We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Montreal

Travelers' Choice award winner
#14 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sofitel Montreal
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    327
    77
    21
    16
See reviews for
176
450
88
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1156)
  • Mar-May only
    (240)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (383)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (337)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (196)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I expected a bit more considering the price per night, location, and Sofitel name. This is not what I would call a luxury hotel but it was adequate and met my needs. Staff we friendly and attentive. The main lobby was not too busy and I could access the front desk anytime without a wait (it was a long weekend).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SofitelMontreal, Director of Operations at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear HAP-TRAVEL-Canada, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Capucine Bourque Director of Operations More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was booked to stay at the Sofitel in Montreal with my partner for two days this past weekend for his birthday. I checked out after day 1 because it was a horrible experience and the rooms were gross. I would have checked out immediately but they would not refund my first day so I was stuck. We checked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montreal
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I think we were maybe expecting a little more from the junior suite and it fell short. Booked great "Two night stay and get upgraded to junior suite" package. Small "living room" and small bed room as well. Furniture was very average and very clean the room was missing character. Was disappointed that these junior suites which I assume they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SofitelMontreal, Director of Operations at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that the front desk may have the opportunity to provide you a room with... More 

Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a fantastic time at the Sofitel Montreal in mid-April. Stayed 4 nights and really can't fault the place a bit. Check-in was fast, smooth and courteous, the doormen were always on hand with a smile and a helping hand, and the room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is very conveniently located and there are plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SofitelMontreal, Director of Operations at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear FunGirlsInAustin, We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at the Sofitel Montreal. Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff! We hope to see you and your friends in the near future. Best regards, Capucine Bourque Director of Operations More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sofitel is a good hotel with an attractive entrance/reception and an excellent location. Breakfast is a tad pricey but before 7:00 the local cafes, etc don't seem to be open so if you want to eat early you will just have to pay up. Otherwise, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SofitelMontreal, Director of Operations at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you very much for the recommendation. I am pleased that you had a pleasurable business experience with us and that the team was able to make your stay so comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back! Capucine Bourque Director of Operations More 

Guelph
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 3 nights at the Sofitel Golden Mile in downtown Montreal for a conference. Staff were very polite and helpful; concierge staff were particularly patient with my multiple tourist questions and requests for directions. Lobby was very attractive. Hotel is half a block from the Musee de Beaux Artes; close to McGill & the Musee McCord; and lots of shopping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SofitelMontreal, Director of Operations at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear ALupnorth, Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home during your four day visit to Montreal! We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will... More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have previously had good experiences at Sofitel hotels in Europe and Asia and this one was no exception to the rule. We spent three nights here with our 12-month old daughter. A smooth and friendly check in process and we made our way to our room. Given the location of the hotel next to a busy road we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SofitelMontreal, Director of Operations at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl and David, Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you mentioned the high level of service provided by the Sofitel Ambassadors to you and your daughter, which is truly rewarding for the whole team. We look forward to your next trip! Best... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent hotel with great service. I have stayed in some great hotels in Asia and this hotel is just as good. Service is impeccable. Someone always looking for clients lost or with a puzzled look . A small line up at the desk and the concierge quickly looked for another person for the desk. I asked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SofitelMontreal, Director of Operations at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Tremblant110, We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel. Thank you for your 5 star review, and the kind words and praises for our staff. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards, Capucine Bourque Director of Operations More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sofitel gets it right in every way. Modern, clean, professional but casual. Will definitely book there next time in Montreal. High quality bed and bathroom, very clean and the room service breakfast was top quality, on par with four seasons.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SofitelMontreal, Director of Operations at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Darryl, Thank you very much for the wonderful review! We greatly appreciate your comments and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Montreal again soon. Best regards, Capucine Bourque Director of Operations More 

Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There's always something special happening at The Sofitel, Montreal. Hockey is a religion in Montreal and I was in town for the Canadiens playoff game last Friday. The hotel lobby bar was all decked out for the playoffs and the bar was set up with TV monitors, specialty snacks and drinks and even the original artwork was hockey-focused! Amazing! Here's... More 

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Sofitel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear rcl577, Thank you for reviewing your experience at Sofitel Montreal and Le Renoir. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and our special Hockey Series evening in the bar We will look forward to welcoming back again for more games. Sincerely, Stephanie Segoura General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

344 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (304)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (111)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
4:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighborhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities