We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 97 Quebec City hotels

Hotel Clarendon

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Clarendon to your Saves list
Hotel Clarendon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
73%
Ranked #43 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014
AmeliaTracyVT Enosburg Falls, Vermont
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    290
    118
    50
    23
See reviews for
134
288
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hotel Clarendon
See the most recent reviews
Enosburg Falls, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My fiance and I recently spent three nights in Quebec City, and stayed at the Hotel Clarendon. With the prices of a room being super reasonable, we were thrilled with the quality of service the hotel offered! The receptionist staff was absolutely incredible, always answered our touristy questions, and would help us with a smile on their faces when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. How glad we are that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Clarendon so much! I can assure you the employees will be informed of your good comments. Our goal is to make sure you spend the best possible stay in our city. Reading your comment, I can only assume we have reached our... More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I was at the Hotel Clarendon by accident, courtesy of Air Canada because my flight was diverted to YQB because YUL had closed due to an ice storm while my flight was in the air. But this was a happy accident, as the Clarendon is a classic hotel like my favorites such as the Sir Francis Drake in San Francisco.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad we helped in a better outcome in your flight misadventure. As you said, we are right in the center of the Old Québec, which is perfect if you want to be able to only walk around. We have worked hard in the last year in order to improve the Hotel... More

Odessa, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

What our family of 4 (parents with 18 and 25 year old) liked: 1. Great location, close to resturants, shopping and pier etc. 2. Very Charming and comfortable. 3. Staff was minimal because of Christmas holiday but friendly and helpful. 4. Clean Didn't like: We had to remake the two queen beds because the sheets did not go to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you had an issue with the sheets, and with your waiting coffee. There is a manager on duty every day from 9am to 7pm, which can always assist you when situations happen and you are not satisfied with the action taken. This way we could have made sure you... More

Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

You could not ask for a better location right in the middle of the old section of Quebec City. The hotel is walking distance to everything within the "old walled section" of the city. Short walk over to the St. Lawrence waterfront and plenyt of great cafes and bistros nearby. The people at the hotel were very accomodating with storage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward seeing you again at the Hotel Clarendon. Make sure to try our own restaurant, le Charles Baillargé, on your next stay! More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had planned to take my mom to Quebec City for 4 nights over New Year's. First, I waited nearly 15 minutes to be told the room was NOT ready, after 4 PM. They told me the hotel was sold out, and this was the only room they could give us, after I had requested and had an email confirmation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. I have inquired on your stay with us, and you indeed had the room type you had booked: a room with 2 Queen beds. We do not have any suites in the hotel, so I’m surprised to hear you were even promised one. As for your check-in, I’ve also verified, and you arrived... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were givin a room that was not meeting at the description of the room booked. It had a tiny window above eye level and a smell of mildew. When we complained we were given another room but this one had renovations being done in the bathroom. The third was finally acceptable, met with the description booked and even had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Concerning your lost item, we have a very strict policy concerning the items that are forgotten behind, they are brought back to the housekeeping manager and she keeps a list of the date and the place the items were found. It is very unfortunate for you that you have lost your mirror, but... More

Pickering, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel over New Years and stayed for 3 nights. The rate we got was amazing - so we were a bit skeptical at first, as we thought it may be "too good to be true" .... however this hotel experience did NOT disappoint. We visited Quebec 2 years ago around the same time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will forward your praises to the employees who will be thrilled. We are also looking forward to greet you again at the Hotel Clarendon. More

Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights right after Christmas. You can't beat their location. The hotel itself is very nice and quiet. We didn't use the hotel's restaurants but they looked inviting. The lobby area is very quaint. Our room was comfortable and clean. We didn't spend much time in the room as we were enjoying the beauty of Quebec... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will also be pleased to welcome you at our hotel in the future. Kind regards More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great location and value for your money. Parking is underground. Enjoyed the view from our room. This is an old hotel but is very well maintained. It's full of old world character. It's like being transported back in time. Staff area friendly too. Overall great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Clarendon, and hope to see you again soon, and make sure to try our restaurant Le Charles Baillargé! More

Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Pros: - Right in the heart of Old Quebec - Old, charming building - Beautiful lobby, restaurant and bar - Staff is helpful Cons: - Small rooms - hard mattresses - aging rooms need renovating Choose this hotel if: - you want to be right in the center of Old Quebec - you'd like a charming old building Other tips:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ève B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you liked your stay at the Hotel Clarendon. Concerning the size of the rooms, we have different room sizes in order to please all types of guest. If you need a place right in the center of Old Quebec only to sleep, then the small... More

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clarendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.