We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Capitole

972 rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1R5, Canada
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel du Capitole
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to us like it was one of the best of Quebec City. At our arrival, the staff was VERY welcoming and upgraded us to a better room. We were a bit disappointed by the room, that needs a little "refreshment" in it's decoration. But again, it was comfortable and the staff helped us with restaurants reservations.... More 

Helpful?
Thank GregL357
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review

Once again, we convey our most sincere apologies. Know that we understand your disappointment and that we are taking good note of it. That night, in order to address the situation, we offered you to relocate you in a near by hotel, which who declined. Moreover, we offered you a rebate on the room bill and free overnight parking. We... More 

California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

Apparently there are several different room types. We loved ours.Loved the use of the custom made, multi-functional furniture. All fit the rather small space perfectly. Bathroom had a great shower. We discovered the roof top deck.Now no one mentioned this to use (why ??) where we enjoyed a glass of wine and some sushi. Great place to watch the moon... More 

Helpful?
Thank coqui_coqui_jet
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write. Hope to see you soon! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Stayed here again, this time with friends. Everything was just as good as the first. Staff were great, location for walking Quebec City is wonderful and yet value was very, very good. Have no hesitation recommending this hotel. One pointer, try to get your parking including. Sometimes they have a deal. Pricing should be $120-150 a night. I try not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunsequitur
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write. Hope to see you soon! More 

Alameda, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

I booked our room through Hotels.com. The hotel was very nice and adjacent to a very good restaurant where we had dinner and breakfast. It is located in old Quebec and we were able to walk to our cruise ship with our suitcases. WHAT WE DID NOT LIKE ABOUT OUR ROOM WAS THAT IT WAS DESIGNED LIKE A LOFT WITH... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doctor G
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write. Hope to see you soon! More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here during a conference. This hotel has the right combination of comfort and style. The rooms are tastefully decorated with nice unique touches. Love the stylish bathtub open to the room with jets (very clean). The location of the hotel is top notch, right at the gates of the old town and close to all restaurants. Nice outdoor... More 

Helpful?
Thank NavAndyTravels
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write. Hope to see you soon! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

In Old Quebec, this hotel is ideal for sightseeing. The reception staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Probably not everyone's taste but we loved the furnishings and the views were great - how often do you see canons from your window? Definitely not a run-of-the mill hotel chain. .Although the rooms were not huge they were perfectly adequate.and spotlessly clean,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MinkeyToronto_Canada
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review

It is with great pleasure that we read your nice comment. Your kind words will be forwarded to the concerned team. Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us and see you again soon! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

We spent x3 nights at this hotel greeted warmly on arrival comfortable quiet room bed firm but manageable good quality shampoo/conditioner and lovely deep warm bath enjoyed after a long day of sightseeing.loved that window could be opened and fresh air enjoyed .lovely warm weather at this time only complaint was that there was no kettle in room so twice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob65n
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review

It is with great pleasure that we read your nice comment. Your kind words will be forwarded to the concerned team. Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us and see you again soon! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

When I first arrived at the hotel, I thought I got ourselves the best hotel. But it wasn't too late before I started noticing little things that added up to be a poor hotel experience. Furniture and the atmosphere is old and unpleasant and it does not live up to its claimed standard. If you want to go there because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saed A
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review

We want to thank you for taking the time to write. We like to read comments from our customers, as they are always very constructive. Know that we understand your disappointment and that we are taking good note of it. Be assured that we always work with the view to satisfy the greatest number of people possible and that we... More 

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

This hotel does not live up to its 4 star rating. How can a hotel with a great location miss the mark. The main answer is service. They do not have a fitness room and when we talked to the manager about making a deal with a fitness club a block away , he said no one since last December... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments. It is always sad to note that someone did not get the experience he was expecting. We are sincerely sorry that our hotel was probably not the type of hotel for your kind of trip. The best way for us to improve our service is by taking each comment and transform it into an... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

I had put do not clean my room, but to my surprize someone from the cleaning staff entered and cleaned it anyways. I was not impressed. Other than that fantastic hotel in a great location close to the old town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sezzeit
Le_Capitole, Responsable relations clients at Hotel du Capitole, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience. We take this situation into account. We will make every effort to remedy as quickly as possible to the situation. We are very sorry and we would like welcome you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 105 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#11 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 105 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#6 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay