We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Thunder Bay hotels

Landmark Hotel

Save Saved
You added Landmark Hotel to your Saves list
1010 Dawson Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 5J4, Canada (Formerly Ramada Landmark Inn)
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (43)
  • Photos (3)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Landmark Hotel
Ranked #31 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    9
    21
See reviews for
11
5
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't live in this hotel! I stayed here for a night, this is the worst hotel I've ever been in. The price is $109, but it's not as good as a $70 motel. The room is quite big and just beside the swimming pool, but don't be tricked by this, there is a strong smell of smoke in the room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

ROOM 317 IS A DUMP AND MY WIFE AND i WERE DISCOURAGED WITH RESPONSE OF THE CLEANING STAFF AND DESK CLERK Unsanitary conditions include; WALL PAPER WITH SECTION COUT OUT. SCRATCHED PAINT ON BATHROOM DOOR FRAME Crayon smeared walls Holes on wall Stained frame of BED! Poor attitude of desk cleak who claimed I was "badgerring" her with my complaints... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thunder bay on
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The room was dirty, stunk, the cart the brought out birthday party on had moulded food and was gross. Have pics of all mild around pool and in room. Told one price on phone than charged another when we went there to pay. Party food showed up 1 hour late and taste like crap same as cake as even the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I check-in the May 23th, my room was smelling only cigarette smoke, the air was smelling cigarette smoke, my sweaters was smelling cigarette smoke during the full next day.....and it was a smoke free room, the shower had orange residues on many tiles..........no tk's when I left, no question if I had a good sleep.......... Never again sorry My name... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Marathon, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Third stay here because of medical appointments in Thunder Bay and we had to bring our dog... the shuttle to the hospital and back continues to be a great advantage to staying at this hotel... staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean... we had a different room this time, this room was updated, especially the bathroom. much nicer...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mary m, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. I am very pleased to hear from our repeat customers. Thank you again for choosing the Landmark Hotel. We have always been a pet friendly hotel. We recognize the role that pets play for families, especially for those here for medical reasons. Again, we are pleased that the shuttle service was beneficial. The recently renovated rooms are coming... More

Northern Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had stayed here previously and had not had a positive stay ( Like so many posters ) In Nov 2013, I had to stay here for a period of time, and in fairness, I had to leave this positive review. My room was on the ground floor at the back, with its own outside access to parking. The bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mary m, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Landmark Hotel on Tripadvisor.. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you have experienced, the guest accommodations are undergoing renovation. It is our hope that we are able to complete them in a timely manner and to minimize any guest impact. Our staff is... More

Marathon, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I just stayed in this hotel for nearly a week while my husband had surgery. My room was very clean except for the bathroom ceiling which had mold and needed a good scrubbing. If I overlook the very outdated décor I was quite comfortable. You could always see someone in the hotel cleaning something. My dog stayed with me and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for staying with the Landmark Hotel and allowing us to facilitate your needs while in Thunder Bay. Thank you for recognizing our staff for their hard work and dedication, it is much appreciated. At current, some of the rooms on the main floor are under renovation, and should be complete within the next few months. I am glad... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is old, poorly maintained, dirty and in desperate need of a facelift. The carpets throughout are worn and dirty. The elevator was filthy and stunk of cigarette smoke. The room was dirty and I am not sure that the bedding was changed after the last customer. Our room was close to the elevator and the noise coming from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Landmark Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are in the process of renovating the guest rooms. This process is slow as we are trying to do it with as little impact on the day to day operations as possible. I would like to take this opportunity to express my apologies that you felt... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked my daughters 6th birthday here and did the party package for $175. It included a poolside room overnight plus pizzas and drinks for 12 kids plus a huge delicious cake. Upon reading all the reviews I was very skeptical to stay the night but being from Thunder bay I had the option to leave for home after the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for allowing the Landmark Hotel cater your daughters birthday. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the birthday package that we offer. We are always pleased when our patrons are able take advantage of the family friendly atmosphere that we strive to provide to our guests. We welcome all input from this site. It helps us... More

Brantford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this room for about 5 days and enjoyed our stay. We were visiting a third sister who was in hospital . The free shuttle service was a very nice added touch and all staff were very friendly and accomodating. I have no complaints at all with our room and any of the staff. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Landmark Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad that we were able to facilitate you while you were required to be in Thunder Bay for medical needs. We are very aware of the financial burden that living in the north can be for people. This is why we take pride in being... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Landmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Hotel

Address: 1010 Dawson Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 5J4, Canada (Formerly Ramada Landmark Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Thunder Bay, Ontario

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Thunder Bay with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Number of rooms
106

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Landmark Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer