We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel La Sagueneenne

250, Rue des Sagueneens, Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Quebec G7H 3A4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Sagueneenne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel La Sagueneenne
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    37
    27
    13
    13
See reviews for
31
31
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

We were there for business, management were not flexible at all compared to other brands. i prefer to pay 30$ more than having bad customer service, Rooms are not so bad , overpriced yes. Noise is existing especially close to elevator,

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Mr Oubidar, I'm very surprise to read your comment. Can I ask you to contact me in private to discuss further about your experience? My team did not report me anything special during your stay dates and I would like to learn more. I'm looking forward to earing from you. General manager info@lasagueneenne.com More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015 via mobile

Noisy. Walls are paper thin. Smells of cigarette smoke. Dirty carpets. Wind whistling through sliding patio doors. The only reason they received 2 out of 5 is due to the restaurant staff. Good food. Come for the food and stay somewhere else to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had in our hotel. Moreover, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been heard and actions have been taken to continue improving our guest services. We strive to achieve the complete satisfactions of all our guests. Regards, More 

Travelers are raving about these Chicoutimi hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Well... I'll just list the pros and cons of this hotel based on my experience: -Pros: I had a comfortable bed and the "mini-fridge" was larger than usual. -Cons: The furniture and decor are very dated (1990's maybe). In fact, furniture was so old that my sofa had holes in the fabric covering the arms. Exercise room had equally old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review about La Sagueneenne. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience you did experience during your stay with us, and that we didn't meet your expectations. According to benchmarking we conduct on a regular basis and considering the services offered in the room, such as fridge, microwave, heating floor in the bathroom, magnifying mirror, Keurig... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I've been a regular guest at La Sagueneenne for a number of years. Always on business trips, getting there after a five to six hour car ride, sometimes through blizzards or heavy rains, finally arriving at La Sagueneenne always felt like finding an oasis in the desert. The place is a no-frills, down to the essentials, unassuming kind of hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, I have one word to say: «wow!». Your review is invigorating. I will definitly, share it with people who make you feel unique. Best regards, More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Reasonably priced standard hotel in Chicoutimi. American breakfast included. Rooms were clean. Separate sink and bath/toilet areas. Air conditioner was noisy, but it was possible to open the window. Okay for one-night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your positive review. Regards More 

Chicoutimi, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in June. The room had two comfortable queen sized beds and a mini fridge with microwave and coffee maker, and is located directly across the street from a supermarket. There is no in-hotel room service. The pool is wonderful and the service from all staff from reception to cleaners to pool lifeguard was great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post a review. It will be a pleasure to welcome you for your next stay in Chicoutimi. Regards, More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel is generally clean and the staff is really nice. The room was average size and we had no complaints. Our two issues with this hotel were that 1. there is only one slow elevator serving all guests and is also used by staff as a service elevator...so we opted for the stairs many times...... 2. The pool is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. It was nice to hear that the employees exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future. Sincerely, More 

Newmarket
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I visited the restaurant for a brunch on Sunday Feb 2 and was really surprised to find out buffet food was left on presentation tables, unrefrigerated... no ice, nothing. This included egg sandwiches, mini-pitas with tuna or chicken salad, cut fruit, vegetables, creamy dips, cut tomatoes, cheese cubes and yogurt. As for the hot buffet items, they were lukewarm. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, I reviewed your comments regarding the experience you had at «Restaurant Le Tremblay». We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Be assured that your comments have been heard. We did the appropriate follow up with the food concession owners, and actions have been taken to improve their methods and procedures. Best... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel was better that my previous hotel I stayed at but for the price it could have been much better. As others mentioned it is dated but still well kept, check in was fast. The restaurant Le Tremblay was good and located in the hotel. It was a cold night, and the heaters were not keeping up so it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to achieve the complete satisfaction of all our guests. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I... More 

Charleston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where to start, staff are friendly, but the hotel is dated, nothing like the pictures that must have been taken some time ago. Room smelt of too much cleaning products and corridors smelt of smoke. Carpets have seen better days. I was there for one night and would not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
directriceoperations, General Manager at Hotel La Sagueneenne, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We would like to inform you that in the last 2 weeks we replaced all furnitures of the ground floor rooms and during the last year all rooms of the 2nd floor have also been upgraded. We plan to improve our 2 last floors rooms... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicoutimi
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Fjord
Hotel du Fjord
#1 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Montagnais Saguenay
Le Montagnais Saguenay
#3 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
4.9 mi away
Delta Saguenay Hotel
Delta Saguenay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jonquiere
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
2.3 mi away
Auberge Le Parasol
Auberge Le Parasol
#6 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
13.2 mi away
L'Auberge des Battures
L'Auberge des Battures
#2 of 2 in La Baie
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay