We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canadiana Backpackers

42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2E9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Canadiana Backpackers
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Benjamin J Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    79
    117
    59
    18
    13
See reviews for
7
53
111
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (286)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I couldn't fault the hostel at all, I was impressed by how the hostel really makes the effort to make its visitors feel at home with the various activity evenings (quiz night, movie night etc). I found those nights to be excellent as it gives the visitors the chance to bond and socialise with fellow travellers who like me were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ortona, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I spent there 15 days in a single room. It was very small but this often prompted me to go out and socialize with the other guests! The washrooms are clean and the kitchen is totally furnished for cooking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a very nice hostel. It is clean and located in the downtown area close to bars, restaurants and other touristic sites. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hostel is like a 3 star hotel. The beds are very comfortable. There is a bathroom in each room. Breakfast is served every morning, it is delicious with lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friends and I stayed here during Halloween weekend 2014. It was a fun time both around the city and at the hostel! Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic, but clean. Limited bathroom space but nothing to complain about. I really thought the layout of the hostel was very unique - instead of one large building, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for 4 weeks in the private room and I loved my experience!! The room was clean and a good size. There are many washrooms, kitchen, laundry and beverages machines. The staff is very friendly!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent one night here and had a great time! There was a good atmosphere and I met a lot of people. The quality of the room I stayed in and the bathroom was oke. Nothing spectacular, but it was clean and everything worked. The location is really good, pretty much everything is within walking distance! The only point of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easily one of the best places to stay in the fantastic city of Toronto: affordable, reasonable double rooms (bunkbed, but hey, who cares?). The people running the place (mostly female) are of the friendliest kind you will ever meet, Always ready to give advice about anything you might ask. Location: couldn't be more central: right in downtown Toronto, between King... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

I stayed here for one night in an 8 bed female dorm. The room I stayed in was clean and a good size, and so was the living area from what I saw. The bathroom wasn't disgusting, I've seen that mentioned a lot in other reviews here but the one I used didn't seem too bad. The location is good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanadianaBackpackers, Manager at Canadiana Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback – we’re glad you enjoyed your stay! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I have NEVER stayed at a hostel that has WORSE bathroom facilities than Canadiana. Usually you'd assume that a bathroom door that has a lock on it... Works right? Not at this hostel. I got walked in on TWICE while using the toilet. The stress of having to do one's business under pressure with the potential of someone walking in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanadianaBackpackers, Manager at Canadiana Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback – sorry to hear that you had trouble operating the bathroom locks, they are simple push and click locks and we have not come across anyone else struggling with them I’m afraid. Often the toilets are not blocked but someone has just not flushed it – we have industrial toilets and plumbing designed for constant use.... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

It's a hostel so poor sleep is kind of a given. The rooms and bathrooms felt NYC-small. The wifi was fast and reliable. Really can't find things to complain about. I would recommend you bring cash so that you can pay for the deposit for the linens and towel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanadianaBackpackers, Manager at Canadiana Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! If you have trouble sleeping due to noise, we have free earplugs at reception – if you are too cold or too hot a staff member can adjust your room temperature. And if you forget cash, we can look after a piece of ID until you have been to the ATM. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay