We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Berri

1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Lord Berri
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #92 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Corey R Riverside, California
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    86
    94
    46
    32
See reviews for
47
90
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed here from July 15 - July 22 and found this place to be nice. Like most people, I read some of the reviews about this place and was a little worried...but after staying here, I am glad my friend and I did. This place is not a luxurious hotel but it worked for us cause... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We sincerely thank you for your comments. We always try to do our best to make sure our guest's enjoy their stay with us. For your information, we are actually working actively on renovation program of the property that will allow us to join soon the renoun international banner Marriott Fairfield. Thanking you again, we do hope to have the... More 

Wurtsboro, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I booked this hotel I was worried because of all the bad reviews on here. If you are wondering if you will like the hotel, I think you have to ask yourself what kind of guest you are. If you are overly demanding and extremely finicky, you will probably not like it. If you are comfortable staying in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We have red your comments and would like to thank you. You can rest assured that we do our utmost possible to take care of our customers to make them feel at home. Thank you again. Med Laaouan General manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Liked the location as it's walking distance to major attractions, specially Old Montreal. Metro is right there as well. Used parking adjacent to the hotel as it was cheaper and convenient ($15/night) Rooms need some upgrade but it was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We take this opportunity to inform you that we are actually working on a major renovation program in order to adhere soon to the renoun banner Marriott Fairfield. In the meantime we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming again during your next visit to Montreal. Med Laaouan. General manager More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location, but is Old and in need of some TLC. The rooms were clean, but very worn out. The staff was good, and the elevators were fast. The restaurant is Ok for Breakfast, but dinner was horrible, and you're within walking distance of some great alternatives in Old Montreal. Parking was an issue for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous avons pris connaissance de vos commentaires avec interet et vous en remercions. Nous regrettons que le restaurant ne soit... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel a lot for business, most times chain hotels. This place is a dump, lets start with the staff at reception, rude, ignorant, couldn't care less...not helpful with questions. No quality parking, outside on the street if you're so lucky or in a lot next to the hotel where they pack cars in like sardines and you can't take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

I red your comments for which I thank you. At the same time I am very surprised and concerned with their content. We sincerely regret that our hotel did not meet your expectation. Through out the year we host thousands of customers and their feed back regarding the attitude of our staff has been always very good. In regards to... More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

on arrival was allocated a horrible room which had so much carpet freshener I gagged! then was moved to a better one the next day. given directions which were so wrong I missed the first meeting in Montreal. breakfast not included. Unable to open any windows so very stuffy in there. as the week went on, better reception staff and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We regret that the first room was not up to your expectation. All windows are locked for security purpose, however, we do open window if requested. In regards to the information on directions, we are making sure that all front office employees are aware of major events in the city and important locations to inform... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Recently stayed here. Dealing with front desk is a little slow but i think its system they have to check people in and out. We had no issues unless you want WIFI. connection is terrible in hotel, but besides that great location not even block to the Metro to hop on the train. It is just around the corner from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous avons lu vos commentaires avec attention et vous en remercions. Nous sommes actuellement en train d'evaluer le system WIFI... More 

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

At one time the Lord Berri Hotel was a nice hotel, but I'm sorry to say it has gone down hill. I had to change rooms 4 times before I got a decent room. This hotel needs a lot of work and also staff that will clean the rooms & check for problems in the rooms. The first room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to see that you went through these situation of changing room several times. The room with dirty towels on the floor seems to be room not cleaned or in process to be cleaned by housekeeping. That room should have been blocked in the system to avoid showing it to customer. In... More 

Algonac, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Our room was clean but outdated. The parking garage for the hotel was completely full, so we couldn't park there. We were forced to park in the lot next door with no in & out privileges. We requested additional towels and they were provided, but soap was not. Did I mention that my credit card was compromised after making my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Than you for your comments. However, we do not understand how your credit card can be compromised. Hour PMS system is protected and no one from outside has access to our guest's personal information. In regards to the parking, the parking you used is public, hotel has no control on how they operate. For your information and in order to... More 

Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed at this hotel only because our team coordinator arranged it. Lobby was alright with very good customer service. Room (and hallway) is in need of updating, and I guess they are working on it since we had a parent meeting in one of the rooms upstairs and it looked fabulous and felt cleaner too! Didn't have a chance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci pour vos commentaires. Effectivement, nous sommes en grande preparation pour renover l'Hotel. Tres bientot, nous allons avoir la banniere... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#89 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#53 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Days Inn Montreal Downtown
Days Inn Montreal Downtown
#90 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Travelodge Montreal Centre
Travelodge Montreal Centre
#93 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighborhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay