We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Berri

1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Lord Berri
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #91 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Scottishji Edinburgh
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    28
    83
    89
    43
    31
See reviews for
42
85
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (274)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

on arrival was allocated a horrible room which had so much carpet freshener I gagged! then was moved to a better one the next day. given directions which were so wrong I missed the first meeting in Montreal. breakfast not included. Unable to open any windows so very stuffy in there. as the week went on, better reception staff and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We regret that the first room was not up to your expectation. All windows are locked for security purpose, however, we do open window if requested. In regards to the information on directions, we are making sure that all front office employees are aware of major events in the city and important locations to inform... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed here. Dealing with front desk is a little slow but i think its system they have to check people in and out. We had no issues unless you want WIFI. connection is terrible in hotel, but besides that great location not even block to the Metro to hop on the train. It is just around the corner from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous avons lu vos commentaires avec attention et vous en remercions. Nous sommes actuellement en train d'evaluer le system WIFI... More 

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At one time the Lord Berri Hotel was a nice hotel, but I'm sorry to say it has gone down hill. I had to change rooms 4 times before I got a decent room. This hotel needs a lot of work and also staff that will clean the rooms & check for problems in the rooms. The first room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to see that you went through these situation of changing room several times. The room with dirty towels on the floor seems to be room not cleaned or in process to be cleaned by housekeeping. That room should have been blocked in the system to avoid showing it to customer. In... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Algonac, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was clean but outdated. The parking garage for the hotel was completely full, so we couldn't park there. We were forced to park in the lot next door with no in & out privileges. We requested additional towels and they were provided, but soap was not. Did I mention that my credit card was compromised after making my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Than you for your comments. However, we do not understand how your credit card can be compromised. Hour PMS system is protected and no one from outside has access to our guest's personal information. In regards to the parking, the parking you used is public, hotel has no control on how they operate. For your information and in order to... More 

Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed at this hotel only because our team coordinator arranged it. Lobby was alright with very good customer service. Room (and hallway) is in need of updating, and I guess they are working on it since we had a parent meeting in one of the rooms upstairs and it looked fabulous and felt cleaner too! Didn't have a chance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci pour vos commentaires. Effectivement, nous sommes en grande preparation pour renover l'Hotel. Tres bientot, nous allons avoir la banniere... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Decided to try Lord Berri than our usual stay at Gouverneur Hotel Place Dupuis in Montreal. My room was clean and spacious. Has Keurig, fridge, flat screen TV and AC. Wi-Fi was not very good. Constantly waiting just to access email and Facebook; I found that by walking over to Ste-Catherine just outside the Gouverneur I can access its free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We sincerely regret what happened during your breakfast. You can rest assured that we do our best and train our employees to pay more attention to our guest's need. The restaurant being a concession, we are bringing your comments to their attention to avoid future similar situation. Thank you agin. Med Laaouan GM More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We travelled with another couple by car from Ottawa for the Mother's Day weekend and were nervous about all the cars pulled over by the QPP but kept our cruise control on and had no issues. We were early for check in but we're able to park in the underground lot and set out to explore Old Montreal by horse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

I am very happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us. We sincerely hope to see you again and wish you all the best. Warmest regards. Med.Laaouan General Manager. More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

As some of the reviews were not that great, we were a bit worried, but everything turned out great. We were a few minutes away from Ste Catherine, so very close to subway, fast foods ,liquor store etc. and only 10 min. from Metropolis for no ur concerts,which was great. Room, clean and spacious and very quiet. We were with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

I was very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have another opportunity to welcome again. Just a little note to let you know that Lord Berri is planning to join a major renown banner to become Marriott Fairfield in the near future in order to provide the best service ever to our guests. Thank... More 

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

There seems to be many negative reviews on this hotel, but we found our stay to be quite fair for what we paid. Our room was very spacious, wifi worked just fine, no issues with hot water even on the 10th floor (top floor). It's certainly not a hotel to spend all your time in as it is a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Med L, Gérant at Lord Berri, responded to this review

I red your comments and would like to thank you for your honest appreciation. We always strive to do our best to satisfy our customers. I am also taking this opportunity to inform that the Lord Berri will soon join a renown banner to become Marriott Fairfield. Hope to have chance to welcome you back again. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The room was fine, if a little dated, and the bed was comfortable. The bar/restaurant was also adequate if not exciting. However, wifi was important to us and it was only satisfactory on one day of the four we stayed - on two days web pages would be slow (e.g. a minute to load a simple page) and would often... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review
Google Translation

A la suite de vos commentaires concernant le WIFI, nous avons verifie et avons decouvere qu'il y avait un problem... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighborhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay