We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 149 Montreal B&Bs / inns

Hotel & Suite Place des Arts

2.0 of 5 Inn   |   270 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1X9, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel & Suite Place des Arts to your Saves list
Hotel & Suite Place des Arts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
56%
Ranked #115 of 149 Montreal B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    5
    3
    15
See reviews for
5
12
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If i can give it a zero star, i would give it to this hotel. Don't go by the pics from this hotel. The bath room/restroom is dirty. Rooms smell bad, People smoking all over the corridor. I even smell people smoking pot. Never ever go this place and if you are with family then don't even think about it.Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterbury Center, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

and I've stayed in a lot of cheap places. This really takes the cake. Like a boarding house with local "residents". As soon as you walk into the place, the stench of cigarettes practically knocks you down. That, along with I don't know what other smells, makes the air feel toxic. The other "residents" were up most of the night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherbrooke, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Good location but the worst hotel in Montreal I think. Very old, noisy, dirty, smelly ... We didn't sleep at all, We heard noises: people talking and yealing in the stairs all night ( we were there on a saturday night ). We didn't take a shower because the bathroom was so dirty. We had to sleep with the window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garson
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location of Place des Arts is excellent for looking around the little shops and great restaurants in Montreal. Very convenient parking and breakfast was okay. We walked to Old Montreal port and back and it was awesome to see all the quaint shops and leave our car in one place. not the newest of places but good for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

3 girlfriends and I stayed here during our 4 night trip to Montreal. The location was perfect, we walked everywhere! The only place we had to taxi was to and from the airport. Walking distance to all the main shopping and the Village is just around the corner. We even walked to Mont Royal Parc and Old Montreal/Old Port. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Where do I start? I LOVE hotel place des arts. Part of me doesn't even want to write this review since I feel if you're reading this you will probably book my room and force me to stay elsewhere or not go to Montreal. I feel like hotel place des arts is my little Montreal secret.... But out of respect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I looked through the reviews and overall didn't seem too bad. I was expecting it do be dirty because it was only 65$ for a great location. I weight about 100lbs and I was scared to stay there overnight with a friend. Not a tight security place, shady crowd hanging around. If you're on a budget its a bed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of November to visit our daughter who lives in Montreal. We had a junior suite - it was beautiful, spacious and the bathroom was great (large, jacuzzi tub, great shower. The gas fireplace was a nice feature. Air conditioning worked well. Service was excellent - service for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I woke up the first day with bites on my arms. Throughout the day I noticed more red welts. They progressively got worse and more swollen as the day progressed. I wondered about bed bugs, but the people I was staying with we're not exhibiting the same symptoms. I had a horrible sleep the next night. Itchy and awful. At... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
appwang, Manager at Hotel & Suite Place des Arts, responded to this review

I am sorry for what you said "bedbug",i want to know which room you are in?you are the 1st one who complain "bedbug',you said you didn't get refund for that,but when you leave the hotel you didn't ask me and tell me there are bedbug,i appreaciate you say it now,so i will check all the room carefully,if there is bedbug,i... More

Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is perfect if you want to stay downtown. 2 blocks up from Rue Sainte Catherine, and walking distance to everywhere else. Stayed in Suite #7 which is on the second floor. There is no elevator so be prepared to walk up two flights of stairs. The gal who runs the place is awesome, very friendly and accommodating she locked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Hotel & Suite Place des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Suite Place des Arts

Also Known As:
Hotel And Suite Place Des Arts
Address: 270 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel & Suite Place des Arts 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wise choice for value-conscious downtown travelers, budget, Victorian-style, Hotel & Suite Place des Arts in downtown Montreal offers one-bedroom suite, studio, and budgetrm; all the suites and studio are all equipped with bathrooms, including bath tub & shower, fully-equipped kitchen, free parking, close to metro Place des Arts, McGill University, Old Port. Perfect for extend stays, relocate, 4-5 people group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel & Suite Place des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Suite Place des Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.