We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Thunder Bay hotels

Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   439 Memorial Avenue | Lakehead Expwy. to Harbour Expwy., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Y6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
A recent review
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    63
    33
    34
See reviews for
57
48
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Cold Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have to say when we drove up to this place I knew it was not going to be good. We had a room with an outside door only good part as we have two dogs with us. The room had a weird smell like animal pee. No fridge a basic and they did not have one in the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Super8TBay, Manager at Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay, responded to this review

Dear Lori, We thank you for your recent stay at the Super 8 in Thunder Bay. We pride ourselves in providing suitable accommodations for guest when travelling with pets. We also ensure those rooms receive extra TLC to present to the next guest seeking the same type of accommodation. We serve a basic continental breakfast including fresh fruit , boil... More 

Wasaga Beach, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Aside from the radiant heat used, this hotel needs a facelift. It's old, the pillows were lumpy, and the floor had not been vacuumed well since the last occupants. The basic Super 8 continental breakfast was offered, but the selection in this venue was scarce, the coffee was terrible and the toaster needs to be chucked. Staff could not provide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burlington, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a king room, was placed in a queen room, when I asked about my reservation they told me I was going to be charged more for a king.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Super8TBay, Manager at Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay, I am sorry about the confusion with your stay. The rate that you were quoted applies to both Queen or King Rooms as we charge the same for room types but charge by the person. Since only one person stayed in the room, the price remained the same. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel at... More 

Sudbury, ON
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there while my spouse was in the Thunder Bay Regional Health Science Center having surgery. Checked in Wed, 19 Nov 14 and checked out Sun, 23 Nov 14. As the title says, you get what you pay for. These accommodations are less expensive than other hotels in the area, however the property is old and run down. They recently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Super8TBay, Manager at Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We take guest feedback very seriously to build upon future improvements to the hotel. Yes, we have different room types available at different price points and that allows us to be versitile to peoples various budgets. I appreciate you noticed that we have been painting our public areas; yes there is some paint... More 

Halifax
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

This was the absolute worst experience ever!! The place smelled, wasn't clean, smelt like smoke even tho it was non smoking room! Had to sleep fully clothed my girlfriend and I scared we'd catch something. We had to put a $$$250.00 deposit down because of not having a credit card. All around it was a horrible experience and to top... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Super8TBay, Manager at Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reivew. I'm sorry that your experience was anthing less than Super. On the days of your stay we were very busy therefore I don't understand how the milk could have been sour as we did not get any other negative feedback about the breakfast and we re-fil the milk. Our staff will gladly address... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay

Address: 439 Memorial Avenue | Lakehead Expwy. to Harbour Expwy., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Y6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay Hotel Thunder Bay
Super 8 Thunder Bay
Super Eight Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Super 8
Thunder Bay Super Eight
Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay Ontario

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay