We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville

2.0 of 5 89 Avenue Road, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2G3, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    46
    37
    27
See reviews for
33
43
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Tunapuna, Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed there for one week in August, 2014. The location was convenient since I enjoy walking. the accommodation was okay but I was disappointed with the breakfast I expected much more. the custodians were helpful and quite accommodating. A friend got this accommodation for my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was fine - yes rooms are very dated but comfy bed and it was quiet on a Saturday night. They have parking at the back ( u can park along the wall if it's full) or some underground parking for 25$ plus tax but we parked at underground with the shops it cost us 34$! Good location.heat there's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uxbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

A great value hotel in a spectacular downtown location just around the corner from Yorkville, a boutique neighbourhood with great shopping and restaurants. Routinely priced at around $100 per night, you just cannot beat the price. The rooms are clean and well appointed with comfortable king sized beds in many of the rooms. You just can't beat the value of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. We agree! Excellent value for Howard Johnson Yorkville...a comfortable hotel in a superb location in Toronto. More 

Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

There was nothing fancy or well maintained in this hotel. In fact there is a sign on the side that there is a proposal to flatten the place and rebuild. The staff are friendly , the building is secure, and the breakfast is comparable to a European hostile. The room was not completely clean but it was clean enough. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I have to say that I was expecting a dungeon after reading all of the reviews for this hotel but I honestly was pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff are very friendly. The hotel is old and could use some work but I didn't find my room that bad. My partner and I stayed in 606 and the bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank your positive review. I was pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. More 

Windsor, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Enjoyed my first stay at this hotel, staff was very helpful, location was good, room was fine, rate was great, wake up calls came right on time,I will be back next time in T.O. Thanks

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being of service to you again soon. More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

i used Hotwire to book a hotel and got this hotel. Figured it would have been good since it is in Yorkville and have to compete with other hotels like 4seasons and hazelton. Got to the parking lot, barely enough spots for 10 cars. The building looked like it was falling apart but we gave it a chance. The lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your guest room. Its unfortunate you did not get the opportunity to upgrade your room to a Business Class, which offers a city view. The Four Seasons and The Hazelton are 5 star full service hotels. We are a 3 Star, limited service hotel which will be undergoing a renovation in the... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I really think if your going to have a hotel in a downtown location it sould be in good condition and have better parking. the service was ok not great by no means and the breakfast was a big joke. The beds in this hotel were not very comfortable at all. I really think the need to do a serious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the hotel. This hotel will be undergoing a complete renovation in the near future. In the meantime, we are doing are best with the upkeep, which can be challenging. Unfortunately, our parking space is limited and cannot be guaranteed. There are several lots in the area that... More 

Kelowna BC Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The location on Avenue Road close to Yorkville with its shops and restaurants, and ROM, and within walking distance of downtown make this place acceptable. Also the staff are friendly, and our room was clean and large with a kingsize bed. Otherwise - not a great place to stay. Maintenance in the common areas is poor. Poor ventilation in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed the location, staff and found your room clean and comfortable. As for the elevator, it is serviced regularly on a monthly basis and I can assure you it is in good working order. I would also like to advise that we do offer Business Class rooms. They are much more... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Pros : The staff were friendly, and courteous. The location was great, and it was a very quiet night's sleep. (Which I can't always say for hotels, regardless of their star rating.) Cons : It genuinely comes across like an abandoned hotel that closed in 1988, and was reopened as it is with nothing upgraded but the lobby. The elevator... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our accommodations. Had we known, we would have gladly moved or upgraded you to a Business Class room. The property will be undergoing a complete renovation that will address many of the issues you mentioned. Thank you for your feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville

Address: 89 Avenue Road, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > The Annex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Yorkville
Howard Johnson Toronto
Toronto Howard Johnson

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay