We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Senator Saskatoon

3.5 of 5 243 21st Street East | Downtown Saskatoon, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 0B7, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    26
    9
    16
See reviews for
8
23
28
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been staying in this hotel because of its central location. It was actually my first time to see that rude receptionist at the front desk. She is Irene and she is not approachable, does not even smile and does not know how to make friendly compromises with customers. Were it not for its good location and lazy to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Manager at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and we really appreciate it! We have had a tough month at the hotel with two deaths of employees close family that have affected moods to a certain extent and I apologize for that. We are working through it, as this shouldn't be apparent to guests, but unfortunately we are only human. Once again, I... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I needed to be in town for an overnight stay and business the next day. The Hotel Senator offers old world charm. The room was cozy, comfortable and we wished we could have stayed a bit longer to truly experience what the "place" had to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we appreciate your stay at the Hotel Senator! We are always looking to improve, and provide a better experience for our guests at the hotel, and have exciting things ahead in 2015! Safe travels! Chris Beavis Owner More 

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights last week while is Saskatoon and it was not good whatsoever. Informed the hotel I would not be arriving until 2am which was no problem. Arrived to find that I was going to be charged a $300 security deposit on top of my room charge. Despite paying for the room upon arrival the quite rude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. I think its pretty standard for hotels in this day and age, to put a hold on a credit card in advance to cover room damages that may occur. We don't put through room charges until the end of our guests stay, so the damage pre-auth is to cover... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because of the location, style and architecture. The entrance was beautiful. And then...we made our way to the elevator. Not good. So old, stale smoke smelly and slow. We get off the elevator to a dingy dark hallway with the worst dollar store carpet deodorizer smell. Then to our room. Open the door and there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory, and it sounds like you would be happier in another hotel anyways. As a response you your review: We provide free parking in a well lit courtyard parking lot where other hotels charge up to $30 a day. -We light up the alley way as well, it is not dark.... More 

North Battleford, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I usually stay at another hotel that I get excellent service at unfortunately due to many conferences in Saskatoon at the time, I had to choose elsewhere. My father recently had a very big surgery and of course in preparation for this I reserved a room by telephone reservation for my mother and myself- The telephone reservation charged my credit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Im sorry to hear about the misunderstanding about your hotel reservation. I think I was the one helping the front desk and you were extremely upset and swearing at the front desk personal. I can't put up with that and you were warned. We do charge a security deposit, as room charges are put on the end of the stay,... More 

Kindersley, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I have known of this hotel for 40 years, but only the bar (which I would recommend to any beer drinker - the beer list is the best in the city.) We found the hotel comfortable. It was quiet when we wanted to sleep. The room was small, and the bathroom wasn't the greatest, but we needed a place for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate you business! Hope to see you again and safe travels in the future! Chris Beavis Owner More 

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My cousins and I travelled to Saskatoon to visit our grandparents. Ages ranged from 19-27. There were about 8 of us staying in two rooms. We used the room pretty much for just sleeping and resting in. Overall, the room was good for what we need - a place to sleep. I would not recommend staying here if you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for you business we appreciate it as well as your review. We are always upgrading and bathrooms are continually being upgraded as well. Parking is free, and we need the keys to move cars as one side is double parking. We have limited parking and need to do this to provide as much free parking for guests as... More 

Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Excellant accommodation in downtown Saskatoon. Very clean and extremely pet friendly. The price was right too. Would not hesitate to stay again.If you bring your pet, there are great walking trails a short 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and review and we appreciate your business! We strive to have a clean, comfortable and friendly stay and a great price at the Hotel Senator. Cheers and safe travels! Chris Beavis Owner More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

My wife, niece and I spent a Saturday night at the Hotel Senator. I booked this hotel because of the funky décor and old school feel. The Good: Hotel Décor: The hotel is definitely old school and a piece of history. The place has a feel of the 1920s and has a great vibe. The entrance and stairways are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and we appreciate your business! We are looking to try and work on patron out front and are replacing windows to mitigate some noise that may affect ppl on some nights as well as with police to help ppl move along. In house, please call the desk and we can help if some other guests... More 

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Very similar to a previous reviewer I had reserved a room with a company card for a business trip online expecting that they would charge that card for my stay as my personal card is not equipped to cover the costs of the room. They were not able to use my company card to pay for the room as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

I myself have booked a number of rooms with my corporate card for employees and always have to fax a copy of card to and authorize form to hotels. This is our policy, as every hotel requires card to be with card owner for fraud purposes as we can be denied payment otherwise. I hope you understand and see why... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Senator Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Senator Saskatoon

Address: 243 21st Street East | Downtown Saskatoon, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 0B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Senator Saskatoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Senator Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Saskatoon
Hotel Senator Saskatoon Saskatchewan

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay