We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Royal William

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal William
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Royal William
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    78
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
44
85
12
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Fenelon Falls Ontario
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled by train to Quebec City. Required a hotel within walking distance of train station. Found an Ascend Brand within 15 minutes walking. Very impressed with the lobby. They found my reservation very quickly. Checked me in and off to the room. The room was very clean and nicely laid out. View out the window is of an alley. Then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review

First, I would like to thank you for your great review! It's an absolute pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It is much appreciated to know that the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms were up to your expectations. I hope to see you again during your next stay in Quebec city ! Best regards, More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

It's a simple place - the rooms are very large and spacious. The hotel offer credit at nearby restaurant for breakfast and it's actually a great place to splurge on an awesome breakfast or brunch. There is an annoying fee for parking with the hotel but if it's the winter - it's worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review

First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments, it's really appreciated ! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us ! We hope to welcome you again ! Best regards, More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We booked this hotel on priceline for a great deal. Overall it was a great experience. The hotel was clean and the room was spacious although the decor was dated. The staff was very friendly, helpful and spoke English well. The continental breakfast included in the stay was actually a $7 credit towards breakfast at the attached restaurant which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your great review ! We hope to see you again in your next visit in Quebec city ! Best regards, More 

Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I stayed here a few years ago because of the discount I get through Choice Hotels which it is affiliated with. The room looks the exact same as it did before, which was very clean but slightly dated. The old city is about 15 minutes walking, which was okay for us. A cab was about $7. I don't find there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed there on New Year's Eve and since most rooms in the Old Quebec were either expensive or sold out, we chose this hotel, and it was a very good choice. The room was quite big, and it was very comfortable. It is not far from the Faubourg (there is a free elevator that takes you up the hill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review

First, I would like to thank you for your great review. It's such a pleasure to read that you appreciated our rooms and location. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Quebec city ! Best regards, More 

Steyning, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

I booked this hotel for two nights on Priceline, so got a good deal for a 4-star. The room had a funny smell (like mouldy carpet) and the bed turned out to be very soft and uncomfortable and a "small" double. Pillows and comforter had that cheap feel. We complained and I found the staff defensive saying they change the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. The feedback that you have shared with us about the problems that you experienced has been made available to management for... More 

Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My wife and I went to Quebec a few days before New Years for vacation. The hotel was booked through another website, where I wouldn't know what it would be until I paid for it. I spent some time reading Tripadvisor recommendations and came prepared. The woman at the front desk wasn't terribly helpful upon check-in. Not a good vibe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give your review. Comments from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.It is great that you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit ! The feedback that you have shared with us about... More 

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We selected this hotel based on a previous stay I had there, about 8 years ago. My memory from that previous stay was that the room was just like the pictures on the website: modern. When we got to the hotel (at 2:30 PM), we were told that the room was not ready yet and that check-in is only at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We visited Québec city, on October 18th, 2014. We did not want to pay a fortune for a room. Ours was room 209, near the ice machine. It was huge and comfortable and clean. For the price we paid +/- $160, it was great and continental breakfast was included. If you wished to order something else from the menu, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review

Thank you for taking few minutes for writing a great review about our hotel ! It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay ! We look forward to welcome you again during your next stay in Quebec city ! Best regards, More 

San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

A bus can be taken from the train station to Royal William Hotel. It is also possible to walk but is several blocks away. A cab costs about $9. You can cross the street and turn right at Starbucks and walk up the hill and take the elevator to upper Quebec. Go several blocks and turn left at rue st... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sophie S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your time and your great review ! It's such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our rooms and our staff. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again ! Best regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question