We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Charlottetown B&Bs / inns

Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts

545 Malpeque Rd Rte 2 | PO Box 154, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z2, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts to your Saves list
Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
75%
Ranked #24 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Beth G Enfield, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (49)
  • Photos (25)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I cycled to Charlottetown from Wood Islands and expecting that we may not be at Trailside between the check-in times of 2-4 pm, I emailed Cindy beforehand. She was very accommodating and let us know what to do if we arrived late and they had stepped out. When we arrived, we found Cindy and Guy to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Takasaki, Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Sadly, staying at this B&B was the worst experience during our 6 day trip in PEI. If we didn't stay there, our trip must have been perfect, because everyone I encountered in PEI was very nice and accommodating except Cindy and Guy. Unfortunately I made a reservation before reading reviews on tripadvisor. Since they charge at least $50 for cancellations,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We came in for tea today without a reservation. Upon looking back on the website I realize without a reservation you can only get scones or what's on the lunch menu for the day - not Anne's or Grandma's afternoon tea menus/packages. We were told they don't have the supplies for any walk-ins to order those items. It's fun to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make your visit to the Island one to remember. It is so important to be clear these days and not to give out in correct information and we try. Perhaps when looking at our web page you looked at the menu items and missed the bold lettering at the top of the... More

Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is the most charming Bed and Breakfast I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Located alongside the Confederation trail, this is the perfect spot for anybody looking to have a nice night away. The rooms were immpecably clean and the breakfast was delicious. Cindy and Guy also had a map of the Island and some information packs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Where do I even begin? Guy and Cindy are two of the kindest, heart warming, lovely hosts I have met. They were very easy going and made us feel at home. They made us a filling breakfast in the morning and I wish I could have stayed longer, honestly! It's conveniently placed right beside the confederation trail which goes right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millinocket, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I just returned from one of the most enjoyable vacations I have had in a long time. Part of the reason was the quaint, relaxing, pleasant stay at this Bed & Breakfast. Guy and Cindy are now considered among my dear friends. They made my traveling companion and I feel very welcome, They were kind, accommodating, and as friendly as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Freeland, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is the worst review I've ever written, but it was a mistake to stay here. When we arrived, the owners weren't home, and we moved into our room cheerfully. Walking around, we found the place clean, attractive, with beautiful gardens, and clever decorating by the mistress. The trouble started when the owners got home. Without a greeting, we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts, responded to this review

You arrived past our normal check-in times. However, we had made arrangements for a selfe-serve entry. As we often have family obligations in the evening, this is a normal course of business for us and reflects the friendly, trusting nature of our operations. You say the trouble started when we got home. Perhaps it did. Put your self in our... More

Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was so excited for this B & B, having viewed photos and e-mailed with the owner. When we arrived, the place was so pretty and nicely done. Shortly thereafter, I got the distinct feeling that the woman who runs it was annoyed with us, she just seemed to dislike us and wish us gone. Had I done something to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts, responded to this review

I find it difficult to respond to reviews from people who hide behind pseudonyms; you can attempt to destroy an establishment's reputation with anonymity. However, let me address some of the issues you raised. We operate a Bed and Breakfast because we like people. You feel we did something to make you feel unwelcome and wished us gone. Quite to... More

Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

When we first arrived no one answered the door. We rang again and Guy reluctantly arrived and opened the door, didn't greet us just led us inside to checkin. When he asked us what time we wanted breakfast it seemed to be the biggest inconvenience to him to provide us breakfast at 7AM, we had a ferry out at 9AM... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts, responded to this review

I regret hearing your stay was not to your satisfaction. It seems you got off to a bad start expecting a quick answer to the doorbell. As you probably noticed after entering, we have a bg house and it sometimes takes a while to make our way to the front door. As for the front door combination, many people make... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the moment I get there I was impressed! The breakfast was wonderful!! The rooms were clean and Cindy and Guy are incredibly kind and caring people. Always go out of the way to make you feel welcome and make your P.E.I experience amazing!! Thank you for the wonderful stay! If I am ever back, this is where you will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts, responded to this review

We always enjoy hearing that our guests had a wonderful stay. We keep guest books in each room and occasionally review the comments. Your encouraging words energize us and help us continually strive for excellence. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts

Address: 545 Malpeque Rd Rte 2 | PO Box 154, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Charlottetown with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recommended & conveniently located on the Trail, 4/10/20/30 minutes to the airport, downtown Charlottetown, PEI beaches & Cavendish. Comfortable describes our 2 rooms with 2 singles, a full bath/shower and sitting room. The B&B also has 2 rooms with doubles on the main floor, 2 baths and sitting room. This is a private bath for a family renting two rooms. Package PEI starts with a tea pot tour of our organic perennial gardens, following with the best tea, scones & cream at Grandma's Tea Room (on premises) ending with a make and take scrapbook event sure to please. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer