We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel

193 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4R8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    23
    11
    8
    0
See reviews for
10
46
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This older property is nicely maintained. Rooms are all a bit different—ours was nicely equipped with a fridge, sink and microwave as well as dishes—a couple of decent wine glass which is a nice touch. Staff were very friendly, and the location is very convenient to the Confederation Centre and Mack Theatre, and a number of the better restaurants in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great little room, with really charming decor. It's a good central location, and the price was right. The only thing was that it is an old creaky slanted building and the other guests were very loud very early in the morning -- walls are like paper! Still really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to PEI. Excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and comfortable, exactly what I expected for a 3-star hotel/inn. Don't expect anything fancy, the rooms are small compared to a typical chain hotel. Each room comes equipped with mini-fridge, window AC, TV, blowdryer & iron. The innkeepers were nice enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mahone Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent two nights at this lovely hotel last weekend .... loved it. Clean, comfortable and on top of it, historic! Close to the waterfront and within waIking distance of the Confederation Centre. Several decent restaurants nearby, as well. I highly recommend The Taylor Shop!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Pleasant elegant heritage place to stay at the bed is AMAZING, nothing bad to say except the free Keurig coffee is nothing special. The tv is small and way above near the ceiling but we didn't use it much just to hear the weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amesbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

This is not a shiny new hotel, but instead a clean and well-located place to stay. The staff members are friendly, and all the best features of Charlottetown are nearby. If you remember small, tourist hotels in the 1960s, you'll feel at home here. It had all the amenities we needed though I can imagine some people being disappointed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We had a great stay at this hotel it was a smaller place but located right in a great location downtown. Bed was comfortable room was clean great wifi. The staff was great and very helpful. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We arrived in PEI late in the afternoon and the Information Center at the bridge asked what kind of accommodation we liked. We told her we preferred smaller and charming. She recommended this hotel said the parking could be a problem but it was very centrally located inCharlottetown. It was centrally located and we parked on the street but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

A very comfortable bed and breakfast type townhouse hotel in the heart of the city. Walking distance to everything of interest. Comfortable, well-decorated room with all amenities and very well-equipped bathrooms. Coffee and tea available at all hours. Parking on site and well-priced. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast not offered but close to many places that offer breakfast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

aside from the excellent service from the reception, I was disappointed with the cleanliness of our room and parking arrangements. Room and bathroom we not cleaned well and their anytime coffee was unavailable when we got back from our day at 10 pm. It was also a bit pricy. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't have a good experience at our hotel. You arrived on the start of Shellfish festival weekend it is our peak season. I can assure you that the other hotels downtown were charging a lot more than us so you did save $ for downtown accommodations. We offer coffee from 7:30am-10pm daily. We will continue to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#3 of 28 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 28 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 28 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#8 of 28 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#11 of 28 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#5 of 28 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay