We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Universel Quebec

3.0 of 5 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Universel Quebec
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Universel Quebec
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    52
    22
    24
See reviews for
58
47
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Magog, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing amazing about this hotel but clean. Well located, area is fine, not too far from the action in Quebec. Very nice pool and spa inside the hotel. We had a superior room with spa in the room, well decorated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value our customers’ opinions, since it helps us improve ourselves. First of all, many of our guests enjoy the pool and spa in our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed it as well. Furthermore, it is true that we are well located, since we are steps away from... More 

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

First off, let me say that I slept well all four nights. I had a room close to the elevator, which was no problem. And It is so convenient to Universite´ Laval. And the bus lines. But it is an older hotel, completely lacking in charm or modern updates. I wouldn't have wanted to spend any time in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your opinion is important to us, since it helps us improve our services. First, we are glad you liked many aspects of our hotel. It is true that we are conveniently located right next to Laval University and many bus lines. On the other hand, it is also true that... More 

toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

stayed there oct 29-31, 2014... good things about the hotel universel: - staff were great, very helpful - quick to get a taxi - one elevator but darn it worked fast - no waiting - lots of fast food nearby (the weird pyramid has lots to choose from, including a metro to buy beer/wine)...timmies just down the street - if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comment. We like to read our customers’ feedback, because it helps us improve ourselves. First of all, it is true that we are close to Laval University and many restaurants. As you mentioned, it is the perfect location if you have business in the area. For your comment about the taxi ride to downtown Quebec... More 

Darlington, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

we stayed here whilst on a tour, ironing board broken, which maybe i should have mentioned, but surely staff should check now and then? everything needs updating. Also think we were overcharged in the bar, by a few dollars as well, $10 for a beer is very high. would not stay again. Others were not impressed on our tour neither,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. First, we are sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations In fact, we apologize for the broken ironing board. We take good note of your comment and a follow-up will be made with the housekeeping... More 

Kitchener
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Very nice hotel!! I really enjoyed my stay there. Stuff are ok, boston pizza restaurant was great!! Ver close to the university of laval..... But verrrrry far from downtown. Will definitely stay there again if I am not looking to visit the downtown touristic areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. First, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy you enjoyed the Boston pizza restaurant. It is a great place to watch sports game or have a nice dinner. Furthermore, it is true that... More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Stayed here last week whilst on a tour. Had no problems what so ever. The room was ok the beds comfortable. To be fair we where still suffering jet lag so after our evening meal we just rested. The pool area down stairs was really very pleasant and would have liked to spend a day just relaxing there. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. First, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our pool and spa area is usually well appreciated by our guests and we are pleased you enjoyed it as well. Furthermore, we are more than happy that you found... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Outside front door there is a 3 star sign for this hotel and really that's all it is. The room I had was very large and had a spa bath but the room was very dark. Not very good lighting, everything was painted dark brown, brown carpet and furniture. However they do have a indoor pool & spa. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. First, it is true that our guests appreciate our indoor pool and spa, especially during fall and winter, since it is colder outside. On the other hand, the colors and lighting were chosen on purpose to create a... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was filthy! Service was mediocre, hallway and rooms were very dirty.stayed 1 night although had originally booked for 3! I don t know how this hotel got it s four stars because i wouldn t give it one.Asked for directions at reception and was made to feel like i was inconveniancing them. Dealt with three people at reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We can assure you that follow-ups will be done in order that your situation does not happen again. First, we would like to precise that the hotel is... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Stayed here 1 night. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We also had dinner downstairs in the bar area and it was especially good. Our waitress, Virginique was lovely and looked after us very well. The only problem was a mix up with breakfast the next morning which led to the restaurant being understaffed so it was a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. First of all, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Also, we are pleased you found your room comfortable and clean, since we put a lot of effort into making sure everything is perfect for our guests. For... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Checked into this hotel as part of a tour group!! What an experience Upon arrival at the hotel we were assigned two rooms both with two double beds (couples) 1 of the allocated rooms had a hole in the wall next to the air conditioner with the Canadian weather blowing in, absolutely freezing.Throughout the room was also several electrical wires... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. First, we would like to precise that your case has already been communicated to our management team. Our business director will soon contact you and your tour operator to follow up that case. This situation is truly disappointing for both of us. We seriously consider that situation and we will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Universel Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Quebec City

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay