We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel

193 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4R8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    20
    11
    8
    0
See reviews for
10
44
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Amesbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a shiny new hotel, but instead a clean and well-located place to stay. The staff members are friendly, and all the best features of Charlottetown are nearby. If you remember small, tourist hotels in the 1960s, you'll feel at home here. It had all the amenities we needed though I can imagine some people being disappointed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We had a great stay at this hotel it was a smaller place but located right in a great location downtown. Bed was comfortable room was clean great wifi. The staff was great and very helpful. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We arrived in PEI late in the afternoon and the Information Center at the bridge asked what kind of accommodation we liked. We told her we preferred smaller and charming. She recommended this hotel said the parking could be a problem but it was very centrally located inCharlottetown. It was centrally located and we parked on the street but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

A very comfortable bed and breakfast type townhouse hotel in the heart of the city. Walking distance to everything of interest. Comfortable, well-decorated room with all amenities and very well-equipped bathrooms. Coffee and tea available at all hours. Parking on site and well-priced. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast not offered but close to many places that offer breakfast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

aside from the excellent service from the reception, I was disappointed with the cleanliness of our room and parking arrangements. Room and bathroom we not cleaned well and their anytime coffee was unavailable when we got back from our day at 10 pm. It was also a bit pricy. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't have a good experience at our hotel. You arrived on the start of Shellfish festival weekend it is our peak season. I can assure you that the other hotels downtown were charging a lot more than us so you did save $ for downtown accommodations. We offer coffee from 7:30am-10pm daily. We will continue to... More 

Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great location. Clean room, nice bathroom, dirty windows. Very dark room. Blinds stay down. Very noisy house, everything echoes. Noisy street. Overpriced. It's good if you do not expect breakfast and are just looking for a decent bed and nice bathroom with great geographical location

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for indicating that we have a super location and clean accommodations. We were not aware of the blind not working we would of been happy to look at if you brought it to our attention when you were staying with us. We are not overpriced we offer the best value downtown Charlottetown. Staying in Charlottetown during peak season... More 

Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel was exactly what I was hoping it would be for our one night in Charlottetown, PEI. It was waking distance to the whole town center with restaurants, shopping and attractions. We basically pulled up, parked, checked in and were on our way walking to all the places we wanted to check out in town. The room was great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It really means alot to be recognized for all the hard work we put into making sure our guests have a pleasant stay. More 

Durham, Maine
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I hate to give a place a bad review, but I was not happy here. The good: Pleasant receptionist, big nice bathroom, and close to town. The bad: Small dated rooms - much too small for two people, and we never even saw breakfast. There appeared to be a breakfast area on the second floor, but there was no food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for saying how well our staff treat our guests it is our mission to make guests stay in Charlottetown as enjoyable as possible. In response to your other comments... we do not advertise us as a B&B we are a boutique hotel. The tripadvisor review you have left with us is under "hotel" category. We offer complimentary coffee... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Location is great, right downtown, and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. We really wanted to like this place. Unfortunately, the rooms are small, the A/C does not do the job on the hot summer nights (we lay in a pool of sweat both nights we stayed), there was no ice dispenser, there was no hair dryer (more of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

I can't believe that the title is "highly overpriced" we are always the lowest priced hotel in downtown and by a considerable margin. Our air conditioners are all new and are working there is a fan setting on the ac it must have been on that setting as I tested all the air conditioners myself. We do have hair dryers... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the Tailor shop on our trip to the east coast, of Canada, and found it to be a lovely and charming small hotel. We had a very nice room with big fourposter bed, a large bathtub in the bathroom that fit two comfortably it was fantastic to relax after a long day of motorcycling . Great location,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We are happy you had a wonderful stay in Charlottetown and welcome you back to stay with us anytime. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay