We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 141 Toronto hotels

Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1X7, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #60 of 141 hotels in Toronto
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
SkyVan Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,496)
  • Photos (272)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (281)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    691
    338
    96
    47
See reviews for
254
449
174
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This Courtyard is well located just off Yonge Street, is convenient for Toronto's public transport system, plenty of good restaurants, and all the major attractions. I stayed there for a few days in July with my partner as part of our vacation. Arrival was fine, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and obliging. We certainly felt welcome, and I always... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Cons: The rooms were a bit dated and perhaps not as clean as could be. The bathroom sink was actually on the outside of the bathroom which was a bit strange. Con/Pro: Has a gym with a long pool and hottub - nice to use, but again the pool/hottub weren't very clean and no towels in the change rooms. Pros:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pgilmore, Director, Revenue Management & Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our great staff and location. I am sorry that your room did not exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back once the hotel has been renovated. More

Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed here three times in the last four years, and find it a very comfortable and central hotel. All the staff are exceptionally helpful, and the rooms, whilst getting a bit worn, are spacious and well equipped. Easy to walk from the hotel all around central Toronto, and I find it a comfortable and safe place to stay in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It would have given a 3 for a basic but tired hotel. During our stay we were informed there would be a "planned water outage" from 10pm until 8am on our final day. As we were late back from a restaurant and were leaving at 5.45am for a flight it was a long while between showers and I feel sorry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pgilmore, Director, Revenue Management & Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused by the water shut down. Unfortunately, we needed to make emergency water repairs. We strove to mitigate our guests inconvenience by conducting this repair overnight and had the protocol in place to alleviate this challenging time. I am sorry about the difference you price your... More

Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to stay here as the rooms are booked by an agency that I work with. This time my stay was awful. They should not put a single female traveller in a room that leads directly to a roof where window washers were working without telling people and where people can access your room at night. To suddenly see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pgilmore, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay, and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation. Kindly not that we will look into the issues with the room to avoid similar situation happening in the future. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights July'14. Location is good, very close to underground. Could do with a spruce up, especially the pool area but no problems with that. Front desk staff were very helpful. Great value for the price paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really old and tired hotel! The guy at the reception desk was cold and rude and we arrived past midnight. The valet guy was incomprehensible and rude also. The bathroom is in need of renovations, the furniture is old, the bed is like 30 years old and stiff and uncomfortable. We didn't sleep well at all. I wouldn't recommend unless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pgilmore, Director Revenue Management & Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass your feedback on to our Executive Team so that we can address. We will be undergoing renovations later this year and do hope you will give us another try. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here July 4-11 2014. There was no bar fridge in room the shower drain was broken and on July 10 the water was shut off from 10 to 8 the next morning. When I asked to be reimbursed of some sort all I was told was they would move me to a sister hotel, with one day left to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pgilmore, Director, Revenue Management & Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us earlier this month. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced due to our emergency water repair, however happy to report that we were able to get the water back on 3 hours earlier than expected. We understand that this was frustrating to our guests however was an emergency that we could not avoid. We... More

Plymouth, Devon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked here because the escorted coach tour I was going on started here. As a single traveller I was very pleased with the rooms I had at the start and end of the tour. Very spacious rooms. Shower in both rooms was excellent. I agree with the comments about helpful staff. Reception and restaurant staff were excellent, being helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I must comment on this hotel, the rooms were in a need of updating and the air conditioning was terrible , so noisy. The shower felt like you were being hosed down, but you had plenty of hot water. But the staff were what made our stay amazing. Particular thanks goes to the concierge Terry who went out of his... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pgilmore, Director, Revenue Management at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing comments about our staff and the service that they provided you while you stayed with us. I will ensure that the team, especially Terry, are made aware. We will be renovating later this year and do hope that you will come back to see us again! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Address: 475 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Courtyard
Courtyard Toronto Downtown

272 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (217)
Viewed
Room/suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Courtyard Downtown Toronto, located in the heart of downtown Toronto, at the corner of Yonge & College Sts., minutes from fashionable shopping, restaurants, museums, galleries, theatre, financial, government and discovery districts. Steps from College subway station, 25 min. from Pearson International Airport. Complimentary high speed wireless intenet access in every guest room! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
550

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer