We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ambrose

2.5 of 5 3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A-1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hotel Ambrose
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Ambrose
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    66
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
61
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ambrose
See the most recent reviews
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed here on a recent trip to Montreal for four nights. We received really lovely service, in three languages, no less! The building is clean and quiet, the bed was comfortable and the included breakfasts were amply laid out. While the internet access is free, you must retrieve a new login & password each day from the front desk. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Very central location, super clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I love the location of this hotel, quiet and central. My room was very spacious and clean.The breakfast area in the basement is a bit disappointing, but I am pleasantly surprised by the the bagel and smoked salmon, maybe it is holiday special....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Like the other reviewers mention, this is a truly no frills hotel. It looks like it hasn't been updated in a while, but the room was adequately comfortable. Also like other reviewers mentioned, the breakfast was truly barebones, and could be improved. However, the location of the hotel is exceptional, and considering the price, it presented an excellent value. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hansning, Manager at Hotel Ambrose, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We recently changed ownership of the hotel, and the new team is working hard to improve the hotel, including the breakfast. We hope to have the chance to serve you again! More 

Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed here recently mostly because of the location--although there are so many hotels nearby that you can take your pick where to stay. My biggest disappointment was the mattress quality and the flat, pancake pillows. Please hoteliers--recognize how important the bed is! Forget the multiple bottles of shampoo and the vanity kits--invest in good mattresses and/or replace them regularly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hansning, Manager at Hotel Ambrose, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on Manoir Ambrose. The hotel recently changed ownership, and the new team is taking all reviews and comments, whether new or old, very seriously. If it is possible, please let us know in which room you had stayed. Some mattresses have since been changed, and we would like to make sure your room was one... More 

Shanghai
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

After a long flight we 3 (my husband, my 5-year daughter and I) arrived the hotel and were told the room is not ready though we had booked/paid online already. You can't imagine how small/old the room is. almost no space to turn around. no any noise provention. it is a B&B but the breadfast was so poor and their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hansning, Manager at Hotel Ambrose, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Every comment is helpful for us to improve the quality of our guests stay. We have recently improved the breakfast to something unique, and we are sure that you would not be disappointed by it again. Our housekeepers work hard to make sure every room is ready when the guests arrive, and in rare circumstances,... More 

Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My colleague had stayed here a year or so ago. Since then it looks like it has really gone downhill and presumably there was a fire next door as it is all boarded up. The website touts wireless internet but there was a fee and the service was terrible as it kept dropping. The room was clean but dark as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hansning, Manager at Hotel Ambrose, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Each and every comment is helpful to us, as they are the guide which we improve on. We are under a new management team, and one of the first things changed was to make wireless a complimentary service. The quality of service has since been improved as well. We pride ourselves with professional, kind and... More 

Salmon Arm, BC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We booked this hotel (5 rooms) in April for $120 per night prior to the official announcement of the Montrel F1 races. After the announcement by F1 for the go ahead they informed us the room rate is $400 per night. We cancelled obviously.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

just in the heart of downtown, this small hotel is an excllent option if you don't want to spend much but still want to stay in a convenient location in downtown..the staff were friendly...an old house turned into a hotel...rooms are of good size..didn't like the breakfast service (included with room) though..my overall experience is very pleasent and would like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambrose

Address: 3422 rue Stanley, Montreal, Quebec H3A-1R8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir Ambrose)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambrose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Ambrose Montreal
Manoir Ambrose Hotel Montreal
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Montreal

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay