We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
181 Fitzroy St., Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hillhurst Inn to your Saves list
Hillhurst Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
70%
Ranked #22 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
CynnieG Ottawa, Canada
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After admiring the Hillhurst Inn from the street during past visits I finally booked a room this year and was not disappointed. The well maintained exterior and grounds are only a small glimpse at how beautiful the inside is! I stayed in the Fitzroy room with a great four poster bed and found the room and entire Inn beautifully maintained.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
189 hotel reviews
526 helpful votes 526 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A belated review ... but better late than never! The Inn is in a perfect location a mere few minutes walk from the centre and about 10 from the waterfront. So, no need for a car or taxi. The Inn has a very appealing approach when you arrive and looks great. We got a friendly welcome from Melanie. It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at Hillhurst Inn while passing through Charlottetown as I cycled the Confederation Trail. The location was great as it was easily accessed from the trail and then an easy walk to downtown shops and restaurants. The Inn itself is beautiful. My room was well appointed and breakfast was great. One tip is I would suggest arranging your arrival... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this B&B. We were upgraded to the Queen Suite for free, which was a beautiful room with antique furniture and charming artwork. The inn manager, Melanie , was incredibly sweet and very thoughtful, helpful, and attentive. She was always available to answer our questions about places to eat and things to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Branford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a bed and breakfast that has wonderful location and a lovely young woman who is the person in charge. Her breakfasts are quite nice and she was very helpful. However, the inn needs some updating and refurbishing. But it is a very good place to stay when visiting Charlottetown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Hillhurst has been operating for some years now and maintains a steady standard in the downtown area of Charlottetown. The establishment is competitive with other B&B operations in the city and the one drawback of them all is the cost! They are all over priced and equal can be found just outside the city for considerably less! Hillhurst is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I don't see how one needs to bring the cleanliness of a room to the proprietor. That should be checked prior to a guest arriving - not as a reaction after the fact. I believe you have another couple in mind. We finished breakfast after that couple and they left the same day we did. Regardless there is a disconnect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had great expectation based on the photos and description. Unfortunately, we were disappointed all around. The B&B is for sale (she asked if we wanted to buy it within minutes of arriving....) so I suspect the owner has lost her enthusiasm if she ever had any. There was dust on the floor in corners and along the baseboards of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Owner at Hillhurst Inn, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I wish you would have told us of your concerns while you were here. The alarm clock did work and still does. We would have been happy to show you how to use it if it had been brought to our attention. Here at Hillhurst we endeavor to take care... More

Kingston, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Hillhurst in was a very disappointing experience. Our room, which we reserved for five nights was quite small and somewhat cramped compared to others on the same floor.. There was a down cover folded at the bottom of the bed which did not have a cover and showed signs of dirt. On our first night we used the glasses... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scott S, Owner at Hillhurst Inn, responded to this review

This guest requested a room closest to the stair due to mobility issue. This room was by no means small. As for the room not being done this was at the request of the guest as he and his wife spent most of their time in the room. We asked them daily. At no time during their stay did they... More

Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had booked (and had received confirmation) for two rooms for one night. When we arrived, they didn't have the second room for us even if we had the confirmation. Our friends were then given a Butler's room which was not what was reserved and was not a room which was up to par. At breakfast, we found out from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott S, Manager at Hillhurst Inn, responded to this review

First of all, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I would like to clarify that you booked 2 double rooms through booking.com for $145. This is the correct rate for the Brighton room (the butler's). We did, however, upgrade you to a queen at no charge. As we were full we were unable to upgrade... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hillhurst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hillhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillhurst Inn

Address: 181 Fitzroy St., Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hillhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillhurst Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Charlottetown with
any amenities