We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Viger

2.0 of 5 1001 Saint-Hubert St, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y3, Canada
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Viger
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Viger
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    32
    15
    34
See reviews for
16
52
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The Russian speaking girl at the front desk was very friendly. The price was very low compared to other places in montreal. The hotel is Okay, however the door cracks a bit at some places. The room is small but has all you need - bed, shower, sink, table... No less than any other motel if you just need a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

I am glad that you found our accommodations to be a good value for the rate. However, I wish that your expectations had been exceeded in comfort, convenience, and quality amenities. Your comments are important to us as we continuously seek ways to improve upon the guest experience in our hotel. We hope you'll return to enjoy the continuous improvements... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I will never understand why people pay a lot on hotel rooms. I only ever need a place to rest my head between adventures. This place is perfect for that. Viger gave us a clean, comfortable room, Strong WiFi, Good shower, and a friendly staff. Also, very inexpensive! As a bonus, it is in a decent part of town and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We are also very happy that you found our location to be convenient. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again... More 

Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I'm not sure what happened with the folk who do not like this place, but for me it was perfect. I had a conference at the Westin Hotel where the rooms were running into the high $300s per night. This spot provided me two nights at less than half the price of the Westin and was only a 10- to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your compliments, rating, and review of our high housekeeping and cleanliness standards. We are also happy to hear that you found the location to be so convenient for your needs. It is wonderful to hear of the great impression we made with our amenities and services. I am glad that we were able to meet... More 

Salem
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This room smelled like urine. As soon as we opened our door it hit us. We had the a/c or fresh air blowing at all times but did not really help. You have to go to the check-in desk to get your ration of breakfast, yeah like prison movies. Continental breakfast consists of day-old croissants and packaged jam and tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues right away. I apologize that it smelled urine in your room. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Small, dirty and disgusting. Please read this and book anywhere else. Anywhere else. Room was dirty and smelled of urine. There was a rat in the hallway at check-in. Plrase go someshere else. Dont let this place ruin a beautiful city and trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

I deeply regret to learn that you found this experience to be so terrible due to issues that should have been immediately addressed. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and procedures. I hope you will change your mind about seeking out new... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My recent experience with Hotel Viger was absolutely horrendous. First a bit of background, I love Montreal, visiting every 2 years and have always booked a room at Hotel Viger upon referral from a dear friend. The first two stays were wonderful. It is only a 2 star hotel, so it’s not the ritz, but it was clean, bug free,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request for accurately and I assure you that we are addressing our policies to allow... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Based on reviews I knew that this was not a luxury hotel but the price and location was appealing. While there are a few nice things I could say about this hotel unfortunately they are over shadowed by the terrible experience we encountered. Four night stay was fine the first two nights. The third evening we had to make two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

We want to apologize for the issues that you experienced, though we are very pleased to hear that our staff was able to make sure that it was promptly addressed and that you were still able to enjoy your stay. I sincerely apologize if you did not receive your money's worth in accommodations and hospitality. We value your opinion and... More 

Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for several years and have always enjoyed the location and amenities. It is a 2-star tourist hotel with a great rate and location. While there is no bar, lounge or elevator, this hotel is always safe and rooms have a TV, refrigerator and private bath. Included is breakfast (coffee, juice, croissant and muffin) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We strive to make every guests experience great, and we love hearing when we accomplish our goals. We hope to see you again for the nth time. Regards, Hotel Viger! More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 11 years ago, and when I saw it was still on business my thought was: good hotel as we are on a budget, good location, reliable. It was just the right choice! Good place to stay if you plan to explore the city and not spend too much time in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager H, Manager at Hotel Viger, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is nice to read feedback that our location worked best for you. We strive to make every guests experience great, and we love hearing when we accomplish our goals. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Hotel Viger! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Viger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viger

Address: 1001 Saint-Hubert St, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Viger 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Viger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viger Hotel Montreal

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay