We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Universel Montreal

Hotel website
5000 Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Auberge Universel)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Universel Montreal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Universel Montreal
Hotel Universel Montreal
Hotel Universel Montreal
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    85
    73
    34
    16
See reviews for
79
71
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (239)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
SILVER SPRING, MARYLAND
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff members were all great and accommodating. The rooms were somewhat dated but clean, quite and comfortable. This hotel was packed the entire time that we stayed there. The amenities were more than adequate. They have onsite a full restaurant, lounge/bar which were nicely appointed. It's a short drive to Old Montreal and quite convenient to all major access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean, economical, simple. Don't apply expansive American standards and you'll be fine here. The restaurant and bar are welcomed since there is little nearby (at least within walking distance) and, according to my research, this was the best bet - value and geography - for Olympic Stadium. The surrounding area is industrial Montreal (if you're here for classic old town,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is in the busy outer city area of Montreal. If you want to go to Old Montreal (and you should!) you will need to drive, taxi, or Uber. Walking distance (maybe 5 minutes) to Saputo soccer stadium, 10 minutes to Olympic stadium. Room was quiet. Bathrooms were updated but had that sliding, glazed door between the toilet/shower area and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Fawnlilly, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review. You bring up a good point about the sliding doors and will keep that in mind for future projects for renovations. Thank you again! Simon More 

Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

About a 15 minute walk to stadium. 1 mile from a Tim Horton's. Room was average, I was on the 5th floor. Bar should of had another server. Parking is free. Bed was comfy though. Could not get air conditioner to work properly. Lower level rooms seemed to be older.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night here the area is fairly run down and the hotel doesn't have a particularly nice feel to it but the room was good, spacious and clean. The guy on reception was very abrupt with people and often ignored you if he was busy with something else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear JackoMiddlesbrough, We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us review. Review such as yours help us to improve and correct our quality of service. We will make sure to speak with the team and make sure the experience that you had does not happen again. KInd regards, Simon More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay here. Absolutely loved that the hotel was across the street from all of the main attrractions that I wanted to visit (Jardin de Montreal, Biodome, Planetarium). It was also a short walk to the metro station, so when we traveled to Old Montreal, we left the car and took the train. Staff was amazing and everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Dominique F, We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We hope and look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Montreal. Thank you again. Regards, Simon More 

Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for women's World Cup June 14th, 15th. Booked through Expedia. Fair price for the location. It had beds and a door. Bad vibe all around though. There were room service trays outside our room door from check in to check out 2 days. They seemed to multiply every 5 hours with half eaten food. Rooms were adequately clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Patrickalkelly, We apologize that your stay was not enjoyable. I thank you for taking the time to point out our flaws so we may improve ourselves. I watch Hotel Impossible as well and I totally agree with you that the dusts in the room and trays in the hallway are not acceptable. I will make sure to pass on... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Poor renovations - bathroom upgrades using a glass door result in the toilet paper holder being installed nearly out of reach (a shirt person would not be able to reach the paper from the seat) the toilet room door not closing all the way, hand towel holder being installed knee height at sink. Who designed this? Did the designer actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear 987654321br, Your comments are very important to us as they help us to improve our service. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. Our rates aren't usually this high. Due to the major events in the area and in Montreal, as do many other hotels in Montreal, we do have to unfortunately adjust the rates... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only spent two nights and both nights the toilet kept running all night. The first night, we were came so late we didn't bring it up until we woke up the next day. They apologized and we went out and it was fixed. The next night, we came back, used the toilet a few times and it kept running... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Y-Nhi2002, We are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. I would like to folllow up with the issues and hope to fix them as soon as possible. If you would have a moment, please contact me at spak@hoteluniverselmontreal.com with the room number that you stayed in. I will make sure to verify with... More 

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We normally stay at Holiday Inn but in Montreal the Holiday Inn was double the price of this hotel. This hotel badly needs an update. The bathrooms are old and dingy with cracking tiles. The beds are small and firm. The wifi is poor and there are few TV channels to watch. The pool is dated as well. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Trish V, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a comment. On your next visit with us, please inquire about our renovated Premium rooms. We have over 100 renovated rooms and in hopes of meeting the expectations of our guests, we will renovate the remaining rooms as well. Please contact me at spak@hoteluniverselmontreal.com... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

435 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Executive Suite (58)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (14)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Premium Double King Room (29)
Viewed
Premium King Room (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Superior Double King Room (25)
Viewed
Superior King Room (23)
Viewed
Superior Suite (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)

Neighborhood Profile
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Named for the Olympic Stadium complexes built for the 1976 games, the Olympic Park and the surrounding neighborhood of Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) make up an invigorated area dedicated to "Space for Life." Around the Olympic Village's arenas and stadiums, Rue Sherbrooke welcomes exploration of its sculpture gardens decorated in the works of Jean-Paul Riopelle and its museum culture headed by the historical Château Dufresne. Maisonneuve Park offers interactive experiences at its bio-dome, insectarium, planetarium, and botanical gardens. For a change of scene, the gentrified space along Rue Ontario Est is packed with the city's newest, edgiest cafes, where an imaginative, youthful crowd sips foamy cappuccinos. A visit here is incomplete without stepping into the vast halls of the Maisonneuve Market, with flower stalls, wine depots, and local produce.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay