We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel St. Paul

#37 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel St. Paul
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

700 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    327
    219
    94
    43
    17
See reviews for
67
300
32
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (700)
  • Mar-May only
    (158)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (231)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (186)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel St Paul was VERY accomidating to all our Guests who stayed here for a wedding. The views, style, staff were all 100%. Rooms are clean, had a great sleep. The music being played was a bit harder to find as it was in the window but a neat idea. The card for the lights was super smart to save... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Jamie D, What a pleasure to read your comments regarding your stay with us at the St Paul Hotel! We are also thrilled you have enjoyed your stay in the charming neighborhood of Old Montreal. Congratulations to the bride and groom! We are always happy to share beautiful moments with our guests and make sure everything is perfect on... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel for business trip back In April. Hotel is walking distance to Old Town and MPC Montreal on Wellington. Rooms are modern Thee are ample taxis always available out front . The continental breakfast is top notch. My only criticism of the property is requiring to put your room key in a slot on the wall to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear MarktS5189DV, We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us while on your business trip. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback on our property. We require you to place your room key in a slot to reduce electricity consumption while you are out of your room.... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel a few times while visiting Montreal on business. The hotel is ultra modern in its decor and in the music you hear in the lobby and bar. It was this hotel that started my fascination with modern design. The hallways are a bit dark but it's not all steel and glass, there is a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear DeeG1230, Thank you for sharing your impressions on the Hotel St Paul. Design is part of our core DNA as we have our very own designer, Ms. Ana Borrallo, creating a charming and modern look for our boutique hotel. The materials used in-room provoke a great contrast with the minimalist corridors. We have more updates coming to our design... More 

Brooklyn
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Wonderful location and really appreciated the upgrade. Overall service, while very friendly, could have been better, especially in providing amenities such as slippers. No pay tv as advertised. Morning maid service was good, but turn-down service was cursory and twice left us without towels. Floors on the first day were dusty. Bathrooms don't have enough hooks for towels. HSP compares... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Sanfordi2015, We appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. You will find us pleased to know you have enjoyed your upgrade and the service of our staff. Pay TV as recently been removed since we have just replaced all of our TVs and updated the software behind it. We offer a wide variety... More 

Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel for its proximity to Old Montreal and the many restaurants in that district. (Can highly recommend Barocco and Stash Cafe for dinner that are on Rue St Paul just a few blocks from the hotel toward the centre of the historic district). If driving, and you need parking there is valet parking offered, just stop on... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Arkay2015, We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and your complimentary upgrade to our Signature floor. The other floors have a similar style but the ceilings are of standard height unlike the 13 feet vaulted ceilings of the Signature floor. We... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was good, room 911 had a water problem. The water tap om the right side om both sink dosent deliver cold water, only hot. So I stood there in the morning, no cold water to brush your teeth, the solution was pelegrini. When I tried to shower I had to stay outside the waterfall, it was too warm.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Gislason, We value your feedback to us as we strive to provide a great experience to our guests. We are very sorry there was an issue with the water in your room. Our maintenance team has worked to avoid recurrence of this isolated issue. Our team is always available for our guests and contacting us directly leads to... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am an older traditionalist so the hotel for lack of better word is "edgy". As in different. The hallways are lit to imitate twilight for instance. That said what a terrific tine we had in Old Montreal. Well located. We recieved a complimentary upgrade to a suite on our arrival.The rooms are clean and modern, Very ,very quiet.Comfy bed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Donnienegroso, It is a pleasure to read your review of our establishment! Our establishment is indeed quite well located in Old Montreal. We are glad you have enjoyed the upgrade to a suite. Did you know our beds are custom made to make sure you get the best night of sleep? It is one of the many things we... More 

green valley Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Glad to see we had exactly the same bed as at home will certainly do it again..my daughters wedding went extremely well. My concern was that we upgrade d and we not disappointed..we loved the view .ty .ty loved it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear LucyBathie, Congratulations on your daughter's wedding! We are delighted to read everything went extremely well. Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the St Paul Hotel. We are grateful for the kind comments! Do not hesitate to contact us should you be visiting Montreal. It would be our pleasure to accommodate you again. The Management, More 

New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It wan't a good sign when the doorman watched as I (a woman approaching 60) carried my bag up the entrance steps into the very hip lobby. Room was comfortable but housekeeping was inattentive - only one bath towel left for two of us, dust under the bed, neglecting to empty the ice bucket, etc An evening request to the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear SusanUWS, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments on your recent stay. We are sorry your experience was not up to our rigorous standards. Your comments have been shared with the head of department to investigate why your room wasn't up to the usual service out hotel is recognized for.... More 

richmond va
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They let us check in early after our cruise. The room was nice. The staff was friendly. There are some sites to see if you don't mine walking. We didn't get a car. There is a taxi stand just outside the door.There are also plenty of places to eat. It was a little pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Ibrichman, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope you had an enjoyable cruise. Old Montreal is definitely a great area to visit; many landmarks and activities are within proximity of the hotel. Our staff is always thrilled to help you plan your day and answer your questions. Please do not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#17 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)

Neighborhood Profile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The historic center of Montreal, Vieux-Port is home to some of the city's most antiquated buildings and picturesque streets. Along the waters of the St. Lawrence River, the bank of Old Port features museums, festivals, food stalls, and outdoor athletics, a celebrated part of the city that explodes into fireworks displays on warm summer nights. At its center, street performers and artists compete with sprawling restaurant terraces for space along Jacques-Cartier Square, while the cobbled streets of Rue St. Paul and Rue Notre-Dame offer a reprieve of quiet galleries and atmospheric wine bars. Horse-drawn carriages are not an uncommon part of traffic, and the narrows they traverse are lined with boutiques, crêperies, and poutine shops enshrined in buildings of stone and wooden lattices. Here you can evoke Montreal's past with a traditional cooking lesson or historical tour, then enjoy its artistic present with live music and theater.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay