We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville

Hotel website
Hotel deals
89 Avenue Road, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2G3, Canada
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    53
    38
    30
See reviews for
33
45
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (162)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A very average hotel, but for this area of Toronto, not going to be able to find something at this price in this area of the city. It is located immediately beside a car dealership - Ferrari's, for those who love cars! Parking is $25/night. The free breakfast is okay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here over a weekend. Location was extraordinary BUT that was the only thing this place had going for it. They charged us for parking for 2 days when we only required it for 1 hour when friends met us for dinner, and when we questioned it at checkout the fellow said to call the manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and you found our beds to be lumpy. We are in the process of replacing some of our comforters. I'm a little confused as to the parking charge issue. Our space is limited and reserved for overnight guests only and we do not allow short term parking. My apologies if you... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Great sleep on a comfortable bed. Older property that needs new ceiling tiles in lobby and HD tvs in the room. underground parking is off site. a bit of a walk to the property but not far. No convenience stores close by. Did not try any of the breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear you found our beds to be comfy. Sorry you did not find a convenience store nearby. There is actually one located next door in the shopping centre next to a Rexall pharmacy. Our underground parking is located in the building next door, which we use as overflow if our back lot is... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

A few friends and I got double bed room and had the worst stay. The sink had brown water coming out of it, the blow dryer did not even work, and the worst part of all...there were BUGS IN THE BED!!! In the morning, we found one crawling on the sheets. The next day, a few of us realized that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

My sincere apologies for your recent stay. I would like to discuss further with you. Kindly contact me at your earliest convenience. 416-964-1220, Nancy Cocozza, General Manager More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

That place was horrible! The water was brown and unsafe to drink. The bed was dirty, and it seemed like the sheets hadn't been washed for a month. The front desk service was lousy and they were unwilling to answer any of my questions. Don't stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

My sincere apologies for the unpleasant stay you experienced. I would like to discuss further with you. Kindly contact me at your earliest convenience. 416-964-1440, Nancy Cocozza, General Manager More 

Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Great location but very tired looking. Stale breakfast and when asked for more hangars were told no. Also bar fridge costs 10 per day to "rent". Any other hotel I've ever stayed at lets you use it for free. Pretty poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear we were unable to provide additional hangers for you. Unfortunately, we have limited fridges for the rooms and do charge additional for them. We will however gladly store items in our front desk fridge free of charge. More 

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This might not be the cheapest hotel in the area but you're really paying for location. It's a short walk to a subway station that can take you pretty much anywhere you'd need to go on a trip to Toronto. It's also right down the street from the museum. There's a few nice streets full of restaurants, cafes, and shopping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and location. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Grimsby, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

This was not one of the worst hotels I have stayed at, but definitely not the best by far, for the price. Let's start by saying that all of the staff are warm and friendly. Good job to those folks. Breakfast is adequate. I found the bread items to be a bit stale. The milk, juice and yogurt are not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed the location and staff. I will certainly share your comments with housekeeping and investigate further. More 

Washago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The hotel is in a great area, close to a grocery store, convenience store, and nice Cafe next door. Tim Hortons is close by as well. It's a 10 minute walk to Church and Wellsley . TTC is not that far away from the hotel (approximately 5 minute walk). Great customer service from the General Manager, to the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I will be sure to share your comments with my team! So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to being of service to you again next New Years Eve. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question