We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 141 Toronto hotels

Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Days,TorontoNights
Save Saved
You added Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    94
    55
    46
    50
See reviews for
30
125
40
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am a professional who travels frequently for business and I have never felt the need to post a review for a hotel until after I had what can only be described as a shockingly bad experience at the Thompson Hotel. A friend recommended the Thompson Hotel as a place for my wife and I to stay for a night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greg A, I am sorry that the events of the evening did not unfold in the manner in which you hopped. The safety, comfort and security of our Hotel guests is a top priority for us and we take any and all action necessary to see this is upheld. The only situation which would deem it necessary to escort... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Do not hold a birthday party at The Thompson Hotel in Toronto if you want to have a good time with your friends. This hotel had the worst customer service that I have ever experienced. I have stayed in many high-end hotels all over the world and have never been treated in the manner that I was last Saturday April... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pegah K, I am sorry that the events of the evening did not unfold in the manner in which you hopped. While we encourage and promote celebrating special occasions in our Hotel we need to be respectful of all of our Hotel guests and as such we do not allow Parties in our Guest Rooms. We have beautiful event... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a lawyer who frequently travels for work and pleasure. My experience at the Thompson was one of the worst I've had at any hotel. A friend booked a room for a birthday party well in advance, and informed the staff of same. On the night of the party, the staff would not let guests into the room because of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony P, I am sorry that the events of the evening did not unfold in the manner in which you hopped. While we encourage and promote celebrating special occasions in our Hotel we need to be respectful of all of our Hotel guests and as such we do not allow Parties in our Guest Rooms. The safety, comfort and... More

Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel with nice rooms with no carpets nice bathrooms and good beds, however no Nespresso machines. The fitness is average The staff is super friendly and the Wabora restaurant is really good. The restaurant is for me just too far from the places I needed to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was refused entry to the room my friend was hosting a birthday party in at the Thompson hotel. The reason I was given was because of keeping the noise level down. This is absurd. My friend was never told of any noise restriction when she reserved the room, and informed staff that she was expecting guests that evening. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin E, I am sorry that the events of the evening did not unfold in the manner in which you hopped. While we encourage and promote celebrating special occasions in our Hotel we need to be respectful of all of our Hotel guests and as such we do not allow Parties in our Guest Rooms. We have beautiful event... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel extensively both in my professional life, I am a senior qualitative researcher (I spent much of February this year working in Cairo, Istanbul, Dubai, and Abu Dhabi), and my personal life, travel is simply a passion of mine; but my experience at the Thompson Hotel was perhaps the worst I have experienced in my life. My negative experience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christian A, I am sorry that the events of the evening did not unfold in the manner in which you hopped. The safety, comfort and security of our Hotel guests is a top priority for us and we take any and all action necessary to see this is upheld. The only situation in which a guest or group of... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel, great service. Only issue is when they take pre auth on your credit card it goes through to your bank and effects your funds available. I travel allot and this is first time it's like this. It happened to others guests also.. Sort this out Thompson...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris H, Thank you for taking the time to share with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Upon check in we do require a valid credit card. When the credit card is presented we take a pre-authorization on your credit card, this is simply a validity check and hold for your room and tax charges as... More

Hoboken
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had read the reviews prior to my stay and took the advice to ask for a room on a higher floor due to the loud bar downstairs. But despite that, two complaints about the sleep quality - the closing doors are indeed loud and the HVAC blows air into your face even when you move the slats to face... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StuckOnTravels, Of course we read reviews! We love to hear from our guests and use every opportunity we can to connect with our guests. On your next stay let us know your preferences and we will do all we can to ensure a comfortable and restful stay. Our hairdryers are 1200W, the highest allowable to conform to Hotel Safely... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I organized a meeting at the Thompson last Wednesday on the rooftop lounge for a small group of 12. From the start we were faced with many challenges. Our start time was at 7:30am but the elevators weren't turned "on" to give us access until 8am, so we had to take the service elevator up. First impressions of the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear carole219, Thank you for your review, I understand our Director of Sales has reached out to you personally. Please accept our apologies that your meeting with us was anything less than comfortable and seamless. We hope that you will provide us the opportunity to service you again so that you can experience the level of service and attention which... More

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our group has stayed at the Thompson a few times, and they never cease to amaze us with their outstanding customer service! The concierge services will go above and beyond to accommodate your group and ensure they feel at home. No request is too small for this team, and they make sure to remember the little requests so that they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Danielle1234, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Thompson Toronto with us. We are delighted to hear your feedback and are very pleased that your group enjoyed there stay and appreciated our warm and attentive service team. We hope you will return very soon!, Best Regards, Theo Kolovos Director of Rooms More

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson’s first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city’s financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto’s cityscape. The hotel’s three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, upscale Italian cuisine at Scarpetta, by renowned chef Scott Conant, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, a yoga studio, and Toronto’s first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.