We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel La Sagueneenne

250, Rue des Sagueneens, Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Quebec G7H 3A4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel La Sagueneenne
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    45
    29
    15
    15
See reviews for
37
34
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Leyden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family of 4 stayed here recently and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. My children, ages 7 and 8, loved the pool area. It was great having 2 hot tubs, and I appreciated having a life guard on duty at all times. Our room was clean and spacious, and overlooked the pool which provided a pleasant view. The desk staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our very clean room and very comfortable beds/bedding. A bit dissapointed that we had to wait when we arrived (late afternoon) for our room to be ready. Members of our family enjoyed the nice pool area, including hot tubs and working sauna. I would agree with another guest reviewer that we did catch a bit of a whiff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wretched. Dated rooms: - bathroom tiles remind you of some kind of science experiment in a petri dish. - floor tiles scream " lets save money and purchase theft over subway/metro tiles" - Walls: not sure what the designer was thinking to put stucko - beds: lumpy, rickety, perfect for a community college dorm - nothing about the room made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, We take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. I would like to discuss your experience with you, please send an email to info@lasagueneenne.com, so I may address it with you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chicoutimi hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

We were there for business, management were not flexible at all compared to other brands. i prefer to pay 30$ more than having bad customer service, Rooms are not so bad , overpriced yes. Noise is existing especially close to elevator,

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Mr Oubidar, I'm very surprise to read your comment. Can I ask you to contact me in private to discuss further about your experience? My team did not report me anything special during your stay dates and I would like to learn more. I'm looking forward to earing from you. General manager info@lasagueneenne.com More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015 via mobile

Noisy. Walls are paper thin. Smells of cigarette smoke. Dirty carpets. Wind whistling through sliding patio doors. The only reason they received 2 out of 5 is due to the restaurant staff. Good food. Come for the food and stay somewhere else to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had in our hotel. Moreover, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been heard and actions have been taken to continue improving our guest services. We strive to achieve the complete satisfactions of all our guests. Regards, More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Well... I'll just list the pros and cons of this hotel based on my experience: -Pros: I had a comfortable bed and the "mini-fridge" was larger than usual. -Cons: The furniture and decor are very dated (1990's maybe). In fact, furniture was so old that my sofa had holes in the fabric covering the arms. Exercise room had equally old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review about La Sagueneenne. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience you did experience during your stay with us, and that we didn't meet your expectations. According to benchmarking we conduct on a regular basis and considering the services offered in the room, such as fridge, microwave, heating floor in the bathroom, magnifying mirror, Keurig... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I've been a regular guest at La Sagueneenne for a number of years. Always on business trips, getting there after a five to six hour car ride, sometimes through blizzards or heavy rains, finally arriving at La Sagueneenne always felt like finding an oasis in the desert. The place is a no-frills, down to the essentials, unassuming kind of hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, I have one word to say: «wow!». Your review is invigorating. I will definitly, share it with people who make you feel unique. Best regards, More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Reasonably priced standard hotel in Chicoutimi. American breakfast included. Rooms were clean. Separate sink and bath/toilet areas. Air conditioner was noisy, but it was possible to open the window. Okay for one-night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your positive review. Regards More 

Chicoutimi, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in June. The room had two comfortable queen sized beds and a mini fridge with microwave and coffee maker, and is located directly across the street from a supermarket. There is no in-hotel room service. The pool is wonderful and the service from all staff from reception to cleaners to pool lifeguard was great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post a review. It will be a pleasure to welcome you for your next stay in Chicoutimi. Regards, More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel is generally clean and the staff is really nice. The room was average size and we had no complaints. Our two issues with this hotel were that 1. there is only one slow elevator serving all guests and is also used by staff as a service elevator...so we opted for the stairs many times...... 2. The pool is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. It was nice to hear that the employees exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future. Sincerely, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicoutimi
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Fjord
Hotel du Fjord
#1 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
4.9 mi away
Delta Saguenay Hotel
Delta Saguenay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jonquiere
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Montagnais Saguenay
Le Montagnais Saguenay
#3 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
2.3 mi away
Auberge Le Parasol
Auberge Le Parasol
#8 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
13.2 mi away
L'Auberge des Battures
L'Auberge des Battures
#2 of 2 in La Baie
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay