We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites

135 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2H6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Budgetplaces to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    2
    31
See reviews for
4
8
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place filthy, they charge and extra 25 dollars to make your beds and clean room. When my friends arrived, the elderly gentleman (if you can call him that) behind the desk proceeded to answer phones and deal with everything else but my friends... that would have more noticeable save for the smell of garbage, curry, B.O. and musky. Oh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I found myself stranded in Toronto looking for a reasonable hotel. I booked through Expedia which I guess was my first mistake. At first the representative asked me if I would be comfortable in a dorm, and I told him absolutely not. He then went on to tell me about St. Lawrence suites. I specifically asked him if this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

I remember you very well. Yes we charged you to upgrade from the room you booked to the suite, as you asked. Also remember the call demanding a refund for no valid reason other than you asked for a room and a bathroom when booked with a well known internet service provider. They also informed you the room was a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Toronto hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I would first like to point out that normally when you give a bad review of a hotel you will see comments from the manager apologising however if you read the comments from this manager it is very clear what kind of service you will be given. The hotel ( for lack of a better word ) or perhaps the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

One bad review was not enough, you had to do two. Is there no end to your bitterness. Our reply to you remains same as the first one. I remember you very well. Yes we charged you to upgrade from the room you booked to the suite, as you asked. Also remember the call demanding a refund for no valid... More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

The owner wanted a "preapproval" of $94 extra to the hotel charge, and wouldnt allow me to stay otherwise. Also he wanted numbers of both of my credit cards. Even though no damage was done to the property he started to withdraw the $94 from my account. Only because I noticed it and told him to stop that it didnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Well its hard to make out what you are claiming. Was your credit card declined for pre-approval. Why did you have to offer two credit cards. It seems like we denied you the stay for not having a valid credit card. People without a valid credit card are mostly likely to damage the property as they have nothing to loose More 

Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Honestly, we booked this place because we needed somewhere to stay after partying at a concert on Mercer Street back in September. We live about an hour from Toronto, however we figured if we could find somewhere at a reasonable price we would take it... well if we had have known before how awful this was going to be, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

My friend the rooms were same before you checked in and after you checked in. Just because you had a party you crammed the rooms with more persons than what they meant for. Yes we don't have same size beds; we offer single beds or room with Queen bed. Whats so wrong with that. What exactly is you complaint, you... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

A long-term stay half-way house pretending to be a hotel. Even for backpackers or budget travellers this place would be barely acceptable. Every bad has a built-in plastic sheet, and the bathrooms are terrible. If you'd like a place where you're terrified to use the bathroom, terrified to venture on to the street, and generally feel unwelcome and unsafe the... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry you feel the way you do. The plastic sheets, you are talking about are for your own protection. Bedbug protection is the first step to protect the guests like you. Its people travelling all over the world, how the bedbugs hitch hike. If it bothered you so much, all you had to do was ask it to... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

This hotel is located in the worst neighbourhood!! Every other place was booked so we were stuck booking online at Saint Lawrence. Firstly this hotels policy is a checkin between 2-6pm- afterwards the front desk closes; RIDICULOUS. When we called for a late checkin (630PM) the guy was extremely rude and hung up. After that awful conversation and after reading... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Let me understand all the hundred or so hotels around us were booked so you booked the room with us because we were the only one where you could book? What is so ridiculous about our policy; we tell you ahead of time what is our policy. When you book a room at last minute as non-refundable booking why in... More 

Port Perry, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I booked this room through Hotels.com which in itself has been a horrible experience. We discovered that the hotel is located in a drug dealer and hooker infested neighbourhood and decided to cancel our reservation which we were unable to do. Save your money or give it to one of the many homeless people in the area, you'll feel better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Your presentation is such that if someone told you; even you wouldn't have believed it. Your statement of calling the area "drug dealer and hooker infested area" is like making it French Quarters of Toronto. What is it based on? Did they approach you or offered there services or you saw them wheeling and dealing on the streets of Toronto.... More 

Sarnia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Absolutely the worst hotel I have ever seen. Before arrival I received a phone call from the hotel manager asking when we would be arriving as the front desk was to close at 6PM. After explaining to him that we live 3 hrs away and the weather was bad the manager seemed put out that he had to wait for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Well thanks for the review and to answer all we can say we provided what you booked. For you we suggest read the information and understand what you are agreeing to. I understand, to make your point you changed 4 bathrooms to one, but agree a shared bathroom is not for everyone and that is exactly why we offer suites... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Alt Hotel - Toronto Airport
#2 of 60 in Mississauga
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 139 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#70 of 139 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown

Neighborhood Profile
Downtown
At the heart of Toronto, Downtown is the destination for cheap eats and fast fashion. Cut through by hip and trendy Yonge Street, the vibe here is young, with a strong student influence from the Ryerson University Campus. As a result, the Downtown area is always in flux: undergoing the construction of new facilities, with fresh retail spaces and pop-up cafes. Home to Toronto's largest indoor shopping mall, a number of vintage cinemas, and a healthy nightlife centered on the area's Distillery District bar and clubs near the East End, it's both an easygoing daytime spot and a popular party place after sunset. It also features some of Toronto's best outdoor landmarks, including Yonge-Dundas Square and the Nathan Phillips Square: perfect for a concert, a skate, or a relaxing sit-down.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay