We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Thunder Bay hotels

Landmark Hotel

1010 Dawson Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 5J4, Canada (Formerly Ramada Landmark Inn)
Hotel amenities
Landmark Hotel
Ranked #28 of 32 hotels in Thunder Bay
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    8
    18
See reviews for
10
4
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I just stayed in this hotel for nearly a week while my husband had surgery. My room was very clean except for the bathroom ceiling which had mold and needed a good scrubbing. If I overlook the very outdated décor I was quite comfortable. You could always see someone in the hotel cleaning something. My dog stayed with me and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for staying with the Landmark Hotel and allowing us to facilitate your needs while in Thunder Bay. Thank you for recognizing our staff for their hard work and dedication, it is much appreciated. At current, some of the rooms on the main floor are under renovation, and should be complete within the next few months. I am glad... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is old, poorly maintained, dirty and in desperate need of a facelift. The carpets throughout are worn and dirty. The elevator was filthy and stunk of cigarette smoke. The room was dirty and I am not sure that the bedding was changed after the last customer. Our room was close to the elevator and the noise coming from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Landmark Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are in the process of renovating the guest rooms. This process is slow as we are trying to do it with as little impact on the day to day operations as possible. I would like to take this opportunity to express my apologies that you felt... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked my daughters 6th birthday here and did the party package for $175. It included a poolside room overnight plus pizzas and drinks for 12 kids plus a huge delicious cake. Upon reading all the reviews I was very skeptical to stay the night but being from Thunder bay I had the option to leave for home after the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for allowing the Landmark Hotel cater your daughters birthday. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the birthday package that we offer. We are always pleased when our patrons are able take advantage of the family friendly atmosphere that we strive to provide to our guests. We welcome all input from this site. It helps us... More

Brantford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this room for about 5 days and enjoyed our stay. We were visiting a third sister who was in hospital . The free shuttle service was a very nice added touch and all staff were very friendly and accomodating. I have no complaints at all with our room and any of the staff. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Landmark Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad that we were able to facilitate you while you were required to be in Thunder Bay for medical needs. We are very aware of the financial burden that living in the north can be for people. This is why we take pride in being... More

Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Only stayed one night, there were people partying, the police were called there was broken glass in the hall and someone actually had the nerve to pee by the front lobby. Worst place I have ever stayed! Will never return. I would never bring my children here, and my wife and I changed hotels quickly the next morning, and my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to respond to TripAdvisor. All reviews are valuable learning and growing tools for us. I am sorry to hear that your stay with the Landmark Inn was not favourable. Please accept our sincere apologies and kind regards. More

Millbrook, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I arrived very cold and wet on my motorcycle. The receptionist was sympathetic and tried to make the registration as quick as possible. The owner? / manager? was there and when I asked for a dryer for my sodden boots he assured me that he would personally deliver it which he did. The room was clean as was the bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review for the Landmark Hotel. I am pleased to hear that your experience with us was a positive one. I am glad that our management and staff went above and beyond. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future. More

Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this establishment for a night on the town, we both had two seperate rooms. Mine was absolutly filthy, smelt like cigarette smoke mixed with musk and mould, barely any lighting, totally un satisfactory for the price. If I wanted to rent a room like that I would go to the closest shelter house, at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mary m, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

I am quite displeased to learn that your stay with the Landmark Hotel was an unpleasant one. Please accept our sincere apologies and kind regards. More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived with our children for an overnight stay, I thought the lobby and pool area looked adequate. I was proven wrong when we opened the door to our non smoking room, to find an overwhelming stench of cigarettes and yellow stained ceiling tiles. When my husband took our toddler to use the washroom, he discovered feces smeared on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mary m, Public Relations Manager at Landmark Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review the Landmark Inn. I am very appreciative of your comments and we are committed to making a lot of improvements to our facility. The ownership of this property is new and have been tasked with making it a comfortable place to stay. Everyday we are working toward building a better... More

Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I were tired all day from driving across the country and pulled into Thunder Bay at 1:00am. The minute we opened the door to our room we were shocked at how disgustingly dirty it was. There was mold on the ceilings, dirty bedding, and sh** in the toilet. We slept with our clothes on and I kept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Came in late to Thunder Bay and decided to stay here. Wrong decision. At 2 am, a fight broke out in the hall and lasted for an hour. Security came up twice. In the morning, the desk person said he was inexperienced for the morning and just ran my card before I could talk to someone else. As we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Been to Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Hotel

Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Thunder Bay
Landmark Hotel Thunder Bay, Ontario
Address: 1010 Dawson Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 5J4, Canada (Formerly Ramada Landmark Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Landmark Hotel to your Saves list