't be apparent to guests, but unfortunately we are only human. Once again, I... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

My friend and I needed to be in town for an overnight stay and business the next day. The Hotel Senator offers old world charm. The room was cozy, comfortable and we wished we could have stayed a bit longer to truly experience what the "place" had to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we appreciate your stay at the Hotel Senator! We are always looking to improve, and provide a better experience for our guests at the hotel, and have exciting things ahead in 2015! Safe travels! Chris Beavis Owner More 

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights last week while is Saskatoon and it was not good whatsoever. Informed the hotel I would not be arriving until 2am which was no problem. Arrived to find that I was going to be charged a $300 security deposit on top of my room charge. Despite paying for the room upon arrival the quite rude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. I think its pretty standard for hotels in this day and age, to put a hold on a credit card in advance to cover room damages that may occur. We don't put through room charges until the end of our guests stay, so the damage pre-auth is to cover... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location, style and architecture. The entrance was beautiful. And then...we made our way to the elevator. Not good. So old, stale smoke smelly and slow. We get off the elevator to a dingy dark hallway with the worst dollar store carpet deodorizer smell. Then to our room. Open the door and there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory, and it sounds like you would be happier in another hotel anyways. As a response you your review: We provide free parking in a well lit courtyard parking lot where other hotels charge up to $30 a day. -We light up the alley way as well, it is not dark.... More 

North Battleford, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

I usually stay at another hotel that I get excellent service at unfortunately due to many conferences in Saskatoon at the time, I had to choose elsewhere. My father recently had a very big surgery and of course in preparation for this I reserved a room by telephone reservation for my mother and myself- The telephone reservation charged my credit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Im sorry to hear about the misunderstanding about your hotel reservation. I think I was the one helping the front desk and you were extremely upset and swearing at the front desk personal. I can't put up with that and you were warned. We do charge a security deposit, as room charges are put on the end of the stay,... More 

Kindersley, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I have known of this hotel for 40 years, but only the bar (which I would recommend to any beer drinker - the beer list is the best in the city.) We found the hotel comfortable. It was quiet when we wanted to sleep. The room was small, and the bathroom wasn't the greatest, but we needed a place for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate you business! Hope to see you again and safe travels in the future! Chris Beavis Owner More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question