We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 Thunder Bay

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
439 Memorial Avenue | Lakehead Expwy. to Harbour Expwy., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Y6, Canada
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Super 8 Thunder Bay
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Irricana Alberta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Don't assume every Super 8 is going to be as nice as the last one. This one was dated, dirty and not worth the money we paid out. They charged a $20 pet fee for our cat but the cat was cleaner than the room/ sheets/bathroom. Spend a lot less money for a lot better accommodations on this trip. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather W
Super8TBay, Manager at Super 8 Thunder Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had a such an unpleasant stay with us. We are in the process of doing renovations and are going to be updating all of our rooms - including our pet-friendly rooms. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, and to know that your room was... More 

Marathon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Room was dated, furniture very old and dated and worn out.Room was filthy, nighttable had spit and other dirt on the side facing bed..very gross. Bed and couch and furniture old and in poor shape. Staff at desk was new and being trained. Continental breakfast had dated and bruised apples, layout of area for eating was not good, split and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank A6906UOjamesd
Super8TBay, Manager at Super 8 Thunder Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay when you were here. We do take a lot of pride in our clean rooms. We know we are an older property and we like to make up for it with our super customer service, cleanliness... More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

My stay was great. I enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms. My only recommendation is to add some fridges to the rooms and maybe allow the air conditioner to stay on during the window so we are able to use the fan. The rooms got really hot and we were not able to use the fan on the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank 892renew
Lloydminster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015 via mobile

We were traveling to the East Coast and picked this hotel as it was a Super 8 and pet friendly. Thinking after we shoulda had a pit bull. The neighbour's were up parting , drinking, vomiting outside, coming going, slamming doors most of night to early morning. So if your looking for a good night's sleep I wouldn't recommend this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

I would recommend this motel to everyone. The front desk service was friendly, informative and very helpful. I chose this motel as it was pet friendly and I had my kitty with me. The room was warm, cosy and VERY clean, no animal smell and well presented.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank P2962SRlindap
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

We spent the night here as we were passing through Thunder Bay to get to Winnipeg. They did allow late check-in (3am) and allowed us to park our 5-tonne truck (which is always a bonus). Didn't really stay long enough to give any criticism about the service, continental breakfast, etc. However, we also enjoyed that our room was very spacious... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane M
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

• Very noisy location. Lots of traffic noise. • Many drunk, noisy guests • The window curtains were too small to cover the window

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank X1743DGdavidl
Innisfail, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Unfortunately found an empty beer can behind night stand while looking for an outlet for my laptop, Made the front desk aware of my find, Was told they would make the housekeeping aware of it.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank B9036THstephenh
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 32 in Thunder Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 32 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 32 in Thunder Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
1.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 32 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay