We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Universel Quebec

Hotel deals
Hotel packages
2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Announcement
Click for details
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Universel Quebec
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Universel Quebec
Add Photo

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    54
    56
    27
    25
See reviews for
64
56
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just one word magnificent A small hotel in infrastructure but with very good service and amazing location near everything, I love it, OMG the POOL and spa area Thanks to everyones in special to Nancy she always is very friendly and helpfully smiling very kind .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for this amazing review! We are so glad you had a great time staying at our hotel. First, we are touched you found our service very good and took the time to thank Nancy personally. Our staff works very hard to give the best service as possible; thus, it is always nice to hear from satisfied customers. We... More 

Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Attended the Canadian University Lady Basketball Finals hosted by Laval University. The location was great as it was right across the street from the complex. Very easy access to downtown and Old Quebec. The bus stop was right across the street. $3.25 got right to the heart of old Quebec. The room was nice but not always made up very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our guests’ opinions are very important as they give us the opportunity to improve ourselves. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay at our hotel. It is true that our guests actually appreciate our location right across the street from PEPS complex at Laval University and only a few... More 

Magog, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Nothing amazing about this hotel but clean. Well located, area is fine, not too far from the action in Quebec. Very nice pool and spa inside the hotel. We had a superior room with spa in the room, well decorated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TommyBernier1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value our customers’ opinions, since it helps us improve ourselves. First of all, many of our guests enjoy the pool and spa in our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed it as well. Furthermore, it is true that we are well located, since we are steps away from... More 

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

First off, let me say that I slept well all four nights. I had a room close to the elevator, which was no problem. And It is so convenient to Universite´ Laval. And the bus lines. But it is an older hotel, completely lacking in charm or modern updates. I wouldn't have wanted to spend any time in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your opinion is important to us, since it helps us improve our services. First, we are glad you liked many aspects of our hotel. It is true that we are conveniently located right next to Laval University and many bus lines. On the other hand, it is also true that... More 

toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

stayed there oct 29-31, 2014... good things about the hotel universel: - staff were great, very helpful - quick to get a taxi - one elevator but darn it worked fast - no waiting - lots of fast food nearby (the weird pyramid has lots to choose from, including a metro to buy beer/wine)...timmies just down the street - if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comment. We like to read our customers’ feedback, because it helps us improve ourselves. First of all, it is true that we are close to Laval University and many restaurants. As you mentioned, it is the perfect location if you have business in the area. For your comment about the taxi ride to downtown Quebec... More 

Darlington, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

we stayed here whilst on a tour, ironing board broken, which maybe i should have mentioned, but surely staff should check now and then? everything needs updating. Also think we were overcharged in the bar, by a few dollars as well, $10 for a beer is very high. would not stay again. Others were not impressed on our tour neither,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. First, we are sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations In fact, we apologize for the broken ironing board. We take good note of your comment and a follow-up will be made with the housekeeping... More 

Kitchener
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Very nice hotel!! I really enjoyed my stay there. Stuff are ok, boston pizza restaurant was great!! Ver close to the university of laval..... But verrrrry far from downtown. Will definitely stay there again if I am not looking to visit the downtown touristic areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. First, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy you enjoyed the Boston pizza restaurant. It is a great place to watch sports game or have a nice dinner. Furthermore, it is true that... More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Stayed here last week whilst on a tour. Had no problems what so ever. The room was ok the beds comfortable. To be fair we where still suffering jet lag so after our evening meal we just rested. The pool area down stairs was really very pleasant and would have liked to spend a day just relaxing there. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. First, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our pool and spa area is usually well appreciated by our guests and we are pleased you enjoyed it as well. Furthermore, we are more than happy that you found... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Outside front door there is a 3 star sign for this hotel and really that's all it is. The room I had was very large and had a spa bath but the room was very dark. Not very good lighting, everything was painted dark brown, brown carpet and furniture. However they do have a indoor pool & spa. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. First, it is true that our guests appreciate our indoor pool and spa, especially during fall and winter, since it is colder outside. On the other hand, the colors and lighting were chosen on purpose to create a... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was filthy! Service was mediocre, hallway and rooms were very dirty.stayed 1 night although had originally booked for 3! I don t know how this hotel got it s four stars because i wouldn t give it one.Asked for directions at reception and was made to feel like i was inconveniancing them. Dealt with three people at reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We value your opinion as we are constantly trying to improve ourselves. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We can assure you that follow-ups will be done in order that your situation does not happen again. First, we would like to precise that the hotel is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay