We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strathcona Hotel

3.0 of 5
60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Strathcona Hotel
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    383
    213
    103
    49
See reviews for
76
293
130
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (924)
  • Mar-May only
    (223)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (255)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (271)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (175)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed overnight on business recently. Hotel is very well located and a short walk from Union Station and other transportation venues. As others have noted, rooms are quite small but clean and functional. Staff friendly and professional. As a place to stay for a night or two, I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was clean and featured a buffet breakfast for $14.95 The rooms were small and we had twin beds There was a fantastic shower in the room Not too expensive a good place to sleep but very small rooms

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was good enough for downtown Toronto on a busy night. It's been updated with new decor but the room was fairly small. The only complaint I had was the noise. There is no sound proofing whatsoever. Outside street noises sounded like they were right inside the room and inside hotel noises meant very little sleep. This was even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi DebbyP24 Thank you choosing to stay with us when you were in town. We appreciate you taking the time to communicate with us. We will definitely use your feedback to understand and strengthen the practices that we already have in place to reach out to our guests during their stay which will then allow us to improve guest experience.... More 

Somewhere
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Expedia must not like my reviews because they didn't bombard me with emails to rate this place. I stayed for $70 US w/o taxes ($20). It was in a good location (steps from the Fairmont - $160). Most problems were the fault of management. Hairs on bed (balding maid or failure to change sheets?). Heater kept tripping the breaker when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Istleblower Thank you so much for your feedback and we appreciate it. We are extremely disappointed that your stay was not to your satisfaction and we assure you we put a lot of focus and effort on ensuring guest satisfaction. We are aware that during the time of your stay, the city of Toronto had scheduled work around he... More 

Webbwood, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I paid close to $200.00 for an executive suite. The room was very small with a double bed. The wiifi was extra and I could not pay with my debit card because the machine was down all weekend. I would not recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Wanda I am extremely sorry to hear of your stay. I wish to look into you stay details specially for your room type. We did experience a glitch with our debit machine and that has been fixed since. I would hope you email me at fom@thestrathconahotel.com and we could discuss your stay and how we can get you back... More 

Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything is cheaply put together, floor was uneven, hot and cold were reversed in the shower. Beds were the worse, had a sore back all weekend. I'd rather pay $50 more a night to actually sleep well in somewhere not the size of a broom closet

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike Thank you for sharing your feedback and I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your satisfaction. I am positive that your feedback was a one off occurrence and has been shared with all departments concerned. I have been able to identify your stay information and have initiated corrective action already. Please do reach... More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed there 2 nights but wasn't at the hotel that long, only to sleep. The hotel and room was clean. Walking distance to CN Tower, ACC and Rogers centre. The value was pretty decent at the time I went. I didn't stay here last time though because I got a better deal about 2 blocks away. But I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HotelGuy Thank you for staying with us and we hope you had a great experience. We would love to have you stay for more night and thank you for recommending our hotel. We will always strive to ensuring guest satisfaction Thank You More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you again Ellen. We appreciate you mailing my husbands shoes! I would recoommend this Hotel to anyone staying in Toronto. Jack Astors is right across the street, you are right downtown, amenities and rooms are spectacular. I give this place an A1!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alanna Allow me to thank you for choosing to stay at the Strathcona Hotel on your recent visit. We are thrilled you had a lovely time. This city is amazing and vibrant and we do hope your business brings you back soon. Thank You More 

LONDON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location and price was great for downtown. Room 217 was small with two double beds that filled the entire room. It was a tight squeeze to enter and get around each other but we were there just to sleep. The beds were hard and the walls thin. I would consider staying again if we had comfortable beds. A grumpy child... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lydia Thank you so much for taking the time to inform fellow travelers of your experience. We appreciate it. We have various rooms’ sizes for guests based on their reason for stay and we do hope you provide us the opportunity to offer our complete array of room types. Thank you once again for choosing the Strathcona Hotel for... More 

Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Strathcona is just what you would expect - clean, comfortable but not above average in any respect. The staff was efficient but not welcoming. We were there only for an overniter until our train left...but I woukd not stay here again. No complaints but just "meh"!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joalle I am extremely saddened to hear you would not stay with us again. Is there anything we can do to make you come back and give us another opportunity? Please do reach out to me at fom@the strathconahotel.com. This is definitely an opportunity to revisit our soft skills and I would take it up with my team. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

519 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (164)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (307)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Executive Double Queen Room (47)
Viewed
Executive King Room (28)
Viewed
Executive Queen Room (35)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (24)
Viewed
Smart Queen Room (34)
Viewed
Smart Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Suite (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question