We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast

3932, rue St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

For my first time in a bed and breakfast and my first time in Montreal, Rita and Dan made me feel utterly at home. They were charming, fluently bilingual and eminently knowledgeable. The room was spotlessly clean and very large. Breakfast is gigantic, prepared with the taste and arrangement of a chef. And to top it off, Nemo, a quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank joshcamp
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

This place is absolutely to avoid. the place is crappy, things are not working, it was not clean, you have the feeling to enter into shanty place. you sleep on a wood blanket, TV OOO, lights half non functioning, bathroom disgusting, food with no comment, host blowing noze while preparing the food, speaking loud...street noises, fridge as nightstand, decoration awful...not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christian M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

I stayed at L'Imprevu for one night during a whistle-stop tour of Montreal (what a fantastic city - I hope to return for a longer tour one day!). Rita and Dan were kind and interested hosts, and the breakfast was fantastic! Great as a solo traveller to chat to other guests too. The room was tastefully designed, clean and comfortable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula W
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

A cozy little place close to everything (metro is just up the street), my stay with Dan and Rita was fantastic. Breakfast is better than anything I've ever had at a hotel, the room was great, comfy and clean. a very warm and welcoming environment, it felt like I was "going home" each night when I returned as opposed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Collin D
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

If you want something interesting and a little different, this is for you! No boring look-alike hotel rooms here! Dan and Rita are charming and welcoming hosts. The rooms are typical home-sized bedrooms, with the added bonus of a sink, since you must share the bathroom. There is a window air-conditioner as well as a ceiling fan in the bedrooms.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BLT52
daniwax, Owner at L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

it was a plaisir to have you home,you can come back any time you want, we'll be there. Thank you. Rita. & Dan. More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Dan & Rita are quick to respond to emails inquiries and give you the most welcome and warm warning. The place is cozy and very clean, they have very good breakfast that is fresh and delicious. They are very accommodating hosts, the room is fully equipped and has everything you need. I recommend staying there, really worth it whether you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karyne V V
daniwax, Owner at L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing us, you will always be welcome,to l'imprévu. Rita & Dan. More 

Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our week at the Imprevu was simply perfect. Dan and Rita are extremely welcoming guests, friendly and always eager to give (very good) advice about how to discover Montreal ! The room was great (it quickly felt like home even after two nights) and the breakfasts were just amazing ! We will definitely come back for our next trip in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin L
daniwax, Owner at L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci Quentin,nous aussi avons beaucoup appréciez votre présence à l'imprévu et espérons vous y recevoir encore,bon baiser à ta dulcinée... More 

Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was the first B & B that I stayed at and I loved it! Dan & Rita are great hosts, very accommodating and kind! Dan cooks a great breakfast, convenient for me and tasty! I would recommend anyone to try this B&B!

Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
daniwax, Manager at L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Kelly,having people like you at home is always a great pleasure. Thank you for choosing " l'imprévu " Dan & Rita. More 

Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I received quick response by email in booking the room. My stay was a wonderful experience with great hospitality by Dan and Rita. Loved my sleep with a comfortable bed and all necessities close at hand. Breakfast is always scrumptious with warm conversation with the hosts. I definately reccomend you stay here for your bed and breakfast needs. Thank you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony V
daniwax, Manager at L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Tony,you know you'll always be welcome, Thanks for the review. Dan & Rita. More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Accepted reservation but said that the rate was $10.00 per night above the rate posted on their web site. Claimed room no longer available when posted rate was requested. BEWARE OF THESE PEOPLE AND THEIR SHARP BUSINESS PRACTICES. Very unacceptable experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill10Bill
daniwax, Owner at L'Imprevu Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are sorry that you will not be staying with us. Our website rates are as stated $100. per night, for two,breakfast and taxes included for both the Mystic and The Amical . Our programmer had changed our rates on our french web page but forgot to change the rate on our english web page. We had not noticed, though... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#23 of 143 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
La Petite Bourgeoise
#29 of 143 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
B & B Gite Couette et Chocolat Inc.
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Gite Ocoin B&B
Gite Ocoin B&B
#4 of 143 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)

Neighborhood Profile
Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
Once the core of industrialized Montreal, the factories and historic buildings of Le Sud-Ouest have been renovated into homes, museums, and small businesses. The rejuvenated landscape has put its Saint-Henri district in vogue, with cutting-edge galleries and an ever-expanding network of restaurants. Foodies can especially delight in the mom-and-pop shops in Little Burgundy, or at the Atwater Market, where outdoor stalls sell fresh fruit, vegetables, and meat, street vendors have menus of hot fish and wine, and the indoor market offers chocolate, breads, and coffee beans. Dominated by the gentle waters of the Lachine Canal, Le Sud-Ouest is still very much an outdoor town, with a number of pedestrian-only bridges traversing the waters, bike paths along the canal with views of the Leisure Boats, and massive green spaces like Angrignon Park to stop for a picnic, or to play a sport.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay