We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 164 Montreal hotels

Hotel Viger

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Saint-Hubert St, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y3, Canada (Ville-Marie)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Viger to your Saves list
Hotel Viger
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
48%
Ranked #100 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Martin P
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    31
    13
    33
See reviews for
15
49
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salem
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This room smelled like urine. As soon as we opened our door it hit us. We had the a/c or fresh air blowing at all times but did not really help. You have to go to the check-in desk to get your ration of breakfast, yeah like prison movies. Continental breakfast consists of day-old croissants and packaged jam and tea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Small, dirty and disgusting. Please read this and book anywhere else. Anywhere else. Room was dirty and smelled of urine. There was a rat in the hallway at check-in. Plrase go someshere else. Dont let this place ruin a beautiful city and trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

I deeply regret to learn that you found this experience to be so terrible due to issues that should have been immediately addressed. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and procedures. I hope you will change your mind about seeking out new... More

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My recent experience with Hotel Viger was absolutely horrendous. First a bit of background, I love Montreal, visiting every 2 years and have always booked a room at Hotel Viger upon referral from a dear friend. The first two stays were wonderful. It is only a 2 star hotel, so it’s not the ritz, but it was clean, bug free,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request for accurately and I assure you that we are addressing our policies to allow... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Based on reviews I knew that this was not a luxury hotel but the price and location was appealing. While there are a few nice things I could say about this hotel unfortunately they are over shadowed by the terrible experience we encountered. Four night stay was fine the first two nights. The third evening we had to make two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

We want to apologize for the issues that you experienced, though we are very pleased to hear that our staff was able to make sure that it was promptly addressed and that you were still able to enjoy your stay. I sincerely apologize if you did not receive your money's worth in accommodations and hospitality. We value your opinion and... More

Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for several years and have always enjoyed the location and amenities. It is a 2-star tourist hotel with a great rate and location. While there is no bar, lounge or elevator, this hotel is always safe and rooms have a TV, refrigerator and private bath. Included is breakfast (coffee, juice, croissant and muffin) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We strive to make every guests experience great, and we love hearing when we accomplish our goals. We hope to see you again for the nth time. Regards, Hotel Viger! More

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 11 years ago, and when I saw it was still on business my thought was: good hotel as we are on a budget, good location, reliable. It was just the right choice! Good place to stay if you plan to explore the city and not spend too much time in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is nice to read feedback that our location worked best for you. We strive to make every guests experience great, and we love hearing when we accomplish our goals. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Hotel Viger! More

Bloomingdale, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Viger for one night. The room was clean, much bigger then I anticipated, and the continental breakfast (coffee, juice, and a fair croissant at best) will get you going until mid morning. It’s a 15 to 20 minute walk to the heart of the old port as well as downtown Montreal. Friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It's a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with the service that we provide. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our premise and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a moment to remember. I agree completely that our convenient location... More

uk
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is a budget hotel so don't expect anything flash.The rooms are basic but clean and the beds are firm,which is fine for me. The location is good. One issue,if you are booking room with breakfast, you will get coffee,juice and a croissant. If that's a continental breakfast then fine,but it's not like any other continental I've had. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is nice to read feedback that our location worked best for you. Your feedback is highly appreciated and this would be used to improve our service specifically our menu for breakfast. If you will give us a chance, we are more than happy to invite you again. Regards, Hotel... More

hyderabad
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is its good location. Apart from that everything else is BAD. The rooms are dilapidated and smell of mold/mildew. The temperature control doesn't work and bathrooms are tiniest that I have come across among all hotels I have ever stayed in. Breakfast was equally bad with bad tasting coffee, juice and croissant- that's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It's a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with the service that we provide. We apologize for the inconvenience in our facility, I will suggest for a renovation soon. It'll be a pleasure to welcome you again. I hope in the future you decide to give... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Viger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Viger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viger

Address: 1001 Saint-Hubert St, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Viger 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Viger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viger Hotel Montreal

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Montreal with
any amenities