We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel St. Paul

4.0 of 5 355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hotel St. Paul
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel St. Paul
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    168
    77
    40
    15
See reviews for
53
232
28
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (565)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (174)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (187)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Gorgeous hotel right on the edge of old montreal. Great rooms. Excellent bar. We could wander out the front door and find great restaurants and shops right around the corner. The staff was helpful. Valet parking a bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a couple of days, rooms pleasant, staff pleasant, location fine as close to the old town. Just not very exciting place for no particular reason. Good nice restaurant around the corner at 361 where steak for two was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Colin S, Let us thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the St Paul Hotel. We are sorry to read you did not find your stay with us an exciting one. Nonetheless, we appreciate that you found our room and staff pleasant and liked our location. The St Paul hotel has a lot of... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was a great hotel on so many levels. First, we loved the location. We were able to go on long interesting runs each day and at night it was easy to either walk to dinner or grab a cab. Second, we loved the room. it was really modern and clean. The bed was super comfortable and the staff very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Liz G, It is a pleasure to start the week by reading your kind review of the St Paul Hotel! Old Montreal is a unique setting and our location is ideal to visit the neighborhood. We are glad you have enjoyed the design or your room and the comfort of the bed. The Hambar restaurant has indeed an incredible... More

Abbotsford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the short time we were in Montreal, this was a unique spot. All the places we needed to go were a short walk away. First impression was positive. Once entering it was strange to hear music which we didn't were it came from. It turned out to be from behind a curtain. The curtain didn't work for us at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Rudy H, Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at the St Paul Hotel. We are glad to read you had a good experience in our establishment overall. About the stereo and the curtains, we're sorry it was out of reach and did not work properly. Our maintenance team always verify rooms on a regular basis as well as... More

Oakville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is pricey, but very convenient if you plan to tour the streets in Old Montreal. We parked the car and didn't need it again until we left for home. The front desk was welcoming and helpful, providing us with maps, directions and recommendations. The elevator and hallways in the hotel are a bit dark, but the hotel room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Louise D, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this complete review of your experience at the St Paul Hotel. You will find us pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is indeed very calm but also very close to everything in Old Montreal and the Subway station. Our... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service was good. Food ok. Well located. The hallways are oddly very dark. Bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. Other than a weird single chair in the room, there was nowhere to sit and watch TV. So, if you want to lounge in your room for a while, this hotel may not be the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear DDDDave, Let us thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the St Paul Hotel. We are glad to read our service was good and that you liked the location of the hotel. Our hallways are dark to induce calmness on the floors for the well-being of all our guests. We are sorry you did not... More

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful, modern simplicity! We had the Only You package and we were very pleased. A trail of rose petals from door to bed, bottle of fine champagne with a plate of delicious appetizers were prepared for us. The room was very clean and the bathroom and tub were spotless. I was only briefly disappointed because the European Deluxe breakfast I... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear LoLoRedsoul2014, It is a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay at the St Paul Hotel! We are glad you were pleased with your Only You romantic package and hope you had a wonderful time in Montreal. Do not hesitate to contact us should you be planing to visit the city again. The Management More

Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm a fairly critical person so remember that when reading. The hotel is really nice. The design is not like most hotels. I liked it. The lobby was a little dark, but I guess that was part of the design. The only thing I didn't like about the design was the occasional mismatching. Most of the hotel seems to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Basir514, Thank you very much for this thorough review of your recent stay in our establishment. Our design is indeed unique and everything is carefully thought by our own renowned designer, Ana Borrallo. We are glad you have enjoyed it, as well as the size of your room and the service of our staff. We have some major in-room... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful modern decor , great rooms , very clean . Romantic setting in old Montreal with good restaurants nearby among cobblestone streets. The service was good and welcoming . I had a great time during my stay in St Paul hotel on my honeymoon , but it is also a great place for a business stay .No regrets , worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear Cheriegoss18, Thank you for sharing you kind words about your recent experience at the St Paul Hotel. It is a brilliant way to start the day for us! We are happy to read that you had the most enjoyable stay during your honeymoon in Old Montreal! We hope to have the chance to welcoming you again for another perfect... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is pretty nondescript but a good enough choice, however, it tries too hard to be urban chic. Staff were pleasant and helpful and service overall was very good. The room was clean and functional but needs an update, especially the bathroom. The bed was comfortable though, and I guess that's what counts when on a business trip. Nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JDufault, Manager at Hotel St. Paul, responded to this review

Dear The_Traveler_011, We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay in our establishment. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the service of our staff and the comfort of our beds. However, we are sorry that our minimalist decor was not memorable for you. We have many surprises coming in early 2015 that... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel St. Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Paul

Address: 355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Paul
St Paul Hotel

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (143)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay