We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Viger

1001 Saint-Hubert St, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Viger
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Viger
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    42
    32
    15
    34
See reviews for
16
54
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (147)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was comfortable with a good bathroom, but not luxurious, as would be expected from the very economical rate. It is within walking distance of the Old Town with it's lively bars and restaurants and is a good location for exploring; just across the road in front of the hotel is the Metro station. The hotel is similar to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is perfectly close to both old town and central. We walked to old town and visited grand-prix,which was only a stop away by nearest metro station and we really enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately, I forgot my camera battery on the room but the staffs were helpful and sent it back to me soon. It was perfect .... except poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The Russian speaking girl at the front desk was very friendly. The price was very low compared to other places in montreal. The hotel is Okay, however the door cracks a bit at some places. The room is small but has all you need - bed, shower, sink, table... No less than any other motel if you just need a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

I am glad that you found our accommodations to be a good value for the rate. However, I wish that your expectations had been exceeded in comfort, convenience, and quality amenities. Your comments are important to us as we continuously seek ways to improve upon the guest experience in our hotel. We hope you'll return to enjoy the continuous improvements... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I will never understand why people pay a lot on hotel rooms. I only ever need a place to rest my head between adventures. This place is perfect for that. Viger gave us a clean, comfortable room, Strong WiFi, Good shower, and a friendly staff. Also, very inexpensive! As a bonus, it is in a decent part of town and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We are also very happy that you found our location to be convenient. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I'm not sure what happened with the folk who do not like this place, but for me it was perfect. I had a conference at the Westin Hotel where the rooms were running into the high $300s per night. This spot provided me two nights at less than half the price of the Westin and was only a 10- to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your compliments, rating, and review of our high housekeeping and cleanliness standards. We are also happy to hear that you found the location to be so convenient for your needs. It is wonderful to hear of the great impression we made with our amenities and services. I am glad that we were able to meet... More 

Salem
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This room smelled like urine. As soon as we opened our door it hit us. We had the a/c or fresh air blowing at all times but did not really help. You have to go to the check-in desk to get your ration of breakfast, yeah like prison movies. Continental breakfast consists of day-old croissants and packaged jam and tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues right away. I apologize that it smelled urine in your room. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Small, dirty and disgusting. Please read this and book anywhere else. Anywhere else. Room was dirty and smelled of urine. There was a rat in the hallway at check-in. Plrase go someshere else. Dont let this place ruin a beautiful city and trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

I deeply regret to learn that you found this experience to be so terrible due to issues that should have been immediately addressed. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and procedures. I hope you will change your mind about seeking out new... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My recent experience with Hotel Viger was absolutely horrendous. First a bit of background, I love Montreal, visiting every 2 years and have always booked a room at Hotel Viger upon referral from a dear friend. The first two stays were wonderful. It is only a 2 star hotel, so it’s not the ritz, but it was clean, bug free,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request for accurately and I assure you that we are addressing our policies to allow... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Based on reviews I knew that this was not a luxury hotel but the price and location was appealing. While there are a few nice things I could say about this hotel unfortunately they are over shadowed by the terrible experience we encountered. Four night stay was fine the first two nights. The third evening we had to make two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

We want to apologize for the issues that you experienced, though we are very pleased to hear that our staff was able to make sure that it was promptly addressed and that you were still able to enjoy your stay. I sincerely apologize if you did not receive your money's worth in accommodations and hospitality. We value your opinion and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)

Neighborhood Profile
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Named for the Olympic Stadium complexes built for the 1976 games, the Olympic Park and the surrounding neighborhood of Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) make up an invigorated area dedicated to "Space for Life." Around the Olympic Village's arenas and stadiums, Rue Sherbrooke welcomes exploration of its sculpture gardens decorated in the works of Jean-Paul Riopelle and its museum culture headed by the historical Château Dufresne. Maisonneuve Park offers interactive experiences at its bio-dome, insectarium, planetarium, and botanical gardens. For a change of scene, the gentrified space along Rue Ontario Est is packed with the city's newest, edgiest cafes, where an imaginative, youthful crowd sips foamy cappuccinos. A visit here is incomplete without stepping into the vast halls of the Maisonneuve Market, with flower stalls, wine depots, and local produce.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay