We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Victoria Inn

555 Arthur Street West, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Victoria Inn
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    63
    44
    18
    23
See reviews for
62
26
4
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (178)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was travelling to town as part of a set of business meetings, the Victoria Inn was chosen for me by a local partner who uses the facilities for conferences and meetings. Now, I am a digital media for business user - when I see a Twitter account I use it like a digital concierge before I arrive at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hello Paul N, Thank you for the kind review Paul. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we enjoyed engaging with you through social media. We recognize the immediate impact of social media and are working to enhance our guests experience where ever possible. i am humbled that you are using us as a case study in... More 

Ear Falls, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

The hotel has a great location and the rooms are clean with a nice bathroom. The room was feather free as we requested. Our only complaint was the annoying ticking sound we were able to hear coming from somewhere we believe in the duct work. Like a flap door banging. Made for a restless sleep

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hello moss671 thank you for your review of the Victoria inn Thunder Bay. i am sorry to hear that your stay was less than great. a quiet night is very important. if you could shoot me a quick email with your last name i can track down which room you stayed in and see if i can locate the source... More 

North Bay
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

i had concerns due to some Postings but had heard good things. I arrived- fast service, friendly folks, quick check in. Went to my room (2nd floor)- what a nice room. 2 beds, nice and comfortable, flat screen tv, nice bedding, beautiful bathroom. Nice and clean. They have a large pool and hot tubs- good for families and seniors. Nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hello Mark M. Thank you for the kind review. we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you again when visiting Thunder Bay. Raymond. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Fantastic night booked through hotels dot com, fabulous rate for king bed and beautiful pull out double sofa bed. Double sinks in bathroom were an unexpected bonus. Water slide pool was great a bit cool but hot tub fixed that. No map of hotel available made it an adventure to find rooms and space. These little cards asking for feedback... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hello KJConan Thank you for the kind review. I am pleased that you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable. You have made some great suggestions regarding the maps and the bar codes for the texting posters. i will look at implementing them on our next printing run. I hope we can host you again when you are back in Thunder... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

We had two conjoining rooms (2 adults, 5 kids) and the rooms were clean and spacious. We received great service from the staff and the kids had a blast! The pool is awesome for kids and for parents. The only complaint I have is the lazy life guards (who sat the whole time, goofed off, and didn't pay attention to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hello Katie W Thank you for the kind review. I am pleased that you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable. i am glad your family had a good time in the pool area and with the waterside. i will address your concerns with our pool team and ensure that we are providing the level of safety and attention required in... More 

Marathon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Booked & paid my room through Hotels.com. Checked in fine, lady who checked me in pointed out that I booked online. In and out of the room for most of the day and then 10:30 pm comes around and a knock on the door, then I hear the door opening. It's the night manager and I go to the door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hello FernandoOnt Thank you for your review of the Victoria inn. I do apologize for the situation that took place regarding your payment on file. You are absolutely correct that this situation could have and should have been handled in a much different manner. This is a situation that has been used as a learning tool for my associates and... More 

West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
69 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

This is a large, older hotel that seems to cater to conferences. It has the largest swimming pool I've ever seen in a hotel! One had the feeling that, being in Northern Ontario, it caters to a lot of people who can imagine they're in Florida by staying here. The ice machine near our room was broken down and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hello acgardiner Thank you for the kind review. I am pleased that you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable. I hope we can host you again when you are back in Thunder Bay. Raymond. More 

Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

I was at the Victoria Inn for a conference and was impressed with the rooms and the conference space. The food was also quite good. The beds were comfortable and the showers were good. it seemed to be recently renovated. Maybe it was an oversight (or a previous guest lifted it), but there wasn't a hair dryer in my room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hello Stephanie D Thank you for the kind review. I am pleased that you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable. we do have hairdryers in all the rooms. some are located n the washroom and some in the closet depending on the room type. i am glad that you were able to share with your friend while with us. we... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

My family stayed here for one night and had the worst experience yet. We got the Jacuzzi suite because my 11 month old son loves a big tub with plenty of bubbles. We got into the room and began our unpack, letting our baby crawl around. My wife then says "what's that in your mouth little Billy". He didn't answer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hello Brian P Thank you your review. Unfortunately we did not meet your standards on this stay. We do however strive to provide a clean and safe environment to all our guests and as seen in other review we usually do achieve this standard. We do stand by our guarantees and i am certain if you mentioned this to our... More 

Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
47 hotel reviews
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Clean, comfortable, great for families if you like big pool, play area. I was there for a conference and found it a convenient place to stay for business, the food served had more variety than some I've been to, and the front desk staff were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hello Discover and Enjoy Thank you for the kind review. I am pleased that you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable. I hope we can host you again when you are back in Thunder Bay. Raymond. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question