We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Chicoutimi hotels

Hotel La Sagueneenne

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250, Rue des Sagueneens, Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Quebec G7H 3A4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Sagueneenne to your Saves list
Hotel La Sagueneenne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
48%
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
chafix Montreal, Canada
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    19
    11
    12
See reviews for
25
21
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've been a regular guest at La Sagueneenne for a number of years. Always on business trips, getting there after a five to six hour car ride, sometimes through blizzards or heavy rains, finally arriving at La Sagueneenne always felt like finding an oasis in the desert. The place is a no-frills, down to the essentials, unassuming kind of hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reasonably priced standard hotel in Chicoutimi. American breakfast included. Rooms were clean. Separate sink and bath/toilet areas. Air conditioner was noisy, but it was possible to open the window. Okay for one-night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your positive review. Regards More

Cornwall, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here for 5 nights in June. The room had two comfortable queen sized beds and a mini fridge with microwave and coffee maker, and is located directly across the street from a supermarket. There is no in-hotel room service. The pool is wonderful and the service from all staff from reception to cleaners to pool lifeguard was great.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post a review. It will be a pleasure to welcome you for your next stay in Chicoutimi. Regards, More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel is generally clean and the staff is really nice. The room was average size and we had no complaints. Our two issues with this hotel were that 1. there is only one slow elevator serving all guests and is also used by staff as a service elevator...so we opted for the stairs many times...... 2. The pool is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. It was nice to hear that the employees exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future. Sincerely, More

Newmarket
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I visited the restaurant for a brunch on Sunday Feb 2 and was really surprised to find out buffet food was left on presentation tables, unrefrigerated... no ice, nothing. This included egg sandwiches, mini-pitas with tuna or chicken salad, cut fruit, vegetables, creamy dips, cut tomatoes, cheese cubes and yogurt. As for the hot buffet items, they were lukewarm. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, I reviewed your comments regarding the experience you had at «Restaurant Le Tremblay». We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Be assured that your comments have been heard. We did the appropriate follow up with the food concession owners, and actions have been taken to improve their methods and procedures. Best... More

Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel was better that my previous hotel I stayed at but for the price it could have been much better. As others mentioned it is dated but still well kept, check in was fast. The restaurant Le Tremblay was good and located in the hotel. It was a cold night, and the heaters were not keeping up so it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to achieve the complete satisfaction of all our guests. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I... More

Charleston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where to start, staff are friendly, but the hotel is dated, nothing like the pictures that must have been taken some time ago. Room smelt of too much cleaning products and corridors smelt of smoke. Carpets have seen better days. I was there for one night and would not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We would like to inform you that in the last 2 weeks we replaced all furnitures of the ground floor rooms and during the last year all rooms of the 2nd floor have also been upgraded. We plan to improve our 2 last floors rooms... More

Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

when we first arrived we were disappointed with the location which looked like an industrial estate, but the hotel was a lovely and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful making us feel welcome from the moment we arrived, good facilities for the traveller with a fridge and microwave in each room,

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Hotel La Saguenenne. Thank you so much for staying with us. Sincerely, More

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've been to this hotel 8 or 9 times. We go there 1 or 2 times a year to visit family. The rooms need upgrades in some places, but they are still pretty modern and comfortable. There is a lot of services in this hôtel, more than you can ask for. The pool area make it really enjoyable, thought I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was nice to hear that our employees exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Indeed we occasionally have problems with our spas. Because spas are working with salt water, parts of water heaters wear out prematurely, this kind... More

Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Business trip in the area. Everything is fine.Check in was fast and front desk personnel is professional However bed in room 327 needs upgrading. Most uncomfortable bed I had in many many stays in hotel rooms around the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, Director of operations at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review about your stay. Be assured that your comments have been heard and actions have been taken. We asked to our housekeeping department to pay particular attention to mattresses and inform us if there are mattresses that need to be changed so that can be done before the end of the year. For your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel La Sagueneenne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel La Sagueneenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Sagueneenne

Address: 250, Rue des Sagueneens, Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Quebec G7H 3A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > Saguenay > Chicoutimi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Sagueneenne 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Sagueneenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel La Sagueneenne
Hotel La Sagueneenne Chicoutimi, Saguenay

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Chicoutimi with
any amenities