We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Charlottetown hotels

The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel

193 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4R8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel to your Saves list
The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
79%
Ranked #10 of 25 hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
36
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the Tailor shop on our trip to the east coast, of Canada, and found it to be a lovely and charming small hotel. We had a very nice room with big fourposter bed, a large bathtub in the bathroom that fit two comfortably it was fantastic to relax after a long day of motorcycling . Great location,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We are happy you had a wonderful stay in Charlottetown and welcome you back to stay with us anytime. More

Ørsta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Hello:-)! My husband and I stayed here stayed for about 8 days here in august/september of 2011, and I am happy to say that even tho we're used to pretty high standards, we wouldn't DREAM of complaining about ANYTHING:-)! I would only suggest, that the AC could be adjusted a little so it doesn't make so much noise, the TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It means so much to get positive feedback on how we go out of our way to do everything possible to make our guest's stay a great experience. We will continue to offer the best prices and service in... More

Nevada City, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel. The location is good and the staff was friendly and helpful. However, the place is old. Our room was dingy and dark with rotten shutters and window sills. To make matters worse there was a bar/restaurant across the street from our front room that played very very loud music until 2:00 AM. After the first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for expressing your admiration of our staff and location. We are very proud of our staff in their ability to help out all our guests in anyway and everyway possible. Our location is in the center of downtown and no better location exists for walking our great city thank you for recognizing this as well. We checked out... More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I found this place on TripAdvisor and I cannot understand why it gets such good reviews. The location is great but, other than that, it's really pretty awful. The room was tiny and over-furnished. Not antiques, just old furniture that's had a hard life. The place was shabby and smelled of whatever the manager was cooking in a crock pot--chili... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

I was waiting for this review to arrive as you told every staff member that you were going to write a bad review about us as everyone bent over backwards for you. The staff was very upset with you and asked you to leave without being charged. At this time you just went to your room and said nothing and... More

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at the Tailor Shop Historic Hotel back in July for two nights in rooms 3 and 6. It was a beautiful little hotel in an excellent location, great walking distance to downtown. It was affordable and the owner Melanie was very nice. If I were ever to come back to Prince Edward Island I would definitely stay in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our second stay at this lovely, small hotel and we enjoyed as much the second time. It is very reasonably priced and so convenient to everything in Charlottetown. Walking to great theatre, restaurants and pubs. Rooms are smallish but all we do is sleep there so more than adequate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here one night when I was in Charlottetown to see a show at the Confederation Centre. It is not fancy but the price was fair as the room was comfortable and clean and the location is excellent...you can walk anywhere. The gentleman who checked me in was very helpful. The only minor complaint would be the air conditioner...it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tucson
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Yes, the hotel used to be an old house, but the conversion lacks any charm or warmth, whatsoever. No sitting chair in the room, and the public sitting room has one sofa and one chair for everyone; no carpet on the floor; decorations not consistent with an "historic boutique hotel". Uncomfortable bed and pillows. Poor room lighting. Positives? Location convenient... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review

Well I guess the saying "you can't please everyone" comes to mind with this review. It is always so disappointing to receive such a low rating when we put in so much effort into having our guest's stay an enjoyable one. The hotel is furnished with a blend of antique and modern furnishings. We have sitting for 9 in our... More

Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this hotel when attending a play at the Confederation Arts Centre which is a comfortable walk (less than 10 minutes). The room was large, clean and comfortable and staff helpful. The hotel offers free parking and free internet. There was no breakfast on offer at the time but free coffee was available in the lounge. Restaurants and Pubs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Easy to find, great location, clean and comfortable rooms. Fabulous staff with good advice. Prince street is right downtown you are close to all the recommendations for places to visit while in Charlottetown including the harbour. The streets are beautifully free lined and the building has an old charm. We received a warm welcome from Evan and there were even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel

Also Known As:
The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Address: 193 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4R8, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in center of downtown Charlottetown. Mid 1800's building with modern amenities. 8 rooms all with large ensuite baths 5 rooms with jacuzzis, private phone, cable tv, air conditioning, mini fridge, wireless internet. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.