We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Berri

2.5 of 5
1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Lord Berri
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #90 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
MDO44 Ontario
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    81
    85
    39
    30
See reviews for
37
81
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As some of the reviews were not that great, we were a bit worried, but everything turned out great. We were a few minutes away from Ste Catherine, so very close to subway, fast foods ,liquor store etc. and only 10 min. from Metropolis for no ur concerts,which was great. Room, clean and spacious and very quiet. We were with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

I was very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have another opportunity to welcome again. Just a little note to let you know that Lord Berri is planning to join a major renown banner to become Marriott Fairfield in the near future in order to provide the best service ever to our guests. Thank... More 

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There seems to be many negative reviews on this hotel, but we found our stay to be quite fair for what we paid. Our room was very spacious, wifi worked just fine, no issues with hot water even on the 10th floor (top floor). It's certainly not a hotel to spend all your time in as it is a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Gérant at Lord Berri, responded to this review

I red your comments and would like to thank you for your honest appreciation. We always strive to do our best to satisfy our customers. I am also taking this opportunity to inform that the Lord Berri will soon join a renown banner to become Marriott Fairfield. Hope to have chance to welcome you back again. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The room was fine, if a little dated, and the bed was comfortable. The bar/restaurant was also adequate if not exciting. However, wifi was important to us and it was only satisfactory on one day of the four we stayed - on two days web pages would be slow (e.g. a minute to load a simple page) and would often... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review
Google Translation

A la suite de vos commentaires concernant le WIFI, nous avons verifie et avons decouvere qu'il y avait un problem... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Me and two friends stayed at this hotel over this Family day long weekend. Let me start off by saying we had low expectation for the hotel, yet we were very disappointed. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! The first day of our stay I went to take a shower only to find out there was no hot water. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

First of all I want to thank you for your comments. During that week end, we hosted students from York University Toronto. This group of 280 people turned to be nightmare to the Hotel: - Breaking walls that you saw. - Smoking put. - Drinking in corridors and running all over the place. Our security was overwhelmed chasing people everywhere.... More 

London, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I booked this hotel thinking it was the nearby Les Gouveneurs. My stay was disappointing. The lobby is shabby and small. The room is adequate, but the carpet is old. I thought I was booking a room was 2 queen beds, but then discovered I only had one queen bed and had to pay for an update. I was unable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Med L, Gérant at Lord Berri, responded to this review

After having checked thoroughly your comments, we regret to say that your comments do not reflect the reality, The Lord Berri is much better than what you are reporting.: - WIFI works very well - The room you had was the room type you booked & you did not pay any extra If you wanted different room and requested it... More 

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Lord berri is a good convenient hotel which is close to all amenities. The staff was quite helpful . You can store your luggage if you need to check out for a few days and then check back in. The restaurant offered reasonable fare but you can eat at other places which are close by. The room was equipped with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My expectations weren't high based on what we paid for the single night we stayed there, but the frugal travel companion who booked the Lord Berri, admitted that we should have paid a little more. First the positive, the staff is friendly and efficient and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. Sadly the bad outweighed that. The hotel is very disheveled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Med L, Gérant at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are however surprised by them regarding the heating in the room. Every room is heated with an electrical unit controlled by a thermostat on the wall located at room entrance. The Heater unit is independent and not connected with the A/C. If our maintenance personnel had know this situation while you are in the... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I chose this hotel because of it's location and price. It delivered, based on those criteria. So, it's not the flashiest, nicest hotel around, but it was what I was expecting. The staff are not overly friendly either, and the restaurant is quite slow...but, again, I wasn't arriving there with the highest of expectations. The room was adequate, although very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I know there are some pretty awful reviews of this place so I was a slight bit nervous, but we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The ladies at the front desk were wonderful! Very helpful and pleasant. We needed help with directions twice and we had no trouble getting where we needed to go. We walked to the event... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The location in good, but the room was stuffy from the get go. The room did have a bulky old noisy air conditioner so we ran it the whole night to keep the room at a tolerable temp. Also the toilet would not flush unless i held the handle down for the entire flush. Definately a low end option.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighborhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question