We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Knights Inn Toronto

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
117 Pembroke Street, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2N9, Canada (Formerly Downtowner Inn)
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Knights Inn Toronto
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #108 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    31
    35
    21
    36
See reviews for
13
41
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
98 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I didn't find anything to complain in the room nor in the bathroom. The staff were really nice. The breakfast was good. Like 5 block to College Metro Station and 1 block to the buses that go to the Ontario Science Center and the zoo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverside, California
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room is small enough for one full -size bed. White sheets and white comforter are a plus. The tiled wall in bathroom isnt cleaned .Black moldy spots are visible along the edge of bathtub. I dared not take a bath.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Paid 100 a night and it was reasonable for the location and room. The room was clean and had a cozy atmosphere apart from a few small holes in the wall. Ths front staff were helpful and nice. I dont know why everyones complaining? Maybe they got new staff..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

I understand there is new management. They must be making a difference because the staff was courteous and very helpful. My room was sparkling clean, appeared to have been freshly painted, new carpeting and though spare, it was all that I needed and even better than expected for the very reasonable price. Even to the extra cozy comforter the clerk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for enjoying our Inn. It's always great to hear how our guests enjoyed our establishment. We hope to keep improving and have you enjoy your stay even more next time. Manager More 

Montreal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

We were in a group trip and most of the people were staying in the dormitory at the University of Toronto. I was not too tempted by shared bedroom and bathroom so I looked for a hotel room in the same price range. (Check on different web sites, some offer better deals then other, up to $20 difference!) I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kevin S, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for enjoying your stay with us. As you mentioned we are going through some renovations and we're glad you could see past some of the momentary unsightliness that comes along with renovations. We are always trying to improve and hopefully we can far exceed your expectations rather than just meet them next time. Manager More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

I book hotel room for 4 night from June-01-2015 and want to cancel on May-28-2015 but front desk agent totally refused to cancel and hang up on me. Then I called central reservation to cancel. I am really very happy that me n my family did not stay at this Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We certainly do apologize for any rudeness that may have come across over the phone, however cancellations can only be handled by the agent or company in which you booked your reservation and not at the hotel directly. Once again we do apologize for any inconvenience or rudeness that came over the phone and we will certainly look... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Positive-Centre location, just 10 min walk to Eaton Centre.Negatives -basic,repetitive breakfast /bagels,butter,jam,cereals,bad coffee/, lack of housecleaning, even towels change was too much after asking and complaining twice to reception staff, could do with an upgrade and more regular cleaning,better suited for just a night or two, by backpackers, but not for your holiday, you would be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your comments about housecleaning are concerning to us and we will address them in the future. Manager More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed here as family of 4 adults and 1 child. The hotel was flexible enough to provide an extra cot for the child for free. Although there were some issue with the power in one of the socket but it was manageable.Rooms were clean. The staff were very cooperative and helped us with tea/coffee even late at night. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin S, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly striving to become a better establishment and provide better value for our guests. Your review lets us know that we are on the right track and motivates us even more. Manager More 

Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Wow . This hotel is the worst place I have ever stayed in. Booked through Hotwire , ended up with this nightmare of a "hotel". The inside is dingy and musty and in much need of some TLC. Staff is slow and difficult to understand . Virtually no parking . There's a tiny section for maybe like ..3 or 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sitter1985, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are part of a new ownership group at the hotel and welcome any and all feedback. We will strive to rectify these problems immediately. More 

canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Stayed here Feb 4th as we were going to Massey Hall to see Billy Idol. Perfect location for getting there, just 2 roads & a 10min walk. The hotel was cheap so I rate it by price. First the staff, excellent, friendly & very helpful. The room was a decent size, had a flat screen tv on the wall &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sitter1985, Manager at Knights Inn Toronto, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Knights Inn. We always appreciate when our guests enjoy their stay with us. Knights Inn Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#101 of 139 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#98 of 139 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#84 of 139 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#87 of 139 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown

Neighborhood Profile
Downtown
At the heart of Toronto, Downtown is the destination for cheap eats and fast fashion. Cut through by hip and trendy Yonge Street, the vibe here is young, with a strong student influence from the Ryerson University Campus. As a result, the Downtown area is always in flux: undergoing the construction of new facilities, with fresh retail spaces and pop-up cafes. Home to Toronto's largest indoor shopping mall, a number of vintage cinemas, and a healthy nightlife centered on the area's Distillery District bar and clubs near the East End, it's both an easygoing daytime spot and a popular party place after sunset. It also features some of Toronto's best outdoor landmarks, including Yonge-Dundas Square and the Nathan Phillips Square: perfect for a concert, a skate, or a relaxing sit-down.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay