We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Berri

1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Lord Berri
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    88
    98
    49
    38
See reviews for
51
93
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (139)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was here earlier this week and both myself and many fellow travellers woke up to find we had received many bites. We were all staying in different rooms. The place is poorly kept and in need of a great deal of TLC.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We red your comments and have to disagree strongly with you. We have no bedbugs in this property. For your information our hotel is inspected regularly by Extermination Company with which we have a contract to avoid any surprises like that. The Name of the company if you wish to contact them is LaSalle Extermination Inc. Montreal Tel 514 363-7311.... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The area is kinda sketchy and the rooms are old and ratty..... There is no pool here and no free continental breakfast! It is close to an university and the gay area. If you could pick other hotels, go for it. I didn't really like it here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci pour vos commentaires, malheureusement le quartier est ce qu'il est. Mais l'endroit est a proximite de toutes les activites... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Internet was down constantly. Had to switch rooms and still had no service. No parking available so we had to park in an outdoor lot. No hot water in bathroom. Were promised it would be fixed but never was, and nobody called to ask us if things had been fixed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous avons bien lu vos commentaires et vous en remercions. Effectivement,, nous avons eu certains problems techniques avec le Wi-Fi... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An adequate stay that is near all amenities and public transport. However, I wouldn't recommend staying here during summer unless you're okay with aircon all the time and no fresh air. The windows in the room don't open and made for a very stuffy experience, especially with three of us in a room. Don't expect luxury or anything special but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci pour vos commentaire. Nous profitons de cette occasion pour vous informer que nous finalisons actuellement un projet majeur pour... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Check-in took an age due to old systems still in place (taking a graphite print of the credit card (no debit card allowed)). Specifically booked a certain room on the 5th floor as we had been notified it had been renovated. However, was told that we had been "upgraded" to a junior suite. Upon arrival, the room was dated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to report to us you critics .We have however checked thoroughly your comments and could find any of the problems reported. The iniciative to upgrad you to a Junior Suite was done with the idea to satisfy you and make your stay more enjoyable. Unfortunatly, this was not the case and we regret that.... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were not the most pleasant. The two ladies at reception could learn to smile a little more or at least fake it. The hotel had a musty smelly, but was pretty clean and washrooms were well kept. The covers should really be updated. Honestly looks over 30 years old. Would really change the look of your rooms if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. All our Front Office staff have been informed of your comments to make sure they pay more attention, event when they are busy. In regards to your other comment, we have a strict and regular preventive inspections in place through out the year to prevent this kind of situation. Thank you again. Med Laaouan. General... More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here several times in the past. Not great but good. This weekend was terrible. * access cards had to be reset 4 times * shower did not work the first time, just a dribble * a/C sounded like a truck, maintenance guy turned it down called it fixed * elevator out 2 of 3 days * wifi slow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

During this very busy week end we run into certain technical problems with one elevator on Sunday night and had to be fixed Monday afternoon with new parts. We regret that your key card and WIFI did work. All the other details reported have been fixed. For your information, we are working actively on a renovation program that will allow... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Broken shower, access card problems, bad wifi, broken elevator, really noisy air conditioning, maid left dirty sheets on my bed. Only good thing is location. Definitely would not recommend even to my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We have red your comments with interest and we are extremely surprised of their content. We host thousand of guest's through out the year and have only good comments about our Front Desk Staff. In regards to the parking, unfortunately, our parking is very limited. It is assigned first come first served. We also would like to inform you that... More 

Riverside, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed here from July 15 - July 22 and found this place to be nice. Like most people, I read some of the reviews about this place and was a little worried...but after staying here, I am glad my friend and I did. This place is not a luxurious hotel but it worked for us cause... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We sincerely thank you for your comments. We always try to do our best to make sure our guest's enjoy their stay with us. For your information, we are actually working actively on renovation program of the property that will allow us to join soon the renoun international banner Marriott Fairfield. Thanking you again, we do hope to have the... More 

Wurtsboro, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

When I booked this hotel I was worried because of all the bad reviews on here. If you are wondering if you will like the hotel, I think you have to ask yourself what kind of guest you are. If you are overly demanding and extremely finicky, you will probably not like it. If you are comfortable staying in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We have red your comments and would like to thank you. You can rest assured that we do our utmost possible to take care of our customers to make them feel at home. Thank you again. Med Laaouan General manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#89 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#51 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Chinatown
Travelodge Montreal Centre
Travelodge Montreal Centre
#92 of 164 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Days Inn Montreal Downtown
Days Inn Montreal Downtown
#91 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#46 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighborhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay