We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Champ-de-Mars

756 Berri | Vieux-Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3E6, Canada
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Champ-de-Mars
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I come to Montréal, the hotel is the least of my worries because it is the place I will spend the least amount of time. You're in one of the most historical and vibrant cities in North America, I mean, come on! Location and property: The hotel is located at the eastern edge of the Old Port on Rue... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cole C
Jamesbrown777, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Champ-de-Mars, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed response. We appreciate your comments and hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to Montreal. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I recently visited Montreal for a mini vacation. We stayed at hotel champ de mars for a total of 4 nights. The way I see it is there are pros and cons everywhere you go; this hotel is no different. Starting with PROS; the hotel is located right on the outskirt of Old Montreal, we were walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Megan C
Jamesbrown777, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Champ-de-Mars, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. We were glad to have hosted you. We are sorry you experienced any inconvenience using only one key. Please ask the reception for a second key during your next visit. Our normal average rack prices are $165 – $310 per night. We offer promotional rates at very competitive prices during the lower season.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

I'm not usually picky and always try to make the best of where I stay.... But I would like to warn fellow travelers about this hotel. Please read everyone's reviews and take it seriously. The hotel rooms are super small with barely enough room to move. Beds are super uncomfortable. You can hear everything in the hotel. Rooms are dirty,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela G
Jamesbrown777, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Champ-de-Mars, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and are sorry your experience was not what you had expected. We feel compelled to point out that we receive many positive reviews on Trip Advisor from all kinds of travellers so we must, for those guests, be doing something right. That said, we work very hard every day at providing a positive experience for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

small rooms as others have said, but nice tile bathroom and adequate breakfast. Just an old-fashioned auberge that moatly hasn't been updated. Excellent access to vieux-cite. Creperie and 3 top-notch restaurants wirhin 4 blocks (400 coups, Champaignerie, and Auberge Bonaparte.)

Helpful?
Thank pete-mack00
Jamesbrown777, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Champ-de-Mars, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

This building is over 250 years located at the Eastern edge of Old Montreal. For this time of year and quality of lodging the price was right but I was told this goes up to $200 per night in summer. I was alone so the smallness of room did not bother me but with two people it would have been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IGNACIO P
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

This is a charming little Iranian family run hotel in Old Montreal. It is located within walking distance of all Old Montreal historic sites. There is even a convenience store one and a half block away that is open till 11;00 p.m. This is a safe and good location. The co-owner and manager, Mr. Hadi Karas is extremely helpful and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank qualityxpert
Geneseo NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

One of the priciest meals we had in Montreal, but far from one of the best. Charged $7.50 for a bottle of sparkling water and $3.50 for a glass of milk for my son! The entrees were good, but nothing spectacular, and the entire meal, with tip, was $114! I don't mind paying that when it's a special occasion and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deb A
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

For over ten years I have lived within walking distance of the Hotel Champ-de-Mars, and throughout this time I have benefited enormously from its presence. Several times a month I have supper in the hotel’s charming dining room, and many friends and family members have accompanied me there. Our orders usually differ (e.g., wine versus green tea). Nonetheless, all agree... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Blane L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Can't say this was a good experience. Right off the bat, the hotel charged us an extra $65 fee for checking in after 11pm. This wasn't specified anywhere on the hotel's website and of course, there is no refund if you wanted to cancel. The rooms are tiny and cramped. The food isn't great, and it was expensive. Lots of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Corina L
Lewiston, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

This so called hotel was awful. As soon as you walk in the lobby it was a musty, dirty feeling. The room was so cramped and old. The 2 twin beds were concave and the TV on the wall looked as if it were 10 " big. The room was so bad my husband and I walked and and right... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mustangshelly68
Jamesbrown777, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Champ-de-Mars, responded to this review

While we are sorry that this guest was not happy with their accommodations, we do point out that our property and its amenities are accurately described in all our publicity. Our property is a 2 star hotel and accordingly cannot be compared to hotels with higher ratings. As for the non-refund policy, it is clearly stated on every booking site... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#50 of 162 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonaparte
Auberge Bonaparte
#5 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#11 of 162 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,486 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#53 of 162 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)

Neighborhood Profile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The historic center of Montreal, Vieux-Port is home to some of the city's most antiquated buildings and picturesque streets. Along the waters of the St. Lawrence River, the bank of Old Port features museums, festivals, food stalls, and outdoor athletics, a celebrated part of the city that explodes into fireworks displays on warm summer nights. At its center, street performers and artists compete with sprawling restaurant terraces for space along Jacques-Cartier Square, while the cobbled streets of Rue St. Paul and Rue Notre-Dame offer a reprieve of quiet galleries and atmospheric wine bars. Horse-drawn carriages are not an uncommon part of traffic, and the narrows they traverse are lined with boutiques, crêperies, and poutine shops enshrined in buildings of stone and wooden lattices. Here you can evoke Montreal's past with a traditional cooking lesson or historical tour, then enjoy its artistic present with live music and theater.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay