We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Universel Montreal

Hotel website
5000 Sherbrooke E, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Auberge Universel)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Universel Montreal
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    99
    88
    37
    18
See reviews for
102
80
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (278)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (152)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
London, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a good location but the hotel is not the best. They advertised 2 pools, but the inside one was under repair and it was too cold to use the outdoor pool. But we were not warned the indoor pool was unavailable. If you buy breakfast, don't get your hopes up. The food is not great, and I cancelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear SheltieOwner, We are sorry to hear that the breakfast was not the best. We would like to know it what way we can improve the service for the breakfast. I would like to be able to see it in detail with the restaurant manager. We apologize for the inconvenience for not being able to use the indoor swimming pool.... More 

Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is close to Olympic Stadium, Biodôme, Botanical Garden and Stade Saputo (soccer).The subway (Metro) entrance is a 10 minute walk. If you prefer the free hotel shuttle will take you there. I stayed at this landmark hotel some 25 years ago. As they offered the best deal for our need (parking was included, two double beds…) I returned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear ClaudeC, We thank you for choosing to stay with us and are glad that you took the time to mention where we need to concentrate our efforts. We are happy to learn that we were chosen because of of the services we offer such as the free parking and our shuttle service. We will look forward to welcome you... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of a trip thru Canada. This was part of a package tour so this place was arranged by the tour company. We arrived in the afternoon and everything was ready with the rooms. The room was simple; basic and clean. We were scheduled to have a "Welcome Dinner" at the hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear Fechef, We are glad to learn that your stay went well. We thank you for taking the time to comment about the restaurant. I do agree that having supper at 10pm is a bit too late. Weather it is bad or good comments, I will make sure to pass them to our restaurant manager. Kind regards, Simon More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is well located not far from downtown. The lobby is quite ok for this type of hotel. The rooms are totally outdated with cracked ceramic in the bathroom and really smelly. We had a door going on the parking which left us a MOTEL feeling. They have 2 pools which the children can swim... I dont recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear wakake, We thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. I will see with the maintenance manager to inspect the tiles as it is very important. We have lots of mixed reviews about the rooms on the first floor such as the one you stayed in. Many guests appreciate a direct access to the outside to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really liked the room. Very stylish, and a great view of the Olympic Stadium. The room was clean and bright. We had 3 complaints..the water pressure in the shower; REALLY BAD. The WIFI is slower than Communist Russia's. ...kids running up and down the hallways. Seriously...there was one room on our floor we were convinced had 20 children staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear BrankiC, We are sorry to hear that your stay did not went well. We are very surprised about the service at he restaurant as we find it unacceptable that a guest is being ignored. I will be sure to see with the restaurant manager to address this issue as no guest should have to go through what you have... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel based on the positive reviews I read, HOWEVER, I was disappointed on arrival. The lobby is "nice" and the front desk staff upon check in and check out were nice, however, the late night staff at the front desk was awful. There is ONE elevator that takes FOREVER and is very small (there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear DBJ_ESQ, I thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. I am not pleased to learn that the housekeeping staff seemed rude to you. This is something that should not happen. Please rest assured that I will look into this with the general manager and housekeeping manager. I will see myself with the night... More 

Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in late for a one night stay. I was in town with my wife and niece. My niece needed to do a visa run and we were there to help get her there and provide moral support. We just needed a place to sleep as we arrived late Sunday and expected to check out early Monday morning. I saw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in town for Roger's Cup. Although this hotel is out of the way, the access to the metro was what we were looking for at a good price. After having read reviews, I was happy with what we found. Room was fine..nothing fancy but we got what we paid for. The pools were appreciated as it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was an easy walk to the botanical gardens, and close to the Olympic park and biodome and insectarium, but not much else. If you want to see the Old Port, or downtown Montreal, you will need a taxi, or to drive. We walked to the nearest train station which was doable but not really "close". There wasn't much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a corner room at the parking lot level. It was an extra large suite, with a king bedroom that had its own hazy glass door, a jacuzzi bath with shower, vanity, and toilet (all behind a hazy glass sliding door), and a living area with dining table and refrigerator. The room was extremely clean and quiet, despite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Universel Montreal, responded to this review

Dear cajun_cooker, We thank you for staying with us and taken some time out of your schedule to leave us a review. Review such as yours are important to us as we continue to work hard to welcome our valued guests. I will make sure to point out your comments in meetings with other managers. Thank you again. Simon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

437 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Executive Suite (58)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (14)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Premium Double King Room (29)
Viewed
Premium King Room (27)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Superior Double King Room (25)
Viewed
Superior King Room (23)
Viewed
Superior Suite (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Royal Versailles Hotel
Royal Versailles Hotel
#95 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#64 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#88 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)

Neighborhood Profile
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Named for the Olympic Stadium complexes built for the 1976 games, the Olympic Park and the surrounding neighborhood of Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) make up an invigorated area dedicated to "Space for Life." Around the Olympic Village's arenas and stadiums, Rue Sherbrooke welcomes exploration of its sculpture gardens decorated in the works of Jean-Paul Riopelle and its museum culture headed by the historical Château Dufresne. Maisonneuve Park offers interactive experiences at its bio-dome, insectarium, planetarium, and botanical gardens. For a change of scene, the gentrified space along Rue Ontario Est is packed with the city's newest, edgiest cafes, where an imaginative, youthful crowd sips foamy cappuccinos. A visit here is incomplete without stepping into the vast halls of the Maisonneuve Market, with flower stalls, wine depots, and local produce.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay