We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Champlain Hotel

3.5 of 5 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Le Champlain Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Le Champlain Hotel
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    273
    72
    14
    10
See reviews for
161
495
41
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (891)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (339)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (248)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
miami, fl
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here just before Christmas as we wanted a winter vacation spot with some charm. Vieux Quebec did not disappoint and neither did the Hotel Champlain. Very nice accommodations and the 24 hour hot chocolate/expresso were the high points. I cannot begin to tell you how welcome that hot chocolate was after a cold visit around the Old City.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in a lovely, romantic suit for a few days at this hotel which is located walking distance from the skating rink, Chateau Frontenac as well as a great many restaurants and stores (you must try Le Pain Beni, a great restaurant located a few blocks east of the hotel!). We didn't even need to take the car for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really don't understand these 4 or 5 star reviews, something is really not making sense because the hotel staff is way unfriendly than the people at mcdonalds down the street. Not accommodating at all. Please avoid this hotel at all costs and especially if you book through 3rd party like expedia,hotwire or hotels.com because they give you subpar service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

-Stayed here for a conference at the Quebec City Convention Centre. -Pros- this hotel was conveient to walk to the convention centre or many parts of Old Quebec; 24 hour hot chocolate/tea/espresso; GREAT breakfast; decent bed. -Cons- leaky shower with uncomfortably high water pressure; variable front desk customer service; only one iron/ironing board for entire floor; no safe in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDore, Directeur général at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Versa5555 I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us. As you had mentioned in your comment, the hotel is well situated, in the heart of the Old Quebec, 10 minutes walking distance... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The worst hotel ever. It was -36 outside and floor was freezing.. Heating wasn't on before we checked in. It took 2 hours for room to get warm. When asked for carpeted room they lied they dont have any. Payed $20 extra for breakfast which only had 3 to 4 things in it. The lady at reception needs to learn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MichelleDore, Owner at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Meethiama You recently wrote a comment on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to read that your stay in a Quebec hotel did not meet your expectations. Your last comment that you had to pay for breakfast is clear indication that you are talking of another hotel. Breakfast is free for ALL our guest at the Champlain and this has... More 

Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We initially chose this hotel due to its centralized location to everything we wanted to see inside the walls of Quebec City. What we soon found out on arrival was not only the location perfect, but the women at the front desk were the most helpful and polite people ever. The restaurants and bars near the hotel were top notch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDore, Directeur général at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex C I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay and I will pass the good words to my front desk colleague with pleasure. We look forward to your next visit in Quebec city!... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 3 nights in a room with 2 queen beds. Room was a good size very comfortable fireplace nice touch. Shower had great water pressure and nice hot water. Within walking distance of everything. Even though parking was extra and lot was small it was worth it. Breakfast was just ok but it was nice to be able to grab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDore, Directeur général at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kristen M I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay and we look forward to your next visit. Warmest regards, Jean-Luc Fluet General Manager More 

New England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose the Champlain because of its convenient location within the old city walls...because it offered variety of room types for our diverse group...because it served a good breakfast & it had off-Street Parking. Given that all of those items were delivered with perfection...makes this property a winner. Staff was very accommodating, and friendly, even during the busy holiday season,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDore, Directeur général at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sandmantv, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay and we look forward to your next visit. Warmest regards, Jean-Luc Fluet General Manager More 

Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great experience with the staff. Enjoyed the breakfast, and the free coffee 24/7. Enjoyed our Deluxe King Room and will stay again. Friendly staff, and bi-lingual. Short walk from a lot of great eateries!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDore, Directeur général at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AETJr88, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay and we look forward to your next visit. Warmest regards, Jean-Luc Fluet General Manager More 

Detroit, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Literally a short walk from many locations in upper and lower town Quebec, we couldn't be happier with this hotel. Charming, quiet, and subdued; we got a junior suite, mostly for the hot tub. Best way to soothe cold aching muscles after walking around all day in subzero temperatures. The bathroom sink is beautiful, but the waterfall faucet is splashy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Champlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City

527 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (248)
Viewed
Room/suite (84)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (70)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (248)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite with Jacuzzi (37)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Suite (46)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay